News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Original Unreal Tournament

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 8th Aug 2000, 01:39 PM   #1
DragonAsh
Hentai-like
 
DragonAsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 10th, 2000
Posts: 1,599
Question

Hey guys, I just got my new intelli mouse and that thing is too dam accurate for my own good. My movements as WAY to fast and its kinds hard to aim.

Since i never found out, its about time I do. How do i adjust the mouse speed in the ini file for in game performance?
__________________
Rome did not create a great empire by having meetings. They did it by
killing all those who opposed them.
------
<]LoL[Troll> DA if you were here with me, you wouldn't be talking.
<DragonAsh> AMEN
-----------
DragonAsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2000, 01:43 PM   #2
Rooster
Local Legend
 
Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 4th, 2000
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 5,287
Lol, dude.. at least TRY to find it on your own first.

Click Tools.. Preferences... Control... Mouse Sensitivity (not GUI Mouse speed) - pick a number. If it's too sensitive, make the number smaller.
__________________
"Let every nation know, whether it wishes us well or ill, that we shall pay any price, bear any burden,
meet any hardship, support any friend, oppose any foe, to assure the survival and success of liberty." John F. Kennedy


My Rig(s)
Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2000, 01:46 PM   #3
FROM_ THE_ HEAVENS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 20th, 2000
Location: Shawnee, kansas, USA
Posts: 201
I am at work now.... so i can't name the exact setting

but i use the same mouse.
i changed mine in the INI...
somewhere you can set your x & y sensitivity for your mouse separately.
the only way i can see adjusting them separately being practical is using multiple monitors...
thus dealing with odd resolutions.. therefore needing to cover more or less area in x&y directions.
as for the fast movements...
well that is the drawback of the IE mouse.
i use to use really fast twitch type movements when i would aim out of reflex which would disorient the mouse.
eventually i had to find a sensitivity relative to changing how "controlled" my twitch was..
if that makes no sense sorry.
seems the new IE mice/opticals have a better led image rate and don't have as much as a problem as the older ones.
hope this helps any.
__________________
I have enough pimples on my @$$, I don't need you too.
"Hey I didn't ask her to bend over!"
This might HURT
ICQ# 1673008
FROM_ THE_ HEAVENS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2000, 03:10 PM   #4
Mrukk
Inhuman
 
Join Date: May. 10th, 2000
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 805
Talking

What Rooster said... also, like any new mouse it will take a little bit to get used to it, but you'll find it is awesome after a while.

Make sure you have the mouse speed set reasonable high, because if it is low and you have to move the mouse quickly across a fair distance to do 180's etc you might find that it skips a bit and you end up facing the floor or something. I wasn't sure if it would ever work for me, but with the speed high I can just do small movements with the mouse and never have any problems
__________________
Cheers, Mrukk

Supreme Cohesion - CTF and TDM
Mrukk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2000, 03:20 PM   #5
DragonAsh
Hentai-like
 
DragonAsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 10th, 2000
Posts: 1,599
bah i found it on my own way b4 roo even posted.

My friend has been playing all day.
Hes no longer allowe over my house for the simple fact that he takes over my tvand comp everytime.

__________________
Rome did not create a great empire by having meetings. They did it by
killing all those who opposed them.
------
<]LoL[Troll> DA if you were here with me, you wouldn't be talking.
<DragonAsh> AMEN
-----------
DragonAsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2000, 03:22 PM   #6
Rooster
Local Legend
 
Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 4th, 2000
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 5,287
Uhh.. he's not your friend. He's just using you.

Unless it's a girl of course. In which case it's ok.
__________________
"Let every nation know, whether it wishes us well or ill, that we shall pay any price, bear any burden,
meet any hardship, support any friend, oppose any foe, to assure the survival and success of liberty." John F. Kennedy


My Rig(s)
Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2000, 03:23 PM   #7
DragonAsh
Hentai-like
 
DragonAsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 10th, 2000
Posts: 1,599
bah

either way, i only remembered a mouse gui speed control in the game

I thought i had to edit the user ini file
(i did anyway) ;p
__________________
Rome did not create a great empire by having meetings. They did it by
killing all those who opposed them.
------
<]LoL[Troll> DA if you were here with me, you wouldn't be talking.
<DragonAsh> AMEN
-----------
DragonAsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2000, 03:37 PM   #8
|YFL|We@sel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug. 7th, 2000
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by Rooster
Lol, dude.. at least TRY to find it on your own first.

Click Tools.. Preferences... Control... Mouse Sensitivity (not GUI Mouse speed) - pick a number. If it's too sensitive, make the number smaller.
Isn't it Preferences...Input...Mouse sensitivity ?
__________________
JU$7 7RY 70 (47(h 7H3 W34$EL...

Clan : You F*cking Loser

Position : All
Favorite weapons :
|YFL|We@sel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2000, 03:57 PM   #9
Rooster
Local Legend
 
Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 4th, 2000
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 5,287
Probably.. I'm at work, had to run by memory. It was around there.
__________________
"Let every nation know, whether it wishes us well or ill, that we shall pay any price, bear any burden,
meet any hardship, support any friend, oppose any foe, to assure the survival and success of liberty." John F. Kennedy


My Rig(s)
Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2000, 04:00 PM   #10
|YFL|We@sel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug. 7th, 2000
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 12
Talking btw...

And btw Rooster, to what have you put your mouse sensitivity? (if you can remember
__________________
JU$7 7RY 70 (47(h 7H3 W34$EL...

Clan : You F*cking Loser

Position : All
Favorite weapons :
|YFL|We@sel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2000, 04:02 PM   #11
Boom
Rumpshaking Moderator
 
Boom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 28th, 2000
Posts: 4,200
Get a Boomslang!!

You can adjust sensitivity on the fly (the Boomslang sensitivity setting, not the UT game sensitivity setting).

I was in a big instagib CTF game with the Stallion last night (I know how you feel about instagib CTF Rooster, but I don't get to play with Stallion that often, and a bunch of my other PuF friends were there. Besides, it turned out to be tons of fun).

Anyway, I have the sensitivity turned up real high so I can spin around and do some twitch shots (or try to do twitch shots). By "real high" I mean Boomslang sensitivity at 8.5 verticle and 10 horizontal (yes, seperate settings), and UT sensitivity at 2, and I don't remember what the window setting is set at.

Then I go out in front of the base for some aggressive defense. I hold down the thumb button and spin the mousewheel a few clicks down and my Boomslang sensitivity is immediately lowered. Now I can get superprecise aiming on the bad guys from far far away. All of a sudden a few of them rush me. I hold down the thumb button and spin the mouse wheel up up up up, and max out my sensitivity (I have the UT mouse sensitivity at 2, so it doesn't get ridiculous when I boost up the boomslang sensitivity). So now I am supersensitive and I can spin and dance around and try to twitch shot people.

Imagine if one of you guys with skills could do this. This has some serious potential.
__________________
]LoL[ Boom|BuF
Boom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2000, 04:09 PM   #12
DividedSky
Fabio-like
 
Join Date: Mar. 12th, 2000
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 1,231
Boom -

Doesn't changing sensitivities all the time throw you off? To me, it would seem like the way to go would be to stick with one sensitivity setting and just get really used to it. Of course that's just me - and the other day I took a plunger to my bathtub because I thought it was plugged up, but in reality I had accidentally bumped the lever to stop the drain - so I'm kind of an idiot
__________________
[CMi]DividedSky
Spawn Sniper Supreme / Professional Piston Camper / Freelancer Extraordinaire for Cosmic Monsters, Inc.
DividedSky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2000, 04:15 PM   #13
Arcturus
Not From Bloody Starcraft
 
Arcturus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 23rd, 2000
Location: Totally Not Korhal IV
Posts: 1,488
a suggestion

this is what i tend to do..

the best thing to do is to find a mouse sensitivity (reasonable low but comfortable to play with), and get used to it, then, increase the sensitivity a bit, and get used to the new setting. keep increasing it so its quite high, so u can turn those 180s quickly and be comfortable with the controls as well.
Arcturus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2000, 05:20 PM   #14
|YFL|We@sel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug. 7th, 2000
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 12
firestorm

Fire, ur a genius! U know why? Cause thats exactly what i do
__________________
JU$7 7RY 70 (47(h 7H3 W34$EL...

Clan : You F*cking Loser

Position : All
Favorite weapons :
|YFL|We@sel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2000, 06:20 PM   #15
Boom
Rumpshaking Moderator
 
Boom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 28th, 2000
Posts: 4,200
Divided Sky:

I don't really change it all the time. I have one setting that I use 99.9% of the time, and I am experimenting with lowering the sensitivity for that 00.1% of the time when I snipe. I just got the Boomslang and I'm still playing around with it. It seems like the ingame switching has potential, but I may give up on it and just bind that thumb button to shout out "BOOM!". Anyway, I usually keep the sensitivity as high I as I handle it without totally losing my ability to aim.

But I like the idea of lowering it on those rare occasions when I wanna snipe at someone who is far away, then immediately bumping it back up to where it was. With my "normal" setting (as high as I can stand) it is hard to get that crosshair on that one little pixel that represents my enemy at 500 yards away.

There is no way I could play an entire game switching it all around all the time. Just super high sensitivity for everything, and very rarely lower it for those super rare events when I wanna snipe (or instagib at long distance, like I was doing last night) at someone on the other side of the world.

__________________
]LoL[ Boom|BuF
Boom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2000, 07:18 PM   #16
DragonAsh
Hentai-like
 
DragonAsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 10th, 2000
Posts: 1,599
Red face

yeah, i noticed the skipping while playing today.
I totally forgot i had a match today too. So its not good to get used to a mouse the last minute.

Tell ya what though, my aim kicks ***. Pin-point accuracy. But I have the speed set to 5. I need it higher since i do fast paced moves. Looks like i need to work on this
__________________
Rome did not create a great empire by having meetings. They did it by
killing all those who opposed them.
------
<]LoL[Troll> DA if you were here with me, you wouldn't be talking.
<DragonAsh> AMEN
-----------
DragonAsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2000, 07:58 PM   #17
~Cobra~
Cursed!
 
Join Date: Apr. 7th, 2000
Posts: 868
like Boom said... get a Boomslang .. i personally don't use the on-the-fly sensitivity but it's nice to have around...

oh and boom, u get that replacement yet?
__________________
"... the next battah, here to shattah yah blattah.. "
-the Notorious B.I.G


~Cobra~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Aug 2000, 01:12 AM   #18
Boom
Rumpshaking Moderator
 
Boom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 28th, 2000
Posts: 4,200
Not yet, everyday I rush home to check the mail.

Even with the problems I'm having, this Boomslang is far better than what I was using before.
__________________
]LoL[ Boom|BuF
Boom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer