News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14th Nov 1999, 01:45 AM   #1
Butcher
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 13th, 1999
Location: ca
Posts: 13
Post

Can you shape a brush in AutoCad then import it into UnrealEd? What scale? File types?
Useing AutoCad release12 for dos.
Also 3DS v2
Any advice?? Thx..
Butcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 1999, 01:57 AM   #2
Aridale N. Belmont
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 9th, 1999
Posts: 87
Post

Load UEd and check the import types and export one of those types of your brush from CAD and try it on an empty test level. Worse thing that can happen is UEd will crash or lockup. Im pretty sure you can do it.




Ari
Aridale N. Belmont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 1999, 08:29 AM   #3
Wanderer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul. 7th, 2000
Posts: 1,334
Post

Never used Autocad so the best thing to do is to make a test brush in Autocad. Make it, export it as a .dxf file (should be the default format).

Now in UnrealEd you'll have to import it by clicking on Brush=>Import
Then find you're brush. See how it works in UnrealEd and see what size it is. That's the best way to figure out the conversion scale.
Wanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 1999, 01:25 PM   #4
Githianki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 11th, 1999
Posts: 71
Post

I have been using Lightwave to do a lot of brushes lately and exporting them via .dxf

Here are a few tips besides Wanderer's scaling one:

1)Remember to keep the number of polygons in the brush below 500 or you WILL lose data when importing into UnrealED. Use stats or info commands to count the polys in your object to keep to this before you save to .dxf.

2)Try to use only closed meshes. This means that the 'interior' of the brush should be totally enclosed by polygons, all of which should face either 'inwards' or 'outwards'(avoid combos in a brush). A non-enclosed mesh would be a terrain sheet/grid for example. It has two sides but encloses no volume. A closed mesh encloses a volume with no leaks.

3)Be sure that you reset the red master brush in Unreal for location,rotation and scale before you import the .dxf brush. This is VERY IMPORTANT. Otherwise you might end up with problems using those tools later on the imported brush.

Basically, you should reset, import, then adjust the brush using those tools to get a good working size. If you have already figured out a good scale to build at in AUTOCAD, you won't need to adjust size. After getting the brush set up, save it, then clear everything again and reload the saved brush. Now you should have a brush, properly sized, rotated, etc. that you can use without any problems.
Githianki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer