News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26th Dec 2000, 11:18 AM   #1
[NK]Kill_Joy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep. 16th, 2000
Location: Evansville,IN
Posts: 30
Okay, quick question, how would i turn a quake3 model and put it into UT? I already have it downloaded, can anyone give me a quick walkthrough? Thanks!
[NK]Kill_Joy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Dec 2000, 11:58 AM   #2
TanGenT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec. 17th, 2000
Posts: 24
Uhhh.....

You can't just import the model into UT. Every model has to have some script written for it. You would have to ask someone who knows or go to a model web site. I have no idea, I'm a mapper....
They need to have a mapping section and a skin/modeling section....
Besides... you would probably need the creator of the model's permission to import it.
TanGenT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Dec 2000, 02:12 PM   #3
quitgrin1
Demon Like
 
quitgrin1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 31st, 2000
Location: Nowhere
Posts: 109
Post

I dont know how to import Q3 models to UT but maybe the dude from this site: http://www.unrealitalia.com/x3m does.

He already has imported the "Visor" and "Crash" models into UT. By the way those Q3 models rock ass . Hope the "Doom" player model he intends to convert to UT comes soon this week. Yeah!

Well I hope that helped. Ask the guy over at that site I just mentioned and see if he can help you.
__________________
"Liberate tu te me ex inferis"
Latin for: "Save yourself from Hell"

Crusader TC Level Designer
Visit MY website !
quitgrin1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Dec 2000, 05:45 PM   #4
ChrisToth.hu
Level Designer
 
ChrisToth.hu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 2nd, 2000
Location: Atlantis
Posts: 2,740
It is quite difficult to convert the models. If it can be called converting. It's rather re-creating, because you have to get back to the "appearance stage" of the model creating process and start turning it into a Tournament model. It is done by converting the model (preferably 3ds or Milkshape format) into a .3d and .a3d (for anims) file and then do the scripting part (hard).
__________________
Chris Toth
-------------
Chris@message.hu

ChrisToth.hu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer