News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Original Unreal Tournament

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20th Jul 2000, 08:21 AM   #1
FROM_ THE_ HEAVENS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 20th, 2000
Location: Shawnee, kansas, USA
Posts: 201
Exclamation

Last night while playing
i had a weird thing constantly happening.

I would spawn in the crouching position and wouldn't go up to run until i jumped.
Also when ever i would jump off of a ledge and land i would end up in the crouced position....
well needless to say this ended up being very annoying and led to a lot of deaths on my part.
I checked all of my mouse/keyboard settings..... binding etc and nothing was responsible or no conflicts were found.
I have been using the same set up since the game came out and am just now having this problem....
Any one else have anything similar or a solution?
__________________
I have enough pimples on my @$$, I don't need you too.
"Hey I didn't ask her to bend over!"
This might HURT
ICQ# 1673008
FROM_ THE_ HEAVENS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2000, 08:25 AM   #2
Morety
The Farterator
 
Morety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 23rd, 2000
Location: Toronto
Posts: 12,237
Question

I take it you're sure the crouch button isn't sticking?
__________________
]LoL[Morety|BuF

Morety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2000, 08:29 AM   #3
FROM_ THE_ HEAVENS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 20th, 2000
Location: Shawnee, kansas, USA
Posts: 201
very sure, tried different mice everything.
capslock etc.....nothing seemed to fix it.....
played D_EX with the same Button config just to make sure nothing was sticking and ran fine with no problem...
only UT. was doing this.
__________________
I have enough pimples on my @$$, I don't need you too.
"Hey I didn't ask her to bend over!"
This might HURT
ICQ# 1673008
FROM_ THE_ HEAVENS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2000, 08:46 AM   #4
Morety
The Farterator
 
Morety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 23rd, 2000
Location: Toronto
Posts: 12,237
Try to re-assign the crouch key and see if that fixes it.

Then put it back to where it was and see if that works.

If not, save your user.ini onto your desktop, re-install UT, then put the user.ini into the system folder so you don't lose all your keybinds.
__________________
]LoL[Morety|BuF

Morety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2000, 08:55 AM   #5
FROM_ THE_ HEAVENS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 20th, 2000
Location: Shawnee, kansas, USA
Posts: 201
did the reassign method.
from the looks of it i am going to be doing a new install.
I emailed Epic, to see if it is a possible glitch.
Anyone heard any rumors/facts as to when the next patch is coming out.
i haven't seen any "beta" servers running anything new lately so was just curious.
supposidly in the next patch they are suppose to fix the Framerate drop off for Voodoo 5 users while playing online.
__________________
I have enough pimples on my @$$, I don't need you too.
"Hey I didn't ask her to bend over!"
This might HURT
ICQ# 1673008
FROM_ THE_ HEAVENS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2000, 10:38 AM   #6
jago25_98
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul. 17th, 2000
Posts: 12
Unhappy It's the level

My brother had the exact same problem. Restarting UNrealT won't help you need 2 restart altogether.

He told me it was down to playing a custom level that had a gap in it somewhere.

If you walk over a gap (even if it's so small it's invisable) - you'll get this annoyance.

The only thing to do is find out which point in the level this occurs at a nd avoid or just don't play the level of course.

Sorry for the bad news and I don't think patch V422 solves it either.

The point that cause the problem are often in places you would run around because these are less likley to be tested.
jago25_98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2000, 10:41 AM   #7
FROM_ THE_ HEAVENS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 20th, 2000
Location: Shawnee, kansas, USA
Posts: 201
this wasn't level dependant,
it happened on ALL levels i played.
__________________
I have enough pimples on my @$$, I don't need you too.
"Hey I didn't ask her to bend over!"
This might HURT
ICQ# 1673008
FROM_ THE_ HEAVENS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2000, 10:42 AM   #8
RaptoR
been here far too long
 
RaptoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 7th, 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 3,524
i had this problem once - it disappeared when i upgraded to UT 420 - try that
__________________
RaptoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2000, 10:42 AM   #9
FROM_ THE_ HEAVENS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 20th, 2000
Location: Shawnee, kansas, USA
Posts: 201
that's what version i am running.
__________________
I have enough pimples on my @$$, I don't need you too.
"Hey I didn't ask her to bend over!"
This might HURT
ICQ# 1673008
FROM_ THE_ HEAVENS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2000, 10:46 AM   #10
RaptoR
been here far too long
 
RaptoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 7th, 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 3,524
hmmm... if you are running a keyboard with internet keys or something - try turning off that software
__________________
RaptoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2000, 10:49 AM   #11
FROM_ THE_ HEAVENS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 20th, 2000
Location: Shawnee, kansas, USA
Posts: 201
i tried doing that.
once i did that my number keys wouldn't work
and i couldn't jump and was still crouching.
this really has me perplexed.
i am going to end up reinstalling tonight.
Defrag
install
install patch.
Pray.
__________________
I have enough pimples on my @$$, I don't need you too.
"Hey I didn't ask her to bend over!"
This might HURT
ICQ# 1673008
FROM_ THE_ HEAVENS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2000, 12:30 PM   #12
Mr.Smallberries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 22nd, 2000
Location: Seattle. Happy now, Bangin?
Posts: 422
I had something sort of like this happen. I would actually get stuck going a particular direction rather than crouching. Turned out that the problem was having bound a thumb button to the shift key. If I hit the thumb button with a direction key... bad news.

Not sure if that helps at all. I've add the occasional problem with getting stuck in the duck position, but it always works itself out very quickly.
__________________
]LoL[MrSmallberries - It's not the size of the berries that counts, right guys? Guys? Hello?

I am Jack's uncontrollable videogame addiction
Mr.Smallberries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2000, 12:35 PM   #13
jenny?
i am teh
 
jenny?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 2nd, 2000
Location: massholia
Posts: 1,966
Talking

uhh use a pantherxl instead?
__________________
jenny? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2000, 12:40 PM   #14
RaptoR
been here far too long
 
RaptoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 7th, 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 3,524
Quote:
Originally posted by jenny?
uhh use a pantherxl instead?
Erm... no

Its a problem regarding a conflict in UT with your keyboard. You might want to try contacting Epic for - they said they stamped out key locking in 413, *cough*yeahright*cough*

ill admit it is a pain - what keyboard are u using?
__________________
RaptoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2000, 12:44 PM   #15
FROM_ THE_ HEAVENS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 20th, 2000
Location: Shawnee, kansas, USA
Posts: 201
microsoft natural keyboard pro.
but still have the same problem with my old keyboard.
I am thinking an install is all that is going to fix it.

thanks for all the help guys and gals....
and JENNY?
my god woman do you actually read the post before you type sometimes.

__________________
I have enough pimples on my @$$, I don't need you too.
"Hey I didn't ask her to bend over!"
This might HURT
ICQ# 1673008
FROM_ THE_ HEAVENS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2000, 12:49 PM   #16
jenny?
i am teh
 
jenny?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 2nd, 2000
Location: massholia
Posts: 1,966
Talking

hm, i read the posts usually. i have a tendency to read things and not take them as they were intended, though.. hehe

although before you totally reinstall just try removing unrealtournament.ini and user.ini from the system directory first, then restart ut. that usually cleans out any crap settings that may have been set accidentally. of course if that doesn't work then by all means reinstall.
__________________
jenny? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2000, 03:13 PM   #17
Kokensu
Fire in Ma Belly!
 
Kokensu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 4th, 2000
Location: Shut yo mouth!
Posts: 2,912
Something similar happens to me sometimes. Sometimes when I'm ducking(on purpose) I'll go to move and I'll still be ducking. The only way for me to fix this is to hit the duck key again. It happens every now and then, but Im running the 4.20 patch and it should have been fixed in this version. Sounds like you're having a similar issue, and if the patch is not fixing it I'd probably just try reinstalling UT. Have you tried just reinstalling the patch?

P.S. Panther XL?? LOL right.....
__________________


Ignorance is bliss. Until you realize just how ignorant you are.
----------
"We are destined to gain knowledge from our wildest dreams, as deep as an ocean, as calm as a forest tree, my soul...is at last free...." - LTJ Bukem
Kokensu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2000, 05:23 PM   #18
jenny?
i am teh
 
jenny?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 2nd, 2000
Location: massholia
Posts: 1,966
Talking

oh and just another FYI

using a joystick means it loads the joystick driver to make it work. so.. if the problem is with the keyboard or the way ut interprets keyboard commands, it wouldn't matter since you're using something else for controls.
__________________
jenny? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2000, 05:42 PM   #19
Arkive
Registered User
 
Join Date: May. 10th, 2000
Posts: 272
MS Keyboard Pro...

I have a Natural Keyboard Pro and have used it with UT in Win98, Win 2000, and now Win Millenium with almost no problems. The only thing I can think of is, do you use the MS software for the keyboard? I found that it caused some small problems now and then, however, there is a newer version out right now that might address some things. The only thing the software allows me to do that I can't on my own is specify a search engine web site for the "Search" key, everything else works just like I want it to, so I don't use the software at all...one less thing running in the background. Also, make sure you have the newest version installed, or uninstall it all together. As a matter of fact, try uninstalling the MS keyboard software first, test UT, and see what happens. If it still crouches you to death, try reinstalling UT. It seems very odd that it would only affect crouch, and also that it would only affect that function regardless of which key you have it bound to. Hope that works for ya...

Jeff
__________________
-Arkive-

ICQ#: 193843
Email: neverget@home.com

Just my 1.4 cents (after taxes)
Arkive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jul 2000, 07:02 AM   #20
FROM_ THE_ HEAVENS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 20th, 2000
Location: Shawnee, kansas, USA
Posts: 201
Talking

Did the fresh install.
and reinstalled the 420 patch.
everything seems to work fine now.
and another benefit.
so it seems my FPS have seen a slight increase
maybe i had too many conflicts In UT with all the mods i had played and installed.
OH well
thanks all for you help.
__________________
I have enough pimples on my @$$, I don't need you too.
"Hey I didn't ask her to bend over!"
This might HURT
ICQ# 1673008
FROM_ THE_ HEAVENS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer