Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Registration is free! Calendar Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Home

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Mods > Infiltration > Infiltration Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29th Mar 2000, 12:39 PM   #1
Sylvester
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec. 6th, 1999
Location: Leuven / Belgium
Posts: 108
Tutorial: putting the M2 on a mover...

I tought this was interesting enough to share with the comunity, so here it is.


Make the brush you want to put your m2 on, but instead of immediatly adding the mover, first go to classes, brush, mover and select attachmover, then press the add mover button.

Now place the M2 and the needed trigger on the attach mover.
You'll have to change the tag of the trigger and the M2 to the same name! Yes, yes, they need to have the same name!
When you've done this, change the attachtag under attachmover in the properties of the mover to the tag you've given to the trigger and the M2.

Now you can set the keyframes and all the other needed properties of the mover and voilla, you have a mover with a working M2.


I've already got a flying helicopter with the M2 in an upcoming level and I can only say one thing...

COOL!

Maybe we(Andirez and I) will release an alfa version of our map this weekend so you guys can see our mapping skills at work.

I hope this tutorial helped some mappers out there and I hope to see this in some maps.

Sylvester out...
Sylvester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Mar 2000, 01:42 PM   #2
-Lost-
Local Bad-ass
 
-Lost-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 22nd, 2000
Location: Roxbury/New Brunswick NJ
Posts: 754
Re: Tutorial: putting the M2 on a mover...

yeah, i mounted an m2 on bow of my ship a couple days ago, and it's so much fun shootin stuff goin down the river! i love this gun!!!!!

Lost
-Lost- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Mar 2000, 05:39 PM   #3
Sylvester
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec. 6th, 1999
Location: Leuven / Belgium
Posts: 108
Re: Tutorial: putting the M2 on a mover...

Hmmm...

there seems to be a problem with the tutorial above...

Yesterday it worked and today...
when i step on my mover, everything moves along with it, but the second i take control of the M2, the M2 stays at the point where i've taken control of it. The trigger to fire the M2 however still moves along with the attachmover. So my M2 floats somewhere and i can fire it from an entire different location.

Lost, how did you put the M2 on your boat?


Sylvester out...
Sylvester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Mar 2000, 07:27 PM   #4
-Lost-
Local Bad-ass
 
-Lost-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 22nd, 2000
Location: Roxbury/New Brunswick NJ
Posts: 754
Re: Tutorial: putting the M2 on a mover...

let's see, the boat is an attach mover
the m2 and the trigger tags are set to the attach tag of the boat
the trigger's even is the same as the attach tag
that's about it i guess, so i'll just give exactly what i've got

boat: attach tag: onboat
tag: AttachMover
event: None

trigger: tag: onboat
event: onboat

m2: tag: onboat
event: None

there you go, should work [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]

Lost
-Lost- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Mar 2000, 05:07 AM   #5
Sylvester
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec. 6th, 1999
Location: Leuven / Belgium
Posts: 108
Re: Tutorial: putting the M2 on a mover...

hmmm, that's just the same as I have...
i've noticed after trying very, very much that sometimes it works (about 1 times out of 50) and most of the time, it doesn't...

When i've got it working and i change something of the mover and test it out, it usualy no longer works...
I've tried the whole evening sorting this out, but I can't find any logic in it.

Could someone help me with this one?

Sylvester out...
Sylvester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Mar 2000, 08:07 PM   #6
-Lost-
Local Bad-ass
 
-Lost-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 22nd, 2000
Location: Roxbury/New Brunswick NJ
Posts: 754
Re: Tutorial: putting the M2 on a mover...

yeah, mine hasn't been working too reliabely lately, probably cause i've been fiddlin' with the mover itself. a lot of the time when the boat is moving, usually during the turn, you can go up to the gun and get control of it, but you can't actually control it. what i mean is your gun disappears and the m2 is selected at the bottom of the screen and the screen says "you control the m2 .50" or whatever it says, but the gun does not respond. it's pretty annoying, especially because it is so erratic in it's appearance. tell me if you can find anything that works better!

Lost
-Lost- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2000, 12:53 AM   #7
bastard_o
Lead Designer
 
bastard_o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 20th, 1999
Location: Epsom, Surrey, England
Posts: 1,476
Re: Tutorial: putting the M2 on a mover...

I have a method of making the M2.50 gun swing and pivot around your feet rather that its pivot point...

This means that you are looking down the barrel at all times... Look down that beatiful barrel and get your emeny in those sights that Warren made for us.

Swing 360 if you need to ie. from a vechicle mounted sliding structure...

Tutorial coming soon...

To quote Duke... Come get some.....

bastard_o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Apr 2000, 02:48 AM   #8
Gunslinger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 24th, 2000
Location: South Haven MI. USA
Posts: 28
Re: Tutorial: putting the M2 on a mover...

Aint this stuff great [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif[/img]
Gunslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Apr 2000, 03:26 AM   #9
Mr. T
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb. 20th, 2000
Posts: 608
Re: Tutorial: putting the M2 on a mover...

Damn. This stuff is cool. Even though I understand exactly zero percent of what was discussed here. [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]

ahhh..... I miss duke. He was a pretty cool dude.
Mr. T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Apr 2000, 07:05 AM   #10
Andirez
push the limits
 
Join Date: Jan. 23rd, 2000
Location: Belgium
Posts: 390
Re: Tutorial: putting the M2 on a mover...

lol, Mr.T

It isn't that hard to understand. The thing they want to do here is just let the M2.50 move along with a car, boat,... or whatever. The only problem is that when you take control of the M2.50, the car or boat keeps moving (as it should) but the M2.50 stops doing this. But the trigger that controls the M2.50 also keeps moving. So you have control over the M2.50 if you stand on the moving brush (car, boat) but the m2.50 still stands fixed where you first took control of it.

Hope this clears it up a bit

Beppo, maybe you can helps us. The attachmover clearly doesn't seem to do the trick like it should.
Andirez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Apr 2000, 04:41 PM   #11
-Lost-
Local Bad-ass
 
-Lost-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 22nd, 2000
Location: Roxbury/New Brunswick NJ
Posts: 754
Re: Tutorial: putting the M2 on a mover...

actually, that's not what happens to me. when you go up to the gun in my map, sometimes you can gain control of it and sometimes you can't--the hud says you control it, but you can't move it around to aim or fire...pretty annoying

Lost
-Lost- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Apr 2000, 07:55 PM   #12
Andirez
push the limits
 
Join Date: Jan. 23rd, 2000
Location: Belgium
Posts: 390
Re: Tutorial: putting the M2 on a mover...

So your M2.50 never stopped moving with the attachmover, Lost ?




------------------
Name : Andirez
Status : Infiltration junky
Andirez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Apr 2000, 10:37 PM   #13
-Lost-
Local Bad-ass
 
-Lost-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 22nd, 2000
Location: Roxbury/New Brunswick NJ
Posts: 754
Re: Tutorial: putting the M2 on a mover...

no, it stays connected to the mount
-Lost- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Apr 2000, 07:56 AM   #14
Andirez
push the limits
 
Join Date: Jan. 23rd, 2000
Location: Belgium
Posts: 390
Re: Tutorial: putting the M2 on a mover...

I really don't get it, Sylvester and I did exactly the same (and tried 1000 of other things) and everytime (except for 2 times) the M2.50 stopped moving. The 2 times it worked, it was just a coincidence and after moving something a bit ... it didn't work anymore.

Beppo, we need help ! Is it possible to do this ?
Andirez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer