News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Coding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 4th Aug 2010, 10:35 AM   #1
brunomartelli
Registered User
 
brunomartelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 1st, 2004
Location: East End, London, UK
Posts: 175
Attach particle system to sockets

Does anyone knwo what the code should be to attach a particle system to a socket in UDK? or a good link to a tute? I just cannot get it to work..
__________________
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
http://www.igloo.org.uk
http://www.swanquake.com
brunomartelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Aug 2010, 03:11 PM   #2
brold9999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 5th, 2009
Posts: 142
Can you be more specific? What is a "socket"?

At any rate, I would recommend finding something in UT3 that does something close to what you want, and look at the code for that as an example.
brold9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Aug 2010, 04:25 PM   #3
brunomartelli
Registered User
 
brunomartelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 1st, 2004
Location: East End, London, UK
Posts: 175
A socket is a thing you can create to add to a character skeleton bone, to attach something to like a gun or particle system. You can create sockets for vehicles too....I have looked at some examples but I dont get it, hence the post...
__________________
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
http://www.igloo.org.uk
http://www.swanquake.com
brunomartelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Aug 2010, 04:38 PM   #4
brold9999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 5th, 2009
Posts: 142
Ah, i suspected that you were referring to attaching things to bones.

The function DoKismetAttachment in Pawn.uc provides a pretty clear example of how to attach an Actor to a bone or socket. There is a similar function in SkeletalMeshActor.uc. Depending on your purposes, you may be able to use the Kismet action directly, otherwise you can modify that code to suit your purposes.
brold9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2010, 10:08 PM   #5
eblade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 29th, 2006
Posts: 113
AttachComponentToSocket()
eblade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Aug 2010, 11:14 AM   #6
brunomartelli
Registered User
 
brunomartelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 1st, 2004
Location: East End, London, UK
Posts: 175
would Bone/Socket Location in Cascade do it?
__________________
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
http://www.igloo.org.uk
http://www.swanquake.com
brunomartelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Sep 2010, 08:16 PM   #7
farshad12
Registered User
 
farshad12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 7th, 2010
Posts: 4
Just put this in your code:

Code:
Mesh.AttachComponentToSocket(MyEffect, MySocket);
MyEffect variable is from type ParticleSystemComponent, and MySocket variable is from type Name. That's it.
farshad12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
character, code, particle, sockets

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer