News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Off Topic > Hardware, Software & Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 4th Oct 2000, 02:53 AM   #1
Spanky_33
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct. 4th, 2000
Posts: 4
Alright when I start up the multi-player game it pings all the servers and I get anywhere from 180- a really high number for my ping. I have a lot around 200. But when I get into a game it jumps up to like 1800-2000 and I have 3-4 second delays can't hit anybody etc.. etc... everything that goes with really bad lag. I have a 56k modem and I usually connect at about 48000 bps. I play counter-strike and team fortress classic (half-life mods) and everythings fine. I get lag every now on them but not anything like on unreal. Any suggestions?
Spanky_33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2000, 07:34 AM   #2
Crager
Ahh...just a player here
 
Crager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 30th, 2000
Location: NY
Posts: 846
What version do you have?

When i went to v425/v428 my pings would go sky high once I entered a game. I'm now back to v420. Pings are more stable again.
__________________
Win XP Pro SP1 (DX 9.0b)
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
AMD Athlon xp 2400+(333 fsb), SLK-800U,TT SmartFan 2
1GB PC3200 Ram
ATI 9800 Pro (Cat 4.3), Creative Audigy 2
WD800JB - 8 mb cache
Lite-On CD/RW 48x12x48x, Lite-On DVD 16x
Antec TrueBlue480

http://www.teamimmortal.org/index.php
Crager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2000, 05:39 PM   #3
Spanky_33
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct. 4th, 2000
Posts: 4
Red face

Ah ha maybe that explains it. I just got unreal yesterday so I thought I better get the update if I want to be compatible with the online servers. Cause on counter-strike you have to have the newest version if you wanna play. I'll try re-installing UT and maybe that'll help if not I'll come back and see what peoples have to say
Spanky_33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Oct 2000, 01:44 AM   #4
JuiceEggsMcKenna
MC68060/50
 
Join Date: Aug. 31st, 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,322
You should try to use at least version 413 (CD version is 400). They are all network-compatible, but the network performance seems to get a lot better from 405 up and then seems to start to get dodgy again after 420
JuiceEggsMcKenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Oct 2000, 12:06 AM   #5
Spanky_33
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct. 4th, 2000
Posts: 4
Smile

yup you guys were right. Got version 420 now and it's much better. Thanks both of you. Tweaked my modem and computer and that helped too. Now I just need to d/l Tac Ops and find some good servers. Will the servers show up on the regular UT multi-player in game thing or will I have to connect a diff way?? And what about Chaos servers?? the same??
Spanky_33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer