News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 4th Apr 2012, 02:04 PM   #1
maxbulldog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 4th, 2012
Posts: 4
New Mapper here. Need Help!

So i've recently started mapping for the game America's Army which uses unreal and I couldnt find any other forums so I came here. Now heres my question:
If i want to go into a map and copy a building and transfer it to another map how would I do this? I cant seem to figure it out.
maxbulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Apr 2012, 03:40 PM   #2
Dozey
The Cleaner of Sunspire, Mapper
 
Dozey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 16th, 2010
Location: Poland, The Sunspire - washing floor with mop
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxbulldog View Post
So i've recently started mapping for the game America's Army which uses unreal and I couldnt find any other forums so I came here. Now heres my question:
If i want to go into a map and copy a building and transfer it to another map how would I do this? I cant seem to figure it out.
it's static mesh or bsp brush?
__________________
http://dozeyunreal.webs.com
New upcoming mission pack for Unreal with lot of new stuff.
Dozey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Apr 2012, 03:48 PM   #3
maxbulldog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 4th, 2012
Posts: 4
its a bsp brush
maxbulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Apr 2012, 04:54 PM   #4
Sjosz
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Sjosz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 31st, 2003
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 3,049
Find the building you want to copy over, change the view mode to wireframe (using the icons at the top of your viewport), and then select the building's BSP brushes in that mode. After that, you can simply copy/paste using ctrl+c and ctrl+v. You can even paste BSP into a notepad file as plain text as an inbetween step should you wish to.
__________________
]--[ UCMP ]--[ BioWare ]--[ Portfolio ]--[ HOLP ]--[]--[ Flickr ]-|-[
Sjosz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Apr 2012, 04:57 PM   #5
maxbulldog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 4th, 2012
Posts: 4
thanks man. helped a bunch. You'll probably be seeing alot more of me around here as I dont know too much heheh :P
maxbulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Apr 2012, 05:07 PM   #6
Dozey
The Cleaner of Sunspire, Mapper
 
Dozey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 16th, 2010
Location: Poland, The Sunspire - washing floor with mop
Posts: 119
or brush > export. Open textures that brush is using, then import brush in your map.
__________________
http://dozeyunreal.webs.com
New upcoming mission pack for Unreal with lot of new stuff.
Dozey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Apr 2012, 05:05 AM   #7
Wail of Suicide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 11th, 2006
Posts: 739
Keep in mind that the America's Army editor is really locked down. You pretty much can't export anything from it AFAIK.

Not sure why, you'd think that military recruiting tools paid for with public funds would be free for Americans to use.
Wail of Suicide is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer