News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28th Nov 2000, 03:39 AM   #1
A_Huge_Sweaty_Baboon
The Baboon... HAS.... SPOKEN
 
A_Huge_Sweaty_Baboon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 12th, 2000
Location: My Groin Is Sore
Posts: 700
Question

I have a castle situation, barricade to be precise. I have copied the front wall and pasted it twice on a big hunk o rock.
Now, the top part of the wall, where you can walk (with the gaps in the side) has been made using about 70 small subtraction brushes, i moved them out, and made a box round them, did the old intersect and made one hell of a complicated bruch out of them.

I then subtracted the big kahuna from the top of the wall and it looks the same as it did before, but the building takes half the time.

Was this a waste of time or have i stumbled upon a handy dandy Ued trick?
__________________
Assorted quotes by 1 Assorted PuF'er:
"Damn you & your cynical ways. Shut up! I'm trying to eat my friggin corn on the friggin cob!"
"Shhhhhhh!!, Cant you hear the gnomes?"
"Your Obsession Amuses me"
"I don't call myself a pimp. I like to think of myself as more of a male-madam."
"BALLSUCKER! BALLSUCKER! HAHAHA! BALLSUCKER!"
"You'd think a baboon would have bigger testicles than that. I mean, the one I saw... er.... nevermind..."
A_Huge_Sweaty_Baboon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2000, 05:08 AM   #2
Phragmites
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 26th, 2000
Location: the wilds of Hampshire, England
Posts: 262
reducing the number of brushes is always good, but you'll still have poly/node count to worry about as far as framerates go. its a good thing to do where you can because it simplifies the geometry so youre less likely to get bsp errors (all else being equal).
__________________

- P

www.blitzen.demon.co.uk
Phragmites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2000, 01:01 PM   #3
Arkive
Registered User
 
Join Date: May. 10th, 2000
Posts: 272

Actually, in some cases, especially with really complicated brushes, doing what you just did *can* be the source of BSP errors. Doing what you said is great for decorations and things like that, but if you did proper intersection/deintersection on the original brushes (and it plays fine in the level), I'm tempted to give you the old saying, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it." I know what you mean though...it's nice to tidy things up like you mentioned, and I do it on occasion...just make sure you fully test the map afterwards and save a copy with the brushes still intact so you can revert back to it if needed.

Jeff
__________________
-Arkive-

ICQ#: 193843
Email: neverget@home.com

Just my 1.4 cents (after taxes)
Arkive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2000, 04:56 PM   #4
A_Huge_Sweaty_Baboon
The Baboon... HAS.... SPOKEN
 
A_Huge_Sweaty_Baboon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 12th, 2000
Location: My Groin Is Sore
Posts: 700
i think it has helped

When i fly over the level in Ued (software mode) it has a faster framerate (i think) than when i had all the small ones.

And when i tested the level it loaded quicker and had a smoother framerate, or maybe its just my soundcard upgrade (Yamaha32 to Soundblaster128)

Anyway, im sticking with it. Faster Rebuilding is always a good thing.

+ my level was going to have 600+ brushes so with me simplifing it like this i will only have 400+

niiiice
__________________
Assorted quotes by 1 Assorted PuF'er:
"Damn you & your cynical ways. Shut up! I'm trying to eat my friggin corn on the friggin cob!"
"Shhhhhhh!!, Cant you hear the gnomes?"
"Your Obsession Amuses me"
"I don't call myself a pimp. I like to think of myself as more of a male-madam."
"BALLSUCKER! BALLSUCKER! HAHAHA! BALLSUCKER!"
"You'd think a baboon would have bigger testicles than that. I mean, the one I saw... er.... nevermind..."
A_Huge_Sweaty_Baboon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2000, 05:28 PM   #5
Arkive
Registered User
 
Join Date: May. 10th, 2000
Posts: 272

Yes, if you can do that and get no adverse side effects, then by all means, conglomerate as many brushes as you can. Just remember to do two things:

1) Make sure you're done with basic editing (i.e. if you combine a room with comlumns into one brush, you'll have a very difficult time moving the columns around afterward since they won't be individual brushes anymore).

2) Test your level thoroughly afterwards to make sure you don't have any probs...and keep as many backups as possible, so if you ever have to revert back for an unexpected reason, you won't lose too much work. I always start my levels off with a unique name like Test001.unr, and increment the counter by one digit after every couple of hours I invest in the level.

Jeff
__________________
-Arkive-

ICQ#: 193843
Email: neverget@home.com

Just my 1.4 cents (after taxes)
Arkive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2000, 05:40 PM   #6
tarquin
design is flawed
 
tarquin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 11th, 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 3,933
I've mused muchly on this.
On one hand, DOM-Sesmar uses an hugely complex brush for the building around the Ankh control points. DM-Morpheus makes each tower out of a single complex semi-solid. Try opening the level, it's very strange!
On the other, in DM-Curse][, the u-turn bit you pass on your left when you're going from the big lift to the SB, that's made from 4 sub. brushes, where 3 or even less would have done. But then CliffyB uses complex semisolids for the torch holders, and for the corners of the main corridor.

It's certainly nice to know it seems to make a difference, and good news for my map (600 brushes, and I havent yet made the red base...).


PS add a number to the counter after every couple of hours? sheesh, either I'm paranoid, a pessimist, or you've had far fewer bad experiences with computers that I have! I change the number after 30 mins or so, and save every minute or so in between!
Nothing makes you wary like 3 hours of page layout on Quark XPress and somebody catches the plug with their leg... wail!
tarquin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2000, 07:43 PM   #7
A_Huge_Sweaty_Baboon
The Baboon... HAS.... SPOKEN
 
A_Huge_Sweaty_Baboon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 12th, 2000
Location: My Groin Is Sore
Posts: 700
every 30 mins?

i dont really change the file, i just save before every build i do
which is every few mins

i havent had any probs with it so i dont think ill go as far as making numerical files
__________________
Assorted quotes by 1 Assorted PuF'er:
"Damn you & your cynical ways. Shut up! I'm trying to eat my friggin corn on the friggin cob!"
"Shhhhhhh!!, Cant you hear the gnomes?"
"Your Obsession Amuses me"
"I don't call myself a pimp. I like to think of myself as more of a male-madam."
"BALLSUCKER! BALLSUCKER! HAHAHA! BALLSUCKER!"
"You'd think a baboon would have bigger testicles than that. I mean, the one I saw... er.... nevermind..."
A_Huge_Sweaty_Baboon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer