Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Registration is free! Calendar Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Home

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Mods > Infiltration > Infiltration Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 4th Jan 2001, 07:28 AM   #1
William-BJ
William-BJ / EPQ - [MKV P4]
 
William-BJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 28th, 2000
Posts: 24
Not enough vertices

After many hours working whit a brush in MAX3, I export it in DXF. When importing in to UnrealED2 i says: Not enough vertices (0) and UED dies. What the heck is that??
Please help me.

William-BJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Jan 2001, 10:35 AM   #2
keek
mapper
 
Join Date: Nov. 7th, 2000
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 487
Every model you import should only contain polygons with a minimun of 3 vertices. Maybe there are some vertices in your model that aren't part of any polygon. I think there is an option in Max to "remove isolated vertices".
Good luck!

It's a piece of KeeK!
keek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Jan 2001, 10:57 AM   #3
William-BJ
William-BJ / EPQ - [MKV P4]
 
William-BJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 28th, 2000
Posts: 24
Thanx

This is what was wrong: in max i´d used boolean operations, and that wahts wrong. insted i made 2 meshes and fixed the boolean in UED.

Thanx for the help

William-BJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Jan 2001, 03:17 PM   #4
Spooge
Digital Content Creator
 
Spooge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 9th, 2000
Location: TN -USA
Posts: 933
Well...

Anyone use LightWave?

I understand that either it has a plug-in or maybe it's built in that moves every vertex "on grid". It shifts all vertices. This keeps you from having as many bsp errors after importing into Unreal.

Any know about this... plugin?

And I know that was not toatly related to your question, but if you are going to do boolean operations on geometry in MAX... you are going to have vertices all over the place... unluess you are REAL precise.

Anyone??


Over 1 Million Served!
Spooge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Jan 2001, 07:01 PM   #5
-=DeViL-MoNkEY=-
Bored.
 
Join Date: Jun. 16th, 2000
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 201
To my knowledge it is possible to export from LW and import into UED without the use of any plug-ins. Below is an image of something which was an attept at building part of a map in LW then being imported into Ued....I'll be able to give ya'll a bit more info on how to do it quite soon


<img src="http://www.planetunreal.com/playaz/forum/sig.gif" width="400"


http://www.planetunreal.com/playaz/
-=DeViL-MoNkEY=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jan 2001, 12:49 AM   #6
Spooge
Digital Content Creator
 
Spooge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 9th, 2000
Location: TN -USA
Posts: 933
Whaaaa?????

What the heck are you talking about duder!?!

hehe... did you even read what I posted?

I was talking about a plugin that sets all the vertices ON GRID. Regardless of their position, they get moved slightly and automatically to the closest grid unit when doing models external of the UED, like in LW.

So if you have a vertex at a position of say...
X - 16.987
Y - 64.628
Z - 23.837

It gets shifted to...
X - 16
Y - 64
Z - 23

The Unreal engine does MUCH better (in regards to less bsp calculation errors) if all vertices XYZ, are to the left of the decimal point... you know?


Over 1 Million Served!
Spooge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jan 2001, 09:46 AM   #7
-=DeViL-MoNkEY=-
Bored.
 
Join Date: Jun. 16th, 2000
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 201
Doh,

I'll shut up now

<img src="http://www.planetunreal.com/playaz/forum/sig.gif" width="400"


http://www.planetunreal.com/playaz/
-=DeViL-MoNkEY=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jan 2001, 03:15 PM   #8
Spooge
Digital Content Creator
 
Spooge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 9th, 2000
Location: TN -USA
Posts: 933
Doh!

No no no... don't shut up... look for the plugin.


Over 1 Million Served!
Spooge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer