News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15th Sep 2000, 11:14 PM   #1
Kliw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep. 15th, 2000
Posts: 2
Anyone know how to disable the UT intro movie? Seems like it would speed things up considerably. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Kliw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Sep 2000, 12:18 AM   #2
G-Man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 11th, 2000
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 348
Use the search forums link at the top of the page and search the UT forums and you will definetly find the answer to your question. Under normal circumstances I'd do it for you but at the moment I have four things chugging away at my limited 56.6 bandwith and I don't want to add to it.

BTW, I don't think it makes all that much difference in speed although I do find it nice not having to see the two seconds of the intro everytime I boot up....
__________________
"It is better to deserve honors and not have them than to have them and not deserve them."
-Mark Twain
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Sep 2000, 01:31 AM   #3
irongull
Registered User
 
Join Date: May. 6th, 2000
Posts: 78
Go to your /UnrealTournament/System directory and open up the UnrealTournament.ini file. Find the line in the URL section that says "Localmap=City-Intro.unr" (or something like that) and change it to "LocalMap=UT-Logo-Map.unr" - it will just load the ut logo when you start it. CD check still takes a while, though.
__________________
Dominate the Flag - http://www.planetunreal.com/dominate
irongull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Sep 2000, 01:51 AM   #4
G-Man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 11th, 2000
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 348
Then you can get the UT NOCD.exe to eliminate the CD check. It REALLY speeds up the load time....
__________________
"It is better to deserve honors and not have them than to have them and not deserve them."
-Mark Twain
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Sep 2000, 02:38 AM   #5
ShmoJK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep. 14th, 2000
Posts: 14
Where can I get this nocd.exe? Does it work with version 428?
ShmoJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Sep 2000, 10:34 AM   #6
G-Man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 11th, 2000
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 348
You can get the nocd.exe from http://www.*************.com. The site is a bit overwhelming at first (there is one HELL of a lot of links on it), but just keep your eyes peeled to the right side of the page and look for "game index". Click on that, find UT, click on it then download the the nocd.exe that matches the patch you have.

To use the file just unzip it when it's downloaded and cut and past the .exe file from the zip window into the systems directory of UT. THEN ALL SYSTEMS ARE GO!
__________________
"It is better to deserve honors and not have them than to have them and not deserve them."
-Mark Twain
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Sep 2000, 03:14 PM   #7
irongull
Registered User
 
Join Date: May. 6th, 2000
Posts: 78
Suhweeeet! You the man, G-Man! My rebuild-play cycle just got that much shorter.
__________________
Dominate the Flag - http://www.planetunreal.com/dominate
irongull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Sep 2000, 06:41 PM   #8
Kliw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep. 15th, 2000
Posts: 2
Thanks a ton guys.
Kliw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer