News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Mods > The Ball > The Ball

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17th Nov 2009, 03:51 AM   #1
god.less
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 17th, 2009
Posts: 5
Frustrating shortcut question.

I installed the game, and have been playing it for a good few days. I made a shortcut in my Steam Games tab and have the actual shortcut to the mod itself on my desktop. My problem now is that the game will not run at all. Every time I tweak the target spot for the game, it either doesn't run, or gives me an error.

This is where the game is starting in:

"C:\Program Files\Unreal Tournament 3\Binaries"

and this is the target:

"C:\Program Files\Unreal Tournament 3\Binaries\UT3.exe" -mod=..\TheBall

Is there something wrong there, I can't seem to figure this out.



Edit: Unreal Tournament 3 runs just fine.

Last edited by god.less; 17th Nov 2009 at 03:52 AM. Reason: **** up.
god.less is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Nov 2009, 04:22 AM   #2
Bi()ha2arD
Toxic!
 
Bi()ha2arD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 29th, 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,819
Do you have UT3 retail or steam? If you have steam it may be located somewhere else.
__________________
Bi()ha2arD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Nov 2009, 12:58 PM   #3
god.less
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 17th, 2009
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bi()ha2arD View Post
Do you have UT3 retail or steam? If you have steam it may be located somewhere else.
I have bought and installed the retail version.
god.less is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2009, 11:54 AM   #4
Hourences
 
Hourences's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 29th, 2000
Location: Belgium/Holland/Sweden
Posts: 5,050
This is how it looks for me, be sure to don't mix up Start In and Target.



You have Patch 2.1 yes? That is the UT3 black edition.

What error does it give?

The game really is installed in program files yes?
__________________
Hourences is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2009, 05:59 PM   #5
god.less
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 17th, 2009
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hourences View Post
This is how it looks for me, be sure to don't mix up Start In and Target.



You have Patch 2.1 yes? That is the UT3 black edition.

What error does it give?

The game really is installed in program files yes?
I have patch 2.1 installed. The game was installed correctly and I was able to play it for a few days. Then, all of a sudden, every time I tried to launch the game, an error message:



Here is my Start In-Target Box:

god.less is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2009, 07:08 PM   #6
Hourences
 
Hourences's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 29th, 2000
Location: Belgium/Holland/Sweden
Posts: 5,050
Do or did you had any previous versions installed?

There is a log file here:
C:\Documents and Settings\Hourences\My Documents\My Games\Unreal Tournament 3\UTGame\Logs

Launch.log and/or Launch2.log. Run the mod, make sure it crashes, and then post the log file here. It may hold some clues. It must be something simple somewhere.
__________________
Hourences is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Nov 2009, 01:15 AM   #7
god.less
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 17th, 2009
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hourences View Post
Do or did you had any previous versions installed?

There is a log file here:
C:\Documents and Settings\Hourences\My Documents\My Games\Unreal Tournament 3\UTGame\Logs

Launch.log and/or Launch2.log. Run the mod, make sure it crashes, and then post the log file here. It may hold some clues. It must be something simple somewhere.
I uninstalled all previous versions of the game before I installed the final version.

Here are the launch backup files; the Log files appears to be empty. Hopefully this helps.
Attached Files
File Type: txt Launch-backup-2009.11.18-23.08.15.txt (944.2 KB, 2 views)
File Type: txt Launch-backup-2009.11.18-15.53.04.txt (3.1 KB, 1 views)
god.less is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Nov 2009, 04:34 AM   #8
Hourences
 
Hourences's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 29th, 2000
Location: Belgium/Holland/Sweden
Posts: 5,050
Doesn't say much, but according to google this happens more, also to an unmodded UT3. It is something specific in your my documents folder. Could try to delete all files in C:\Documents and Settings\Hourences\My Documents\My Games\Unreal Tournament 3\UTGame\Config so you get new and default ones.

Could try deleting all the ones that are NOT named "DefaultSomething" here too C:\Documents and Settings\Hourences\My Documents\My Games\Unreal Tournament 3\TheBall\Config
__________________
Hourences is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Nov 2009, 02:46 PM   #9
god.less
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 17th, 2009
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hourences View Post
Doesn't say much, but according to google this happens more, also to an unmodded UT3. It is something specific in your my documents folder. Could try to delete all files in C:\Documents and Settings\Hourences\My Documents\My Games\Unreal Tournament 3\UTGame\Config so you get new and default ones.

Could try deleting all the ones that are NOT named "DefaultSomething" here too C:\Documents and Settings\Hourences\My Documents\My Games\Unreal Tournament 3\TheBall\Config
Alright, thanks, pal. I deleted all those files and the game now works fine. Only problem; it deleted my saved game. No worries though, thank you again.
god.less is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer