NewsUnrealEdFilesModsFragBULiandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 7th Nov 2000, 04:20 PM   #1
WiLD2
W4NG
 
WiLD2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 17th, 2000
Location: No place feels like home
Posts: 1,124
What formats could I use for adding a screen shot to my level? It's the one when you click to play it and it shows the author's name and the recommended number of players, with the small picture of the level. Thanks.
__________________
Heya
WiLD2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Nov 2000, 05:32 PM   #2
«««AUDI™»»»
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct. 29th, 2000
Posts: 60
Talking

OK, it has to be in .pcx format 256x256 256 colors. I recommend using Photo Shop if you have it, or ImageForge good for converting and its free.

You can get ImageForge here...

http://www.cursorarts.com/ca_imw_d.html
__________________
Signature:
Optional signature you may use to appear at bottom of your posts.


«««AUDI™»»» is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Nov 2000, 04:16 AM   #3
ChrisToth.hu
Level Designer
 
ChrisToth.hu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 2nd, 2000
Location: Atlantis
Posts: 2,740
Photoshop! Photoshop! Photoshop! Photoshop!
Heh heh.

That's the best for making screenies. Think about changing color levels... your screenies will look better, more artistic and professional.


Photoshop's price
__________________
Chris Toth
-------------
Chris@message.hu

ChrisToth.hu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Nov 2000, 06:37 AM   #4
Daniel 'INFERNO' Winter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 13th, 2000
Location: Manchester
Posts: 96
...

If they are ACTUAL screenshots from the level itself, you will have to 'up' the brightness slightly as they usually quite dark, although I haven't had any probs myself, just incase you do come across that prob.
Daniel 'INFERNO' Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Nov 2000, 06:46 AM   #5
WiLD2
W4NG
 
WiLD2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 17th, 2000
Location: No place feels like home
Posts: 1,124
I have upped the brightness

I upped the brightness in the GUI under video or something, then when I took some screenies, they were still dark, thugh the level "looked" brighter. I think I'll just temporarily add more lights to the level or make all the surfaces unlit or something while I take the pics, then set them back.
__________________
Heya
WiLD2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Nov 2000, 11:21 AM   #6
ChrisToth.hu
Level Designer
 
ChrisToth.hu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 2nd, 2000
Location: Atlantis
Posts: 2,740
NO NO you won't need to do that.

Just increase brightness at ADVANCED OPTIONS (it's in the editor). That will do the trick.
__________________
Chris Toth
-------------
Chris@message.hu

ChrisToth.hu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Nov 2000, 11:45 AM   #7
RageOnU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct. 17th, 2000
Posts: 7
Smile

Good idea chris !
could have been mine
RageOnU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Nov 2000, 01:29 PM   #8
Daniel 'INFERNO' Winter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 13th, 2000
Location: Manchester
Posts: 96
alternatively

alternatively, you could just up the brightness of the screenshot with a photo/paint package, wouldn't require extra lighting/work with advanced options.
Daniel 'INFERNO' Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Nov 2000, 03:13 PM   #9
WiLD2
W4NG
 
WiLD2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 17th, 2000
Location: No place feels like home
Posts: 1,124
PSP7

Thanks for the help. I just got Paint Shop Pro 7 so hopefully that is a good enough program for doing the stuff I need to do. I've used PSP6 since it came out, and it's been pretty useful. I'll just temporarily increase the brightness under advanced options to take the pic, though I need to add more lights to the level anyway, and after reading Wolf's tutorial on lights, my level should soon be done. Wolf over at http://unreal.gamedesign.net has some great UeD tutes (but they are all for Ued1, not 2). Does anyone know how to give your lights that "flashlight in fog" look so you can see the rays? That is one tutorial I haven't been able to find.
__________________
Heya
WiLD2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer