News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Off Topic > Hardware, Software & Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20th Apr 2001, 10:29 PM   #1
RKIlgore
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 20th, 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3
Unhappy

First off,I've been playing UT on this system "I'm running a 500mhz K-6 ,256 megs ram,Voodoo 3 2000,Win98" since the game first came out without any problems at all.
But now everytime I try to start the game up it gets to the part where the opening movie should play and it just goes to a black screen.
I have all the lastest updates v436,and drivers for my video card ect.
I have completely uninstalled everything having to do w/UT and reinstalled it over and over without any luck.
It won't even try to load up in safe mode or software mode.
Any suggestions are welcome,I'm going nuts without my UT!! I've even resorted to putting Quake3A on my hard drive just to try and get a frag fix!!So you know I'm desperate.......I've tried everything I know to do except reformat. Please help!!
__________________

Last edited by RKIlgore; 20th Apr 2001 at 11:06 PM.
RKIlgore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2001, 11:03 PM   #2
RKIlgore
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 20th, 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3
A poem about my Prob.....

Once my life was full of fraggin bliss
You see I had UT but now it's amiss
Oh Why! Oh Why! wont you load UT?
No answer... just a dark void of blackness is all I see.
Now I'm Jones'n it like an addict needing a fix!
I try to get satisfaction from Counter Strike, Elite Force,even Rainbow Six.
And now the desperation has really set in,
as I sneak off to my computer room once again.
As Windows boots up I start to cry and shake,
'cause until I get UT running again.......I GOTTA PLAY QUAKE!!!!!!!!!

Anyone feel my pain?



an original poem by R.Kilgore
__________________

Last edited by RKIlgore; 20th Apr 2001 at 11:38 PM.
RKIlgore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Apr 2001, 02:28 AM   #3
Chapel
Blah Blah Blah, What do you want me to put?
 
Join Date: Mar. 29th, 2001
Location: Alaska
Posts: 27
welll...

I have the same problem, but I can get mine to work in safe mode, almost the same as usual. But its really gay. Specially when im trying to make maps and stuff. I wish i could fix this!!!
__________________

For all the newbie mappers out there:
UT Newbie Guild
My Bio:
All about me!
Chapel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Apr 2001, 01:08 PM   #4
RKIlgore
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 20th, 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3
This happened once before about two months ago.I finaly gave up and reformatted my HD,but man I don't want to have to do that again.
The game did run after that "untill now"I really don't know what happend.I've read some threads that say DX8 may be causing it but it ran fine on DX8 for months.
And I haven't added any new hardware or any weird programs or drivers.
I don't know!! I just wish there is someone who has an answer to this problem.
__________________

Last edited by RKIlgore; 21st Apr 2001 at 08:28 PM.
RKIlgore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Apr 2001, 01:08 PM   #5
Chapel
Blah Blah Blah, What do you want me to put?
 
Join Date: Mar. 29th, 2001
Location: Alaska
Posts: 27
well

I dont want to reformat, i have too much stuff and no where to put it, if i had a cd burner that might be a different story. But otherwise im screwed. I think its my audio, but i cant tell, ive installed the new drivers for it,a nd well nothing.
__________________

For all the newbie mappers out there:
UT Newbie Guild
My Bio:
All about me!
Chapel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer