News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21st Nov 2009, 03:52 PM   #1
diabolusxangelus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 21st, 2009
Posts: 4
Question Adding Translocator to UDK maps?

Hello, I am trying to add a translocator for my character to a map I make in Unreal Editor but I cant seem to figure out how to do it. I can only access the link gun, rocket launcher and physics gun, Any help?
I'm thinking its a problem with not having it imported properly but I'm not sure, it shows up as an image in the content browser but thats it.
Please help!
Thanks
diabolusxangelus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Nov 2009, 03:59 PM   #2
Mclogenog
I put the lol in philology
 
Mclogenog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 8th, 2008
Location: Oregon, U.S.A.
Posts: 645
The UDK includes a demo version of UT3, which means, a limited number of weapons, vehicles, and maps. The translocator is not included.

If you want to make maps for UT3, use the UT3 editor.
__________________
Mclogenog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Nov 2009, 10:27 PM   #3
diabolusxangelus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 21st, 2009
Posts: 4
Im not trying to make an UT3 map, I'm just trying to make a map in UDK and use the translocator as my "weapon".

Is there anyway to load the other weapons, items, meshes, ect so that are in UT3 so that I can use them in my map in UDK?
diabolusxangelus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Nov 2009, 05:03 AM   #4
Wormbo
 
Wormbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 4th, 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,689
No, it's a completely different engine version. UT3 and UDK are not binary compatible and UT3 does not allow you to export the resources you'd need to make a straight port of any UT3 content to UDK.

If you want to do UT3 mapping, I recommend using UT3 for that.
__________________
Wormbo's UT/UT2004/UT3 mods | YouTube channel | PlanetJailbreak/JDN | Unreal Wiki | Liandri Archives
Everything you ever wanted to know about replication| UnrealScript security considerations
<elmuerte> you shouldn't do all-nighters, it's a waste of time and effort
<TNSe> nono
<TNSe> its always funny to find code a week later you dont even remember writing
<Pfhoenix> what's worse is when you have a Star Wars moment
<Pfhoenix> "Luke! I am your code!" "No! Impossible! It can't be!"
Wormbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Nov 2009, 09:30 AM   #5
diabolusxangelus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 21st, 2009
Posts: 4
Ok thats sucks =[

Sorry but what do you mean by making a straight port to UDK?
diabolusxangelus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Nov 2009, 03:30 PM   #6
Bi()ha2arD
Toxic!
 
Bi()ha2arD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 29th, 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,819
I guess he means copypasting the complete game (UT3) from the old engine to UDK
__________________
Bi()ha2arD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Nov 2009, 07:07 PM   #7
diabolusxangelus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 21st, 2009
Posts: 4
Ok ill try that
Thanks!
diabolusxangelus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Nov 2009, 08:41 AM   #8
Bi()ha2arD
Toxic!
 
Bi()ha2arD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 29th, 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,819
If I got that right he means its not possible. At least you can't get the Translocator mesh for example. The code might work, dunno.
__________________
Bi()ha2arD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
translocator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer