News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27th Jul 2010, 10:43 AM   #1
Oceaniana
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul. 27th, 2010
Posts: 3
Question Advance Alhpa Channel Help?

Does anyone know the technique used for the below dds file how they got that alpha channel like that

Here is a screen shot i took, RBG


Screen shot of the alpha channel


That alpha channel above has derived from that first pic, that is what i want to know how its done, just the technique will have me jumping over the moon.

If any one can help it will really be appreciated

Last edited by Oceaniana; 27th Jul 2010 at 11:42 AM. Reason: Fix the title with the word Help
Oceaniana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 11:21 AM   #2
Wormbo
 
Wormbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 4th, 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,753
Looks like Clamp((B-R) * G) to me or something like that. But maybe it's actually a separate alpha channel unrelated to the other channels.

[edit]
And if I may add: That's a crap hoster. Attach the file to your post if you don't want to make people angry about annoying wait-confirm-areyousure-clicktobegin websites.

[edit2]
I was right, it's a separate alpha channel in that file, relatively unrelated to the RGB channels.
__________________
Wormbo's UT/UT2004/UT3 mods | YouTube channel | PlanetJailbreak/JDN | Unreal Wiki | Liandri Archives
Everything you ever wanted to know about replication| UnrealScript security considerations
<elmuerte> you shouldn't do all-nighters, it's a waste of time and effort
<TNSe> nono
<TNSe> its always funny to find code a week later you dont even remember writing
<Pfhoenix> what's worse is when you have a Star Wars moment
<Pfhoenix> "Luke! I am your code!" "No! Impossible! It can't be!"

Last edited by Wormbo; 27th Jul 2010 at 11:28 AM.
Wormbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 11:34 AM   #3
Oceaniana
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul. 27th, 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks for the reply wormbo, im rusty at photoshop atm, selecting just the green channel and then ctrl gets it select, its all coming back to me for photoshop. Have not used the Unreal edit for last 2 years that word alone "clamp" got a flood of info running in my brain again, maybe i should be using UDK again :P

Many thanks,

Last edited by Oceaniana; 27th Jul 2010 at 11:42 AM.
Oceaniana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 01:40 PM   #4
Creavion
Registered User
 
Creavion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 27th, 2005
Location: Germany, Niedersachsen
Posts: 471
I also wondered a lot in the past how something like that could be done, I am also a ps noob by myself (I mostly make very simple stuff - VERY VERY simple stuff).
Normally you have to do it over the Alpha1 Channel (over Channels). But if have not figured out how it works well over multiply layers (most likely I have not understood this anyway). So I use very stupid - but working method.
DXTBMP. A small programm which allows to change the alpha channel with some less clicks (so you would have to save the image and the alpha channel seperat)
http://www.btinternet.com/~mnwright/programs/dxtbmp.htm
DL at bottom of site.
I am fully aware about the fact that this is a roundabout way. But as long I have not found a better way, its better than nothing.
__________________
My maps:
UT99.org CMP2 Maps (7 total, including bonuspack)
Single Player + Monsterhunt: Antalius (Jungle Setting)
CTF-UTR-Syntra (Standalone UTR Bonus Map)
Creavion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 11:59 PM   #5
Oceaniana
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul. 27th, 2010
Posts: 3
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Creavion View Post
I also wondered a lot in the past how something like that could be done,
Hi crevion

My post above did not make much sense, i got excited as it all started to flow back and weirdly enough, it was the word clamp(made me think of tc clamp, that made me remember, quite weird what gets the old brain working sometimes) that did it.

Select magic wand, deselect the channels except for one of them(above example its green), hold down ctrl and click that channel, then its the same to finish it as you normally would. Select >> Save selection.

They did a little more there but that's the basic idea

Last edited by Oceaniana; 2nd Aug 2010 at 05:28 AM. Reason: Added file
Oceaniana is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer