News • UnrealEd • Files • Mods • FragBU • Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27th Sep 2011, 06:17 PM   #1
Mang Nux
Registered User
 
Mang Nux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 14th, 2010
Posts: 116
Unreal Anthology DRM

Unreal, UT and UT2004 didn't need the disk in to play, but U2 did.

What's the situation in the Anthology... do you ever need to insert the DVD to play?
Mang Nux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Sep 2011, 07:17 PM   #2
scott84
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct. 22nd, 2004
Posts: 427
I never needed the Anthology DVD to play the games included. Then again, I didn't really spend a lot of time with Unreal 2.

There are NO CD hacks for games just for this reason. Hit up google and see whats up with u2

Last edited by scott84; 27th Sep 2011 at 07:19 PM.
scott84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Sep 2011, 10:29 AM   #3
Gothik
Day Tripper
 
Gothik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 8th, 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 266
IIRC Unreal 2 in the Anthology actually uses one of the unofficial/illegal no-cd patches to remove the DRM.
__________________
It is a difficult thing to see a Keeper,
Especially one who does not wish to be seen.
Gothik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Sep 2011, 11:51 AM   #4
Firefly
United Kingdom is not a country.
 
Firefly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 20th, 2000
Location: Bucks, England - Nowhere near Europe
Posts: 4,846
I get the 'this is not a win 32 application' error when trying to run UT99.
I've tried different drivers but no good. Unreal works fine though.
Firefly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Sep 2011, 12:50 PM   #5
Big-Al
amateur de bi่re
 
Big-Al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 14th, 2003
Location: Under a black flag.
Posts: 8,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefly View Post
I get the 'this is not a win 32 application' error when trying to run UT99.
I've tried different drivers but no good. Unreal works fine though.
blame europe!
__________________


I drink moosepiss
Big-Al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Sep 2011, 05:26 AM   #6
Gothik
Day Tripper
 
Gothik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 8th, 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefly View Post
I get the 'this is not a win 32 application' error when trying to run UT99.
I've tried different drivers but no good. Unreal works fine though.
Try reinstalling. That error usually means the exe has been corrupted, a reinstall may fix it.
__________________
It is a difficult thing to see a Keeper,
Especially one who does not wish to be seen.
Gothik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Sep 2011, 01:51 PM   #7
Firefly
United Kingdom is not a country.
 
Firefly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 20th, 2000
Location: Bucks, England - Nowhere near Europe
Posts: 4,846
I will, cheers
Firefly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Sep 2011, 02:01 PM   #8
BITE_ME
Bye-Bye
 
BITE_ME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 9th, 2004
Location: Not here any more
Posts: 3,567
English subtitles for the deaf and hearing impaired

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mang Nux View Post
Unreal, UT and UT2004 didn't need the disk in to play, but U2 did.

What's the situation in the Anthology... do you ever need to insert the DVD to play?
Once.
Too install the games
__________________
Never see me again on this forum.
BITE_ME January 22, 2012
BITE_ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Oct 2011, 05:04 AM   #9
_Lynx
Strategic Military Services
 
_Lynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 5th, 2003
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 1,925
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gothik View Post
Try reinstalling. That error usually means the exe has been corrupted, a reinstall may fix it.
^^
You get this error when you try to run 16-bit or corrupted exes. Seeing as UT perfectly runs on 64-bit systems, it's the corrupted exe. I'd just reinstall the latest patch
__________________
_Lynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Oct 2011, 10:47 AM   #10
Gothik
Day Tripper
 
Gothik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 8th, 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Lynx View Post
^^
You get this error when you try to run 16-bit or corrupted exes. Seeing as UT perfectly runs on 64-bit systems, it's the corrupted exe. I'd just reinstall the latest patch
Usually when it's a 16-bit exe under 64 bit windows, it will say it's "not designed to run on this version of Windows. Try getting another version...blah blah". I've only ever seen the 32 bit message on corrupted files.
__________________
It is a difficult thing to see a Keeper,
Especially one who does not wish to be seen.
Gothik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bite_me makes quality posts

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer