News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Off Topic > Hardware, Software & Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23rd Jun 2010, 01:11 PM   #1
AMmayhem
Mayhem is everywhere
 
AMmayhem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 3rd, 2001
Location: NaliCity, MI
Posts: 4,712
Question Hard drive firmware

My hard drive has apparently crapped out on me. Though after talking to someone, they mentioned that Seagate had some faulty hard drives a few years ago, which they solved with a firmware update. Well I have a Seagate 7200 which is a couple years old so while checking for firmware, the updates depend on the serial number. My serial number is a ST3500630AS, but the closest firmware I can find is for a ST3500620AS. Would it be wise decision to use this firmware even though it's not the exact same serial number? Or is that going to mess things up?
__________________
Nali City's official AMmayhem

<AMmayhem> howdy all
* Rukee waves
<AMmayhem> that had better been all 5 fingers...
<Rukee> oh-you thought I was waving my hand, okay.
<AMmayhem> well, someone your age, all the wrinkles blend together, making it hard to decipher what part of the body is being waved.....
<AMmayhem> o_O
<MassChAoS> ouch
<Rukee> owned :P
AMmayhem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jun 2010, 07:18 AM   #2
IronMonkey
Moi?
 
IronMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 23rd, 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMmayhem View Post
My hard drive has apparently crapped out on me. Though after talking to someone, they mentioned that Seagate had some faulty hard drives a few years ago, which they solved with a firmware update. Well I have a Seagate 7200 which is a couple years old so while checking for firmware, the updates depend on the serial number. My serial number is a ST3500630AS, but the closest firmware I can find is for a ST3500620AS. Would it be wise decision to use this firmware even though it's not the exact same serial number? Or is that going to mess things up?
If you mean the SD15 firmware issue then there is a checker referenced on this page. Follow its advice:

http://seagate.custkb.com/seagate/cr...p?DocId=207931
__________________
IronMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jun 2010, 07:10 PM   #3
NRG
Master Console Hater
 
NRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 31st, 2005
Posts: 1,706
Their "Drive Detect" software doesn't seem very good, it doesn't even find my Seagate Drive. I can't find ST3500630AS on their website either. But, if the drive is bricked or is close to it, what is there to lose?
__________________

Steam
NRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jun 2010, 07:23 PM   #4
Benfica
European Redneck
 
Join Date: Feb. 6th, 2006
Posts: 2,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMmayhem View Post
My hard drive has apparently crapped out on me.
I have exactly the same drive as you, a 500GB 7200.10 series. What is happening with your drive? Does it power up, is detected by the BIOS and so on?
Quote:
Though after talking to someone, they mentioned that Seagate had some faulty hard drives a few years ago, which they solved with a firmware update. Well I have a Seagate 7200 which is a couple years old so while checking for firmware, the updates depend on the serial number. My serial number is a ST3500630AS, but the closest firmware I can find is for a ST3500620AS. Would it be wise decision to use this firmware even though it's not the exact same serial number? Or is that going to mess things up?
The faulty ones are from the 7200.11, which has a pretty different firmware not appropriate for our drives. A firmware update was never a typical recommendation to fix problems of the 7200.10
Benfica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jun 2010, 11:49 AM   #5
IronMonkey
Moi?
 
IronMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 23rd, 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMmayhem View Post
My serial number is a ST3500630AS
And in one of life's little coincidences, I've just had to rebuild my main desktop PC because of a ST3500630AS failing under load. Grrrrrr.

The thing is - I don't want it fixed. I don't want to have to trust my data to a drive in which I have lost all confidence. In the bin it goes (post-hammer).
__________________
IronMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jun 2010, 01:35 PM   #6
AMmayhem
Mayhem is everywhere
 
AMmayhem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 3rd, 2001
Location: NaliCity, MI
Posts: 4,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benfica View Post
I have exactly the same drive as you, a 500GB 7200.10 series. What is happening with your drive? Does it power up, is detected by the BIOS and so on?
My computer would start up fine. Windows would load, and I'd start doing whatever, browsing internet, moving files, anything really. Then the hard drive would go into a constant running state. Bogging everything you tried to do because it was doing whatever. Shutting down the computer would take forever, so I had to kill the power. Upon restart, before Windows loaded, I got the message "Disk read error press Ctrl + Alt + Del to restart."

That's about all there was to it. Sometimes after setting off for a while it would start up fine, passed that message. But soon it would go back to the constant running state. It wasn't a RAM issue as that's the first thing I replaced to no fix. Nor do I think it was disk thrashing, though it might be, as I don't fully understand what thrashing is.

Didn't try the firmware, went ahead and bought a new hard drive (Western Digital 1 TB). Installed Windows and everything is going good since. In some good news, I was able to hook up the Seagate as a "slave" drive and pull everything I needed off it. Didn't have any problems with it constant running then, though I'm not going to trust it for just storage.
__________________
Nali City's official AMmayhem

<AMmayhem> howdy all
* Rukee waves
<AMmayhem> that had better been all 5 fingers...
<Rukee> oh-you thought I was waving my hand, okay.
<AMmayhem> well, someone your age, all the wrinkles blend together, making it hard to decipher what part of the body is being waved.....
<AMmayhem> o_O
<MassChAoS> ouch
<Rukee> owned :P

Last edited by AMmayhem; 28th Jun 2010 at 01:39 PM.
AMmayhem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Jun 2010, 09:23 AM   #7
Benfica
European Redneck
 
Join Date: Feb. 6th, 2006
Posts: 2,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMmayhem
My computer would start up fine. Windows would load, and I'd start doing whatever, browsing internet, moving files, anything really. Then the hard drive would go into a constant running state. Bogging everything you tried to do because it was doing whatever.
Probably trying to recover bad sectors or hard to read (doing multiple passes). You should check it for filesystem errors and bad sectors.
Quote:
In some good news, I was able to hook up the Seagate as a "slave" drive and pull everything I needed off it. Didn't have any problems with it constant running then, though I'm not going to trust it for just storage.
Yeah, it's unreliable. Use it for temp folder, swap file, a 2nd installation of Windows, ISOs of your games and whatever else that you don't mind to lose.
Benfica is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer