Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Registration is free! Calendar Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Home

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Mods > Infiltration > General Infiltration Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16th Mar 2001, 03:32 PM   #1
echinococcus
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
performance

Well, Im talking of a gunfight in which there are several bots. The game really slows down.
Thunderbird2 1ghz
Win98 SE
192MB
Riva TNT Model 64, 32MB
ISDN, though i mean an offline match

by the way: i guess corpses lying around also suck performance, is it possible to make them disappear at once?
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th Mar 2001, 03:38 PM   #2
Sebu_NZ
Kalashnikov's Personal Pimp!
 
Sebu_NZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 25th, 2000
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,758
The chain is only as strong as its weakest link

that means your video card, its not amazing.

Geforces aren't great performance wise in UT, but in UT and outside UT a Geforce MX or GTS would really improve your performance. Also make sure you have the lastest drivers

they can make the world of diffence in some cases.
Sebu_NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Mar 2001, 05:44 PM   #3
HollowPoint
TBuildT mapper
 
Join Date: Oct. 21st, 2000
Posts: 366
I had that to..severe slowdown...i defragmented my HD and now does everything run smooth again.


HollowPoint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Mar 2001, 05:54 PM   #4
RogueLeader
Tama-chan says, "aurf aurf aurf!"
 
RogueLeader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 19th, 2000
Location: Indiana. Kill me please.
Posts: 5,314
Yeah, get a new video card.

<a href="http://roguescript.hypermart.net" target="_top"><img src="http://roguescript.hypermart.net/lib/images/linktous/banner00.gif" alt="Infiltration Tactical Database" style="border: 0px solid #003000"></a>

<span style="font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt; color: #F5B800; font-weight: bold">"When one hunts monsters, one must be careful not to become a monster oneself—for when you look deeply into an abyss, the abyss looks deeply into you." -Nietzsche</span>
RogueLeader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Mar 2001, 05:57 PM   #5
DredDamo
<? l337 php RealMaps c0d0r ?>
 
DredDamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 30th, 2000
Posts: 591
Uh.

Am I missing something? I'm playing in software mode, 800x600 on a P3 800 and it runs fine...some jerkiness on Kosovo when flying in spectator mode overhead, but the # of bots doesn't influence it that much. It's an 8MB ATI Rage LT Pro, and D3D on it runs worse than software.

Damodred


---
www.damodred.net
DredDamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Mar 2001, 09:32 PM   #6
Sebu_NZ
Kalashnikov's Personal Pimp!
 
Sebu_NZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 25th, 2000
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,758
man, gotta get me that software!
Sebu_NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Mar 2001, 04:21 AM   #7
element
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Damodred, the reason is because more resources are required of your video card in hardware (D3D or openGl) mode than in software mode. This is why you have better software mode performance, cause your card can't handle hardware mode. 8MB cards just don't have enough video RAM and hardware functions to give you a boost using D3D. In software mode less is required of the vid card but more from the CPU.

Sebu: you have that software, its the UT engine INF uses. I know you were just kidding tho Sebu.

-------------------------
"He has a right to criticize who has a heart to help." -Abraham Lincoln
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer