News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 31st Jul 2000, 12:09 PM   #1
G-Man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 11th, 2000
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 348
Ok, so I managed to get my breakable glass to break and I have a building with nineteen windows on it that can break. The first time I break all the windows there are no problems everything looks great. When I break the windows a second time (I have it so they come back after 30 seconds...) the breaking glass effect on some of them happens "twenty feet" away from the window. Any ideas what is going on here?
__________________
"It is better to deserve honors and not have them than to have them and not deserve them."
-Mark Twain
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jul 2000, 01:09 PM   #2
i-spie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun. 28th, 2000
Location: Toronto
Posts: 104
Thumbs up

You have plenty windows there G-Man.......my guess is that you duplicated the first one and perhaps added the rest using the same brush. This works fine except you must watch out for a few things...

1. Make sure that you don't cause "double actor class" errors....to find this out, click on each mover seperatly and make sure that when you select its properties, it says that you have "one" brush selected. Sometimes for reasons unknown to me, the brush or mover, playerstart will duplicate itself when you try to make a copy...ineffect producing 3 copies. If you find this problem has happened just select delete, and the count will go to "one" brush selected....press "rebuild"

Also checkout the samething for your exploding glass actors....it happens to them too sometimes when you duplicate them.

2. If everything is clear there, make sure that none of them share the same "tag" name. You could check each one or go ino "overhead" view and make sure each glass mover has only on red line to it....if it has two, fix it.

3. Make sure that the "exploding glass" actor is not inside you glass brush. Place it next to or infront of your mover...this has happened to me and it screwed eveything up. Never place these types of actors inside of anything...they always should be hanging free. Besides, if your "glass" actor is inside or infront of the glass mover, you won't notice any differance.......

Hope this helps........Cheers!
__________________
Power perceived, is power achieved......"The Substitute"
i-spie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jul 2000, 02:05 PM   #3
G-Man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 11th, 2000
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 348
Thanks i-spie, I had figured out a few of those problems on my own but I think it may be the breakingglass actor being inside the window, I didn't check that out. I'll go have a look. Thanks.
__________________
"It is better to deserve honors and not have them than to have them and not deserve them."
-Mark Twain
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Aug 2000, 06:49 AM   #4
Phragmites
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 26th, 2000
Location: the wilds of Hampshire, England
Posts: 262
hey, i-spie. good tips. i'll have a look at them myself. sadly, i couldnt open or import that glass demo you sent me. my Ued hasnt been able to import things for a while (there's an thread about that somewhere), so i'll just have to re-read what youve said and follow instructions very, very carefully.

- P
Phragmites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Aug 2000, 09:21 AM   #5
i-spie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun. 28th, 2000
Location: Toronto
Posts: 104
Thumbs up

Sorry to hear that Phrag....I'll try sending it to you uncompressed...maybe that was the problem. Just double click on the Unreal icon and it should load like any other map...good luck!
__________________
Power perceived, is power achieved......"The Substitute"
i-spie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Aug 2000, 01:17 PM   #6
G-Man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 11th, 2000
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 348
i-spie maybe you could help me with this:

I've decided I have too many "windows" that are breakable. I say "windows" because in I haven't made them translucent, I've just used a window texture on a sheet with a collision hull behind it. Sooo, I've decided to cut back on the number of breakable windows. I want, however, to make the breakable and unbreakable windows to be different i.e. I want the breakable ones to stand out so that you know which windows are breakable and which ones aren't. I'm going to have all my windows (breakable and unbreakable) unlit so I can't use that feature? Can you think of another way to make the breakable "windows" stick out? Thanks.

[Edited by G-Man on 08-01-2000 at 03:28 PM]
__________________
"It is better to deserve honors and not have them than to have them and not deserve them."
-Mark Twain
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Aug 2000, 06:37 PM   #7
i-spie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun. 28th, 2000
Location: Toronto
Posts: 104
Thumbs up

I too would have suggested using the "unlit" feature but, all I can think of is scaling the texture for the glass bigger or smaller (whatever looks best ) This should make them stand out, but still blend in with the rest.

Or you could slightly change the color of your lighting around the windows that are breakable (high brightness, low radius) so that the surounding structure will glow a different hue.

An excellent color lighting tute:

http://www.unrealized.com/leveldesig...l?id=921627015

__________________
Power perceived, is power achieved......"The Substitute"
i-spie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Aug 2000, 08:18 PM   #8
Phragmites
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 26th, 2000
Location: the wilds of Hampshire, England
Posts: 262
i-spie, i got the damned glass to break both sides. your latest emailed map opened fine in the editor, but all my mover and breaking glass settings were the same, so i thought i probably missed one of the vital 'reset' steps. so i did it all again and it worked.

thanks again for your help.

- P
Phragmites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Aug 2000, 12:35 AM   #9
i-spie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun. 28th, 2000
Location: Toronto
Posts: 104
Thumbs up

No problem....glad it worked!
__________________
Power perceived, is power achieved......"The Substitute"
i-spie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Aug 2000, 12:55 PM   #10
G-Man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 11th, 2000
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 348
Ok, Ok, you must be sick of hearing from me now on this subject but here is my latest dilema. I've managed to get several of the breakable windows to work PUUUUURFECTLY, but now some of them when I do a complete rebuild are invisible from one side, however if I just do a geometry rebuild they are fine. They are ctrl-w copies of other windows that work fine but for some reason the decide they want to be invisible from one side. They all have unique tabs and meet all the required criteria as mentioned above. How would rebuilding the lighting make the window invisible from one side? Any ideas?
__________________
"It is better to deserve honors and not have them than to have them and not deserve them."
-Mark Twain
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Aug 2000, 05:42 PM   #11
i-spie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun. 28th, 2000
Location: Toronto
Posts: 104
I had this exact problem too, and as far I could tell, it came from doing the duplicate stuff. I also could not reverse that effect no matter what I tried (And I tried plenty )

Once in a while, if I deleted the mover AND the subtracted brush that I used to make the hole in the first place...then rebuilt...saved....Exited the editor...then launched everything anew.....then putting everthing back in order (sub-brush, then mover) that worked.

If that didn't work then I ended having to make my brush for the mover all over again...I know, that sucks but thats all that worked for me.

One thing I do now if thing go screwy for no apparent reason...I delete the screwed up brush, rebuild, save and then relaunch the editor. For some reason this seems to work for me.

If you want, I can take a look at your windows...just send me the file.

__________________
Power perceived, is power achieved......"The Substitute"
i-spie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Aug 2000, 06:00 PM   #12
G-Man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 11th, 2000
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 348
Thanks i-spie. To check out my map you'll have to download my texture pack as well. You can download the map file and texture file in zip format from here:

http://www.driveway.com/share?sid=de...Uploaded+Files

***MAKE SURE YOU DOWNLOAD VER. 1.05*** (if it's not there now it should be there in a few minutes, I'm uploading as I write!)

To load the map you'll have to go into UT and eliminate all bots from practice matches, make sure you have an enforcer to blow up the windows and a translocator to hop up into one of the buildings as I haven't put an elevator in it yet. Then close UT and double click on the map file.

Make sure you take a look underground as well !
__________________
"It is better to deserve honors and not have them than to have them and not deserve them."
-Mark Twain
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer