News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Original Unreal Tournament

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28th Apr 2001, 01:25 PM   #1
Deathman
Angel of the Apocalypse
 
Deathman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 14th, 2001
Location: Houston,Texas
Posts: 91
Unhappy

1: how do I do it
2: do I need to go to a website that can provide me a server to create on
3: can I make a server that me and a friend can play on without having other people connecting.

sorry if this sounds confusing.......
__________________
I am bored, I think I ll go kill someone......
Deathman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Apr 2001, 01:31 PM   #2
The Dopefish
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 17th, 2000
Location: Springfield, MA, USA
Posts: 8,229
1. In UT, Multiplayer > Start Multiplayer Game (or something). I'd go into your unrealtournament.ini, copy and paste it in the UT main folder, then edit the one still in your System folder, taking out the mutator and mod stuff (unless you're running a server specifically for a mod/mutator) in the ServerPackages section (near the top). If you have nothing better than a cable modem, you may want to keep player load size low, 6 or 8.

2. No.

3. Put a password on it (last tab when setting up server).

It is fairly critical that you have a better than 56K connection. You also must ensure that you keep up to date with patches. You may also want to get CSHP (Client Side Hack Prevention) for the enjoyment of the people on your server. It prevents against people with aimbots and such. I don't have a link handy...

If you DO leave all those things in your ServerPackages section, people will be trying to download those things off your server all the time. If you uninstall that stuff you should be fine too.
__________________

The Dopefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Apr 2001, 01:55 PM   #3
Deathman
Angel of the Apocalypse
 
Deathman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 14th, 2001
Location: Houston,Texas
Posts: 91
Unhappy

ok, when I create my server, will I be given a address like 99.999.99.999 for example? And do I click on start or dedicated to create my server?

Forgive me, I am dumb.
__________________
I am bored, I think I ll go kill someone......
Deathman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Apr 2001, 04:54 PM   #4
[BuF]Blorgg
Inhuman
 
[BuF]Blorgg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 11th, 2000
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,326
The adres of your server is your ip adres. If you're using win9x -->start-->run-->winipcfg there you will see your ip adres. If you click on start you can play on your server and other pple will be able to connect. If you click on dedicated, UT will minimize and run the server in the background.
__________________
[BuF]Blorgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer