News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Series > Unreal 2

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14th Apr 2001, 02:42 AM   #1
stiflersmom
MOM?!?!?!
 
Join Date: Dec. 7th, 2000
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 77
Question

What will it be optimized for? Will it support 3dfx glide at all? because if it is an enhanced unreal tournament engine then it would make sense to optimize it for a voodoo card, like the previous 2 games have been.

but on the other hand, seeing as how 3dfxhas stopped making cards, it would make sense for the engine to be optimized for opengl or direct3d. So what is it?
__________________

mmm... elisabeth filarski... **drool**
stiflersmom is offline  
Old 14th Apr 2001, 04:58 AM   #2
hal
Dictator
 
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1998
Location: ------->
Posts: 21,382
The card that it is being optimized for is the GeForce3.
__________________
hal is offline  
Old 14th Apr 2001, 06:32 AM   #3
stiflersmom
MOM?!?!?!
 
Join Date: Dec. 7th, 2000
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 77
Post

oh, that's good, because I have a geforce2 MX and Unreal Tournament runs horribly on it. Will the game run fine on a geforce2? or is the 600$ upgrade necessary?
__________________

mmm... elisabeth filarski... **drool**
stiflersmom is offline  
Old 14th Apr 2001, 08:09 AM   #4
hal
Dictator
 
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1998
Location: ------->
Posts: 21,382
That's funny, I just bought an ELSA GF2 MX card and it is a noticable improvement (visually) from my Voodoo2 cards that I had.

CityIntro.unr timedemo

highdetail world
highdetail actors
1024x768

min. 27.84
max. 76.43
avg. 39.49

and that's on an "old" P2 400 w/128MB RAM.
__________________
hal is offline  
Old 14th Apr 2001, 12:33 PM   #5
Deathwing
Raucous Rodentia
 
Deathwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 15th, 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,792
Unreal 2 will run fine on a Geforce2. You just won't get the same detail levels as on a GF3 though.
Deathwing is offline  
Old 14th Apr 2001, 06:43 PM   #6
gen. gomer-pyle
rocking your world
 
Join Date: Mar. 27th, 2001
Posts: 9
will it work ok on voodoo 4
gen. gomer-pyle is offline  
Old 14th Apr 2001, 07:25 PM   #7
Zaccix
Truth, by Banksy
 
Zaccix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 10th, 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,369
U2 will shift the Unreal Engine to OpenGL. It probably won't work that well on a Voodoo card, simply because 3dfx shot themselves in the foot and never did code a proper OpenGL driver.

For anyone (like myself) who has a Voodoo card, it'd probably be better to upgrade to a better card such as either a Radeon or GeForce, as some other companies actually know how to code OpenGL drivers.
__________________
Zaccix // Fleet Signal

Pittsburgh Penguins for life!
Zaccix is offline  
Old 16th Apr 2001, 07:26 AM   #8
Slick_Willy
Anyone Else Want Some?
 
Join Date: May. 19th, 2000
Location: Allen (Dallas, TX)
Posts: 590
By the time the game comes out you will probably be able to get a GeForce2 GTS or Ultra at a good price and if anything you can pick up the MX 64MB for $150 right now which is just as fast as a Voodoo5 5500.

I switched to a GeForce Card when 3dfx went out the door and I noticed UT doesn't look as good as on the 3dfx but even even Epic admits that but the new engine looks fine with Direct3d. If you are having performance problems with UT and Geforce then try some of the Beta drivers listed at http://www.the-ctrl-alt-del.com/Drivers.htm I found that anything above 10.80 got rid of mouse lag and other similiar performance problems with the GeForce Cards.

I always loved 3dfx and it is too bad they couldn't keep up. They just couldn't seem to put out a chip with decent speed for some reason. Here are some rough numbers of why I feel that Geforce after switching is better:

Voodoo 5 GPU - 375 MegaTexels/s X1, X2, X4(never released 6000 Card)

GeForce2 MX - 700 MegaTexels/s
GeForce2 GTS Pro - 1.6 GigaTexels/s
GeForce2 Ultra - 2.0GigaTexels/s
GeForce3 - ?? Don't know but has been documented to be 4 times faster than the Ultra.
__________________
Steve Nabors
Level Designer
Demiurge Studios
http://www.planetunreal.com/slick
Slick_Willy is offline  
Old 16th Apr 2001, 08:21 AM   #9
stiflersmom
MOM?!?!?!
 
Join Date: Dec. 7th, 2000
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 77
first of all, are you the slick_willy that made the map The Crossing? if so, great job!
ok, my card is an innovision tornado geforce2 mx with a pci slot...
is it safe for me to download the nvidia drivers?
because, I would REALLY like to get rid of that lag...
__________________

mmm... elisabeth filarski... **drool**
stiflersmom is offline  
Old 16th Apr 2001, 08:46 AM   #10
hal
Dictator
 
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1998
Location: ------->
Posts: 21,382
NVidia reference drivers will work for any GeForce 2, MX, GTS, Ultra card. You will probably lose any of innovision's proprietary software (like tweak utilities and stuff).
__________________
hal is offline  
Old 16th Apr 2001, 09:28 AM   #11
Slick_Willy
Anyone Else Want Some?
 
Join Date: May. 19th, 2000
Location: Allen (Dallas, TX)
Posts: 590
I've used the Nvidia Drivers and Elsa Drivers on my Hercules Card with no problems. But indeed if you have any specific settings for your card that the manufacture has put in there then they won't be there. The best thing is to just install the new driver and see if you like it. If not just go back to the old one.

And yes I made TheCrossing. Thanks for your comment. I'm thinking of doing another similiar CTF-Map that will take place on Na Pali with two Nali Villages pitted against each other.
__________________
Steve Nabors
Level Designer
Demiurge Studios
http://www.planetunreal.com/slick
Slick_Willy is offline  
Old 17th Apr 2001, 02:01 PM   #12
ASMDstick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 22nd, 2001
Posts: 275
I never got it here. Will U2 run on V5 at all?
Atleast on low-medium detail? If it will, wise will be get V5, they r cheap. Get though U2 untill UT2 or UWarfare or whatever comes in, then get a G3 they will be cheapish by then. I think 'coz U2 mostly SP game, i'll still be playing UT ..
ASMDstick is offline  
Old 18th Apr 2001, 03:11 AM   #13
stiflersmom
MOM?!?!?!
 
Join Date: Dec. 7th, 2000
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 77
Exclamation

really? voodoo5s are cheap? then I'm definately gonig to pick me up one of those! All those glide-optimized games.... drool
__________________

mmm... elisabeth filarski... **drool**
stiflersmom is offline  
Old 18th Apr 2001, 12:34 PM   #14
NeoNite
La douce souffrance...
 
NeoNite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 10th, 2000
Posts: 18,736
Unhappy

ehm i don't wanna sound like a retard
but i've tried installing the detonator drivers, the 6.50, the 7.12 or something like that for the geforce2 mx, every time the same crap: mouse cursor was acting weird on my screen, image kept repeating itself.
And my system asked me to restart, but i did.
(this message showed up in my start menu-settings-screen (sorry i forgot how to exaclty put it in english)
I couldn't access my advanced options for the geforce2, windows gave me an error. Every time.
HAs this something to do with still using directx 7.0a?
Or ...?

The drivers that came with the card, 5.30 work fine afcourse. The detonator drivers should work. I have an exe from a cd-rom i got that came with a magazine.
But .. :I can someone help me here?
Oh and if something goes wrong while installing directx-8.0, where can i find the uninstaller?
__________________

I find myself intrigued by your subvocal oscillations,
A singular development of cat communications
That obviates your basic hedonistic predilection
For a rhythmic stroking of your fur to demonstrate affection.
-Ode to Spot, by Data
NeoNite is offline  
Old 19th Apr 2001, 02:01 PM   #15
Darth_Mule
I have and UnrealED Tattoo! (Just Kidding)
 
Join Date: Nov. 11th, 2000
Posts: 15
Install direct X 8.0 and the *newest detonator drivers, 10.1 or 11.1 I think
Don't bother with the Geforce 3 for a long time, theres no point...I get 100fps with a Geforce 1 and PIII 667 (average at least 50fps)you just have to know how to set your system up properly and configure advanced options in UT...you don't *always need the next generation VID card...I'm going to wait for the G3 to come out and buy a G2 when there dirt cheap...don't be a sucker for Nvidia's marketing crap...
Darth_Mule is offline  
Old 19th Apr 2001, 03:58 PM   #16
NeoNite
La douce souffrance...
 
NeoNite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 10th, 2000
Posts: 18,736
Cool Darth_mule

at what res do you get 100 fps? no, i'm just curious. I have a pIII 800, so when installing dx8 and the det drivers, i also should get these excellent framerates right?
640x800?
800x600?
1024x768??
world detail to medium? skin detail to medium? 32 bit?
and yes afcourse, a geforce 1 is still a decent card.
And indeed, why purchase a gf3 now, when it's unbelievably expensive?
gf2 cards aren't that expensive anymore compared to last year, you know..
__________________

I find myself intrigued by your subvocal oscillations,
A singular development of cat communications
That obviates your basic hedonistic predilection
For a rhythmic stroking of your fur to demonstrate affection.
-Ode to Spot, by Data
NeoNite is offline  
Old 20th Apr 2001, 08:16 AM   #17
Darth_Mule
I have and UnrealED Tattoo! (Just Kidding)
 
Join Date: Nov. 11th, 2000
Posts: 15
Sorry, forgot the rest...I play at 1024-768 16 bit color...There is a big difference between 16 bit and 32 bit, but 16 bit with detail textures on looks good anyway...I only get big slow-downs when in 32 bit color...
Darth_Mule is offline  
Old 20th Apr 2001, 08:17 AM   #18
Darth_Mule
I have and UnrealED Tattoo! (Just Kidding)
 
Join Date: Nov. 11th, 2000
Posts: 15
Oh yes, and world detail and skin detail to high...
Darth_Mule is offline  
Old 21st Apr 2001, 02:01 AM   #19
stiflersmom
MOM?!?!?!
 
Join Date: Dec. 7th, 2000
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 77
Question

but do you have detail textures on? those things look fantastic, but eat up a lot of frames when you get close to a wall...
__________________

mmm... elisabeth filarski... **drool**
stiflersmom is offline  
Old 23rd Apr 2001, 10:00 AM   #20
Rage-6MM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 23rd, 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Talking

i have a voodoo 3 3000D agp...... will it run ok on that or do you recommend i get a ge-force 2 GTS???
i have been with the unreal movement for awhile now and i'd hate to not be able to play unreal 2.
__________________
I am the cats meow.......
mew
Rage-6MM is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer