News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Off Topic > Hardware, Software & Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11th Feb 2001, 12:55 PM   #1
Phierce
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb. 11th, 2001
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 270
I have a 768/128 DSL line, and my average ping is 150-200. Sometimes it spikes to around 500, but that is Verizon's (the worst broadband ISP ever, in my opinion) fault. But I was wondering if there is any tweaking I can do to Unreal settings to optimize speed? Or is this the fastest I am going to get?

Thanks
Phierce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2001, 01:15 PM   #2
Viking1
Highly Unstable
 
Viking1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 12th, 2000
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 474

Go here

http://www.speedguide.net/Cable_modems/index.shtml
__________________
{CU}Viking1
My Page
Viking1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2001, 02:59 PM   #3
spyder913
Bringer of FREE BEER
 
Join Date: Feb. 17th, 2000
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 552
that cable modem guide probably isn't going to help him too much.

phierce, check your pings in dos (use ping xx.xx.xx.xx) and see what it says.. if it is about the same as what you get in UT then you're probably not going to be able to improve on it much.
__________________
]LoL[spyder913
spyder913 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2001, 04:28 PM   #4
Viking1
Highly Unstable
 
Viking1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 12th, 2000
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 474

Make sure you set your NetServerMaxTick Rate to 1 in the networking-tcp/ip section of your advanced options.

Also try a couple of different netspeed settings. Bind a key to "stat net" and then set a couple of other keys to different netspeed values.(netspeed=xxxx) Start with 10000 as the highest and go down in increments of 1000.

Bring up your net info by hiting the stat net key and then see what happens with the different netspeed settings. You may find that you need to use different settings at different times.
__________________
{CU}Viking1
My Page
Viking1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2001, 11:19 PM   #5
Phierce
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb. 11th, 2001
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 270
Well, I did the ping from MSDOS. It ranged anywhere from 100-600. I guess it's Verizon's fault and I'll just have to live with it.

I'll try your suggestions though, Viking.

Thanks
Phierce is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer