News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Original Unreal Tournament

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14th Sep 2000, 07:22 AM   #1
Swedix
Retired from UT2004
 
Swedix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 19th, 2000
Location: In position
Posts: 4,854
Question

Now all pieces have come. I will put together my new comp.
I just wonder if I shall install Win98 SE or Win ME ?
I want replay from You who has experience of both.
And this is not OT, because one important thing is that UT should run without any problems.
__________________


Download my filemanager for UT2004, UT2004Mi
Swedix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2000, 07:50 AM   #2
Noah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 25th, 2000
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 108
Thumbs up I like Me

I like windows Me, though I have read it runs 10% slower I have not noticed any major slowdowns.

If I choose (which I have) I would choose Me.


Just my thought.

Noah
Noah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2000, 08:05 AM   #3
MagicDizk
P.F.M
 
MagicDizk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 11th, 2000
Location: Franklin, NC USA
Posts: 91
Lightbulb

Ive been running ME for two months now, and my ping have improved from an average of 265ms to 210ms and last week I had an average of 171ms and this is with a modem. So first of all, if youre a modem user GET IT. ME has some bugs in it right now the main one is when you start UT sometimes the sound is distorted but give it a few minutes and it clears up, I thought it was just me but I have two other friends play UT with ME and they have the same problem. Also ME will do automatic updates, so if you are playing a game and you see you pings going thru the roof, then you must go to the task manager and kill that process. As far as speed goes, I think over all ME is faster, WIN98 second edition I had a 28 fps and with ME Im getting 32fps.
MagicDizk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2000, 08:41 AM   #4
[Ci]Morgan
McBain-like
 
[Ci]Morgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 1st, 1999
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 215
I'm using Windows ME for 2 months (as well as Win98) and I'm quite happy with it. It's terrible withing a corperate network though: It sucks up all the bandwidth when someone is downloading using ME and the others are on NT, Win9x and Macintosh.

I'm not sure about how this works with a cable connection, but my guess is this will have the same effect when you're on cable; your bandwidth may just improve alot...

I found some improvement in overal download speeds, I haven't really seen much improvement with playing UT.
__________________
Aaah! My Eyes! ze goggles do nothing!!
[Ci]Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2000, 09:10 AM   #5
Swedix
Retired from UT2004
 
Swedix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 19th, 2000
Location: In position
Posts: 4,854
Cool

Thank You guys.
I knew I could count on You. So, I go for ME.
Thank again.
__________________


Download my filemanager for UT2004, UT2004Mi
Swedix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2000, 02:37 PM   #6
{A$$}IronChefMorimoto
Linux Suks
 
{A$$}IronChefMorimoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 27th, 2000
Location: Forida
Posts: 14
Just a quick note...
My brother has Win Me and bought a new GForce MX2 card and UT locks up on him everytime. I put his card in my Win2K Advanced Server machine and it ran fine. Don't know what kind of card you have, just thought I'd pass this info along.
__________________
{A$$}IronChefMorimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2000, 04:54 PM   #7
Claude_Ballz
Ballz-Like
 
Join Date: Jan. 17th, 2000
Posts: 193
Cool

From what I have read, you'd better have all the drivers for every piece of equipment in your system close-by. Aparently, ME doesn't have as big a driver library as even 98. I've also read that doing a fresh install w/ ME is a pain, but if you upgrade from 98, you shouldn't have any problems ... not even with drivers.
:redeemer:
__________________
Say Hello To My Little Friend!
Claude_Ballz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2000, 05:36 PM   #8
Mrukk
Inhuman
 
Join Date: May. 10th, 2000
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 805
Give ME a go - you can always go back to 98 if it isn't to your liking. I have been running ME for a couple of months, and while they are some minor problems, it really is nice and stable... I can leave my comp running much longer without rebooting than I could with 98. And software will start coming out for ME which will help with the tweaking of it etc.

I noticed no changes with UT play - but then I did not look that hard.
__________________
Cheers, Mrukk

Supreme Cohesion - CTF and TDM
Mrukk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2000, 06:11 PM   #9
DragonAsh
Hentai-like
 
DragonAsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 10th, 2000
Posts: 1,599
Red face

Well, i say use Win98SE

It runs great for me and I have heard both good and bad things about ME...then again, the same goes for SE *L*
__________________
Rome did not create a great empire by having meetings. They did it by
killing all those who opposed them.
------
<]LoL[Troll> DA if you were here with me, you wouldn't be talking.
<DragonAsh> AMEN
-----------
DragonAsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2000, 07:47 PM   #10
FrigginAnT
Cow Spot Pimp
 
FrigginAnT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 23rd, 2000
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 270
yeah i've used ME for almost 2 months...runs GREAT...and its from microsoft..imagine that!
__________________
{FU}Clan ChaosUT Captain
AnT's Page of Useless Info
Philly Street Racing
FrigginAnT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2000, 09:21 PM   #11
AmigaOne|BuF
Masterful
 
AmigaOne|BuF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 14th, 2000
Location: Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 380
Me or 98

I'm currently using Windows Me. One thing I noticed is it takes less space on the cd-rom. That means either they've included less crap or the code is actually smaller. Being the optimist that I am I'm saying it means Microsoft has actually eliminated some of their bloat code. And since I've been testing Me since it's inception I'd have to say that's true. To the guy that thought it ran 10% slower I don't think so. I've noticed the exact oppostite. All of my screen refreshes and window controls are much faster. I think Me has a smaller resource footprint than 98 and I've had no troubles with drivers aside from one thing: my Seagate DAT drive. There wasn't a driver so I redid the install over 98 and it went find. Two bugs up my ass about Me is they removed the Backup utility and they make you sit through that video after installation. Other than that I'd say it's cool.
AmigaOne|BuF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2000, 09:33 PM   #12
JuiceEggsMcKenna
MC68060/50
 
Join Date: Aug. 31st, 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,322
Hey AmigaOne, that's not right! The correct answer is "They both suck! You need Workbench 5!"



(Amiga Bigot - 1990-1999)
JuiceEggsMcKenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2000, 09:37 PM   #13
ThunderSub1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug. 18th, 2000
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 100
Arrow Me should me your pick

I got my new HP machine last week loaded with Me and it's quite nice...especially for a home user. The interface is much more slick and the boot and shut-down times are faster than 98SE.
__________________
PCs are the future. No console will ever replace it.

Q: What's better than a Enforcer in hand?
A: A Enforcer in each hand.


ThunderSub1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2000, 09:46 PM   #14
Game0rz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May. 13th, 2000
Posts: 1,506
Q: im planning on getting ME just so i can keep up w/ the latest stuff, but im also going to get a little HD for my OS, would i also have to d/l the drivers to that drive?
and would my system run the same except when i goto my computer itll have 2 HD's there?
Game0rz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2000, 09:47 PM   #15
AmigaOne|BuF
Masterful
 
AmigaOne|BuF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 14th, 2000
Location: Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 380
DOH!

Well Juice you are spot on! Don't I feel like the dolt! Well I do have OS 3.5 and it's pretty snazzy for running on a 7 year old computer. ;-) Just wait until UT is running on the upcoming AmigaOne. Should be cool.
AmigaOne|BuF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2000, 10:00 PM   #16
SimplyCosmic
ERGO. VIS A VIS. CONCORDANTLY.
 
Join Date: Dec. 25th, 1999
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 6,311
Morgan, I'd like to hear more about this:

Quote:
It's terrible withing a corperate network though: It sucks up all the bandwidth when someone is downloading using ME and the others are on NT, Win9x and Macintosh.
Is this from experience at work or from another source? Could you supply more details as to what's happening?

I ask this because I do dorm network tech support at my college. Since WinME should start showing up soon, and I haven't been able to play with a copy of it myself, I'd like to get a heads up on what we may be encountering problem-wise on the school network.

If WinME users start hogging all the dorm bandwidth, I will personally manhandle Win2000 onto their computers ...


Miami University ResNet: Great throughput, terrible latency ...


__________________
.sig :: meisterplanet :: twitter :.
SimplyCosmic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2000, 10:16 PM   #17
TheMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 31st, 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 77
I've been using ME for about a month now and I love it. Wouldnt go back. It is not as bloated as SE. There is one important thing to note however. I have read and heard that the full install is much, much, better than the upgrade. I have the full install and its been perfect(almost) for me.
TheMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2000, 10:37 PM   #18
FrigginAnT
Cow Spot Pimp
 
FrigginAnT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 23rd, 2000
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 270
That would figure...same thing happened with 98, upgrade sucked...full install was ok
__________________
{FU}Clan ChaosUT Captain
AnT's Page of Useless Info
Philly Street Racing
FrigginAnT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2000, 11:58 PM   #19
Mrukk
Inhuman
 
Join Date: May. 10th, 2000
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 805
Smile

OMG... tell me more about how the Amiga stuff is coming along lads. The Amiga kicks ass w00t!
__________________
Cheers, Mrukk

Supreme Cohesion - CTF and TDM
Mrukk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2000, 01:23 AM   #20
JuiceEggsMcKenna
MC68060/50
 
Join Date: Aug. 31st, 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,322
Unhappy Only Making Amigas is Impossible

Yeah, let's drag this sucker right off topic.

IMHO there isn't going to be an new Amiga in any meaningful way. I am not specifically familiar with the details of the "AmigaOne" that AmigaOne mentioned, but it would have to take a miracle for it to make an impact on today's market. Look at Apple - they are in a 100% better position than Amiga to push through a new consumer grade network computer platform and they cannot do it. Small fries have no chance. One problem is that Amigas need to support accepted standards, like OpenGL, Java, etc, and yet still offer proprietary enhancements over their competitors. The choice the developers have to make is "should we make it standard and therefore crappy, or way cool and therefore incompatible?" Not a good boat to be in.

Besides, it's not 1985 any more. The industry has changed. PCs are now a legacy technology, much like minis were in the early 80s. The upcoming focus of the mass-markets will be wearables, semi-wearables and "network devices".

Which is not to say that the Amiga does not rock. I still like to pull out Frontier or Stunt Car Racer at home and have some fun

People who do anime fansubs still love em
JuiceEggsMcKenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer