News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14th Sep 2009, 04:48 PM   #1
trauma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep. 13th, 2009
Posts: 5
Mover problem

I am currently redoing all my lifts with the meshes I want to have in the final version of my level and I have come across a problem that I haven't encounter before and I can;t find any threads about it on this forum.

I am trying to use the Necis elevator 3 mesh as my lift base and it requires me to rotate the mesh so that it looks proper. So I rotate my mesh and trigger the the mesh rotates back to its original position and then goes up.

I have checked numerous level in UT3 to see how they did this and have not found anything in other mover properties that look different than mine, and I know it is fixable cause many lifts are in different directions and go up just fine with out this problem in other levels.

So does anyone know the solution to this problem? any help is much appreciated.

Thanks in advance
trauma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2009, 07:01 AM   #2
Bi()ha2arD
Toxic!
 
Bi()ha2arD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 29th, 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,819
to fix this you unfotrunately have to delete your matinee sequence and redo it. (or change the keyframe rotations). i think when you add your mesh as mover (which you did with your placeholder mesh) the matinee somehow uses absolute coordinates and rotation and therefore rotates the mesh to what the old one was.
__________________
Bi()ha2arD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Sep 2009, 05:27 AM   #3
Bazzwano
Hi, I'm Bryan
 
Bazzwano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bi()ha2arD View Post
to fix this you unfotrunately have to delete your matinee sequence and redo it. (or change the keyframe rotations). i think when you add your mesh as mover (which you did with your placeholder mesh) the matinee somehow uses absolute coordinates and rotation and therefore rotates the mesh to what the old one was.
Not true. Well not the best way to go about it anyway.

Just go into your kismet matinee and right click the movement trace and set it to relative (I'm not in the editor but Im sure its relative). This way your kismet will work on the lift where ever it no matter its placement or rotation.
__________________

Whatever beat that drives the impulse, whatever tune that

carries through, What's in a soul that rattles empty, in this
reality too few Dark Tranquillity
member since April 07 + 600 posts
CTF-Safeguard3, CTF-Dreary3, CTF-Stratus (V1.2), CTF-Pipeline(WIP)
My Rig: CPU:C2D-E8500, GPU:GF-250GTS, RAM:4GB 6800C4, HDD: 2x 150gb WD Raptor, CASE: Mini Gigibyte MX
Bazzwano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Sep 2009, 08:27 AM   #4
Bi()ha2arD
Toxic!
 
Bi()ha2arD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 29th, 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,819
oh, i must have overlooked that feature all the time then
__________________
Bi()ha2arD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer