News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Original Unreal Tournament

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26th Sep 2000, 02:24 PM   #1
Prodani12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep. 24th, 2000
Posts: 3
Unhappy

Hi, I am a clan member and do play UT lots. What bothers me more than anything is the fact that my system always freezes UT and causes me to have to restart and lose valueble clan match time. I have a p2 333 64Mb Ram and a Viper v550 16mb 3D Card. I know its not a top of the line system or anywhere close but its what keeps me going. I was wondering if anyone knew any possible solutions to why my UT is freezing constantly. I am free to any suggestions and ideas. Feel free to email me at prodani12@hotmail.com . I use the latest offcial patch (4.28)


Thanks a bunch
Cheers
#psx on ETG
Prodani12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Sep 2000, 02:42 PM   #2
Arkive
Registered User
 
Join Date: May. 10th, 2000
Posts: 272
There's several things I would try:

1) If you overclock your system...don't. UT is notorious for making overclocked CPU's that appear stable to lock up/reboot/implode.

2) Make sure you have the latest nVidia reference drivers, or if you're feeling lucky, you can try the latest Diamond drivers for your product. The new detonator drivers from nVidia are optimized for GeForce/GeForce2, and I believe there are older reference drivers that are better suited for the TNT. You can try http://www.reactorcritical.com. Search their messagboard for "TNT" and look for a post in regards to "best drivers for TNT". That should give you some opinions on which ones to use if you're really looking for the best. My stepkids system is running the exact same card you have with the 5.xx drivers with no problems. If you do change the drivers...go to http://www.tweak3d.com and follow the instructions in the GeForce tweak guide on properly removing/ reinstalling new video drivers.

3) Make sure you have the latest updates for Windows, as well as the rest of your hardware.

4) Try disabling other things, like sound, or running in software mode, to try and pinpoint the source of the problem.

5) You can always try reinstalling UT. That has helped many ppl who couldn't put their finger on the exact culprit.

6) See if you can identify when it happens. Does it always happen right after you first start, or usually a certain time period after it's been running? Freeze up offline as well as online? Try and locate a pattern and see if there are any discernable causes that relate to it.

Not sure if this will help...but it's a good starting point...good luck...

Jeff
__________________
-Arkive-

ICQ#: 193843
Email: neverget@home.com

Just my 1.4 cents (after taxes)
Arkive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Sep 2000, 10:44 PM   #3
Prodani12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep. 24th, 2000
Posts: 3
Hmm.... I have tired

I have tried various things to get my system not to freeze. The Diamond drivers dont even work properly with UT and the whole game doesnt look good at all. Its all distorted. Second, I am not overclocking my CPU. It freezes offline and online. At any given time. Usually when someone or me shoots a weapon off. I have downloaded the latest detonator drivers and have tried to use those. Software mode seems to run ok but thats because I hardly use it due to its uglyness.

I will try my best to get my system working and thank you for replying to my msg. We have lots our share of clan matches cause of my problem so I am really pissed at this problem.

Once again, thanks!
Prodani12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Sep 2000, 06:43 AM   #4
Stosh
A legend in his own mind
 
Stosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 9th, 2000
Location: Southern MD, US
Posts: 1,402
I WISH I HAD AN ANSWER, BUT I DON'T...

I have a totally different system, and a very similar problem. Cel@400, V3-3k, SBLive. For absolutely no reason at all, I'll be playing online and everything will just freeze. I'll go a couple of days, everything is fine...then it will lock up. Sometimes it will happen more often. I was o'cing my cpu and vid card. I set it back to original specs, no change. Still intermittant lockups. It happened right in the middle of a ladder math(that I was winning of course) I think in the last 3 or 4 times I was playing it locked once. The room I play is pretty warm ambient temperature, I have two complete systems. Also a scanner, printer, sub woofer.

I still think mine may be heat related, I just really haven't had a lot of time to look into the problem.
__________________




I'm trying to think, but nothing happens - Curly Howard
Stosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer