News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Content Releases

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 3rd Sep 2009, 03:23 PM   #21
Mr. UglyPants
2007 never existed, it was all a dream.
 
Mr. UglyPants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 22nd, 2005
Location: Canada... eh
Posts: 1,985
Shot da whooooooooop! ^^
__________________
"Yes, BattleFront 2 looks cool. However, the ability to capture a command post is insignificant next to the power to capture an entire planet."



Mr. UglyPants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Sep 2009, 03:40 PM   #22
Phopojijo
A Loose Screw
 
Phopojijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 13th, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,458
It's SHOOP DA WHOOP YOU JERK I'M CHARGIN MAH LAZURS!!!!

__________________
Core i7 920, Foxconn Renaissance mobo, 12GB DDR3, nVidia GTX 460 + GTX 260 on PhysX
X-Fi Platinum, SteelSeries Siberia V2, Windows 7 Professional
Razer BlackWidow Ultimate, Wacom Cintiq 22HD + Samsung 23" 1080p LED + LG Wide 20" & 22" Glossy

Last edited by Phopojijo; 3rd Sep 2009 at 03:41 PM.
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Sep 2009, 03:41 PM   #23
TurdDrive
sam k
 
TurdDrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 31st, 2008
Location: WALES
Posts: 3,450
no image

bwhahahahahahaahahhahhahhhahahahahahahahahh
bwhahahahahahaahahhahhahhhahahahahahahahahh
__________________
Guilty of waiting, we bond together
born to suffer, only those ill fated eyes,
liberate our minds.
Behold the sign you are killing us.
TurdDrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Sep 2009, 04:24 PM   #24
stevelois
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug. 31st, 2009
Posts: 179
Wow Bazz, your last post showing your progress is simply amazing. Honestly

I always loved those old, damaged materials. It's really nice my Bazz
stevelois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Sep 2009, 12:33 AM   #25
cooloola
A good samaritan
 
cooloola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 31st, 2005
Posts: 787
One quick question, what program are you using to generate the normal maps and the height maps? The materials look fan-****ing-tastic.
__________________
I am jumping on this bandwagon!
cooloola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Sep 2009, 03:03 AM   #26
[Insta]-Loque
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep. 3rd, 2009
Posts: 8
Wow, these UT3 maps are more complexed to make than a fully fledged trance track with automation in Cubase 5

Great art dude!
__________________
[Insta]-Loque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2009, 09:52 PM   #27
Bazzwano
Hi, I'm Bryan
 
Bazzwano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooloola View Post
One quick question, what program are you using to generate the normal maps and the height maps? The materials look fan-****ing-tastic.
Hey Cooloola

There is more to it then just the program, In fact I'm using a combination of crazybump, and the nvidia normal map photoshop plugin for developers.

But what I'm doing before I generate a normal texture is in some cases boosting the contrast, or, in the case of my bricks, I painted the dark cracks in a new layer set with a blend mode of darken before generating the normal. After the normal was generated I turned this layer off when I saved my diffuse targa.
See it here. The first picture is my diffuse the second shows the darker lines I added before generating my normal.


Here's some other things I have been working on. A simple Pillar that incorporates my brick material.

This is a texture I'm working on which will be applied to my caves.


And below is what is going to be a old broken brick arch mesh. I am going to make this by modeling 4 high detail bricks and baking the detail into low poly versions before finally bending them to shape. I'm going to bend it once I have laid out my UVs, this way I can use the same texture for a strait version.


And here is a quick drawing I did at work to help me imagine where I was heading.


This final picture is by no means any part of my level, its merely a collection of meshes I made (excluding the lantern, I'm still making that) that I just add and put together in the engine to see how it looks in my lighting. but I thought I would show it anyway.
__________________

Whatever beat that drives the impulse, whatever tune that

carries through, What's in a soul that rattles empty, in this
reality too few Dark Tranquillity
member since April 07 + 600 posts
CTF-Safeguard3, CTF-Dreary3, CTF-Stratus (V1.2), CTF-Pipeline(WIP)
My Rig: CPU:C2D-E8500, GPU:GF-250GTS, RAM:4GB 6800C4, HDD: 2x 150gb WD Raptor, CASE: Mini Gigibyte MX

Last edited by Bazzwano; 20th Sep 2009 at 10:22 PM.
Bazzwano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2009, 11:06 PM   #28
SkaarjMaster
enemy of time
 
SkaarjMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 1st, 2000
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 4,675
Thumbs up

Good stuff! Can't wait for the final.
__________________

Insite Reviews: right here in the web archive
SkaarjMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Sep 2009, 01:54 PM   #29
cooloola
A good samaritan
 
cooloola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 31st, 2005
Posts: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bazzwano View Post
Hey Cooloola

There is more to it then just the program, In fact I'm using a combination of crazybump, and the nvidia normal map photoshop plugin for developers
Yeah, Crazybump is awesome I miss it
Keep up the great work on the map.
__________________
I am jumping on this bandwagon!
cooloola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Sep 2009, 03:23 PM   #30
acapulco
Registered User
 
acapulco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 6th, 2009
Posts: 29
Yer, following this on and on. Like what I'm seeing. What I am not seeing is the column. And those bricks are a bit to round.
Second thing is the colors in your map. Are you going to just give it colors over light?
acapulco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Sep 2009, 05:15 PM   #31
Mr. UglyPants
2007 never existed, it was all a dream.
 
Mr. UglyPants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 22nd, 2005
Location: Canada... eh
Posts: 1,985
Its looking terrific Bazz. Cannot wait. You should someday also think of making a Jailbreak map, or convert some of your maps to Jailbreak.
__________________
"Yes, BattleFront 2 looks cool. However, the ability to capture a command post is insignificant next to the power to capture an entire planet."



Mr. UglyPants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Sep 2009, 07:31 PM   #32
Bazzwano
Hi, I'm Bryan
 
Bazzwano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by acapulco View Post
Yer, following this on and on. Like what I'm seeing. What I am not seeing is the column. And those bricks are a bit to round.
Second thing is the colors in your map. Are you going to just give it colors over light?
Not entirely sure what you mean, but I will light my map as I always have, and IMO my bricks turned out just as I wanted them to. Thanks for your support man

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. UglyPants View Post
Its looking terrific Bazz. Cannot wait. You should someday also think of making a Jailbreak map, or convert some of your maps to Jailbreak.
Thanks Mr Pants haha and everyone else for there positive comments.

I will be posting the Pre-Alpha Layout so if anyone is keen they can have a run round and give me some comments.

In the meantime here's some more pictures of what I have been working on.
Here's the final of the brick Arch that I was making. I'm trying to keep it very modular so that I can use these pieces in many ways in the level.

And these pics are of a high poly version and a low poly version of a lantern that I am working on. Still needs allot of texture work. Edit, Just added the final as seen in the unreal engine.
__________________

Whatever beat that drives the impulse, whatever tune that

carries through, What's in a soul that rattles empty, in this
reality too few Dark Tranquillity
member since April 07 + 600 posts
CTF-Safeguard3, CTF-Dreary3, CTF-Stratus (V1.2), CTF-Pipeline(WIP)
My Rig: CPU:C2D-E8500, GPU:GF-250GTS, RAM:4GB 6800C4, HDD: 2x 150gb WD Raptor, CASE: Mini Gigibyte MX

Last edited by Bazzwano; 29th Sep 2009 at 04:37 AM.
Bazzwano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Sep 2009, 08:18 PM   #33
Darkdrium
20% Cooler
 
Darkdrium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 6th, 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 3,247
Shouldn't the strap on the lantern be lowered because of gravity? Unless the lamps will be suspended.
Darkdrium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Sep 2009, 08:34 PM   #34
Bazzwano
Hi, I'm Bryan
 
Bazzwano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkdrium View Post
Shouldn't the strap on the lantern be lowered because of gravity? Unless the lamps will be suspended.
It is on a small angle but that's how it would be in real life due to the hooks and the hole that its through being on an angle. This reference image shows what I mean. a lot of pictures on the net show these types of lanterns with there handles stuck up. I can easily change it if it looks a little weird, but I might be hanging some of these.
http://www.worldofstock.com/slides/PHI2823.jpg
__________________

Whatever beat that drives the impulse, whatever tune that

carries through, What's in a soul that rattles empty, in this
reality too few Dark Tranquillity
member since April 07 + 600 posts
CTF-Safeguard3, CTF-Dreary3, CTF-Stratus (V1.2), CTF-Pipeline(WIP)
My Rig: CPU:C2D-E8500, GPU:GF-250GTS, RAM:4GB 6800C4, HDD: 2x 150gb WD Raptor, CASE: Mini Gigibyte MX

Last edited by Bazzwano; 28th Sep 2009 at 02:12 AM.
Bazzwano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2009, 03:42 AM   #35
Bazzwano
Hi, I'm Bryan
 
Bazzwano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 604
Hi everyone How are we doing.

Sorry I have not posted In a while, I have found allot of fun playing Wipeout HD and things can also be pretty hectic when mates want to have a night on the town every second day :-s haha.

Anyway here is the latest. remember its all WIP and noting is final.

I have been making a set of Lights (another two) to share the texture space of the lantern, so I will use one material for all three to save on memory and performance. They use the same Light casing to save texture space too.



And here is a low poly wooden plank with only an ambient occlusion texture applied at this stage. Still got to do all the texture work.



Some industrial details. Yet to be renders and I'm going to add 3 models into the one texture map.



And Finally a set of Pipes I made one Monday. Started with a medium poly version in max, exported it out to mudbox, sculpted in some small details on to a high poly 2.5m Poly model. then finally baked the normal maps onto the Low poly versions you see there, yet to be textured.



LP version about 600 polys from memory.

Hope you find it interesting, if there are things you want me to post about the process let me know and ill do my best to add as much info as possible.
__________________

Whatever beat that drives the impulse, whatever tune that

carries through, What's in a soul that rattles empty, in this
reality too few Dark Tranquillity
member since April 07 + 600 posts
CTF-Safeguard3, CTF-Dreary3, CTF-Stratus (V1.2), CTF-Pipeline(WIP)
My Rig: CPU:C2D-E8500, GPU:GF-250GTS, RAM:4GB 6800C4, HDD: 2x 150gb WD Raptor, CASE: Mini Gigibyte MX

Last edited by Bazzwano; 20th Oct 2009 at 03:44 AM.
Bazzwano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2009, 03:51 AM   #36
Jetfire
Registered User
 
Jetfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 25th, 2005
Posts: 354
Bear in mind, before getting too happy with saving tex space by making multiple models share mats- physmats for surface impact decals/emitters/sounds- what would ya do if your wooden plank, the metal lamp frame, and the glass part of the lamps were all on the same material? ^_^
__________________

US
Jetfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2009, 04:00 AM   #37
Bazzwano
Hi, I'm Bryan
 
Bazzwano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 604
AHhh. haha good point. Lucky for me I have not mixed the type of physical materials. Ie wood on its own, metal on its own etc. didn't think about it, but out of simple organization I luckily didn't fall into that trap. thanks for letting me know though The light you see with the initial wood plank on the back will actually require two material IDs.
__________________

Whatever beat that drives the impulse, whatever tune that

carries through, What's in a soul that rattles empty, in this
reality too few Dark Tranquillity
member since April 07 + 600 posts
CTF-Safeguard3, CTF-Dreary3, CTF-Stratus (V1.2), CTF-Pipeline(WIP)
My Rig: CPU:C2D-E8500, GPU:GF-250GTS, RAM:4GB 6800C4, HDD: 2x 150gb WD Raptor, CASE: Mini Gigibyte MX

Last edited by Bazzwano; 20th Oct 2009 at 04:01 AM.
Bazzwano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2009, 07:46 AM   #38
SuperAlgae
Tritoxa incurva
 
SuperAlgae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 10th, 2005
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jetfire View Post
Bear in mind, before getting too happy with saving tex space by making multiple models share mats- physmats for surface impact decals/emitters/sounds- what would ya do if your wooden plank, the metal lamp frame, and the glass part of the lamps were all on the same material? ^_^
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bazzwano View Post
AHhh. haha good point. Lucky for me I have not mixed the type of physical materials.
Isn't it really the textures that use a lot of memory? I think you could make two materials using the same texture without using much extra memory.

________________________________________
Jesse (SuperAlgae) Banet
DM-HardFall .. download and screenshots
SuperAlgae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2009, 04:26 PM   #39
G.Lecter
Registered Tester
 
G.Lecter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 31st, 2004
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bazzwano View Post
This may sound a bit stupid from a non-architectural point of view, but arches never have an even number of pieces...

Anyway, stuff looks fantastic... Cant wait!
__________________
UT3: | JB-Makoy from UT3 Jailbreak | Grayscaled Loading Screens |
UT2004: | VCTF-Antropolis | CTF-Opposite | JB-Fragtion2 |

Tetrobot and Co: | The Companion Key! |
Portal 2: | Custom Maps |
Toki Tori: | Custom Maps |

Spanish Localizations: | Killing Floor |
G.Lecter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Oct 2009, 04:55 AM   #40
Bazzwano
Hi, I'm Bryan
 
Bazzwano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperAlgae View Post
Isn't it really the textures that use a lot of memory? I think you could make two materials using the same texture without using much extra memory.

________________________________________
Jesse (SuperAlgae) Banet
DM-HardFall .. download and screenshots
Yeah that's what I mean sorry, I was saying they dont have a texture yet because I'm going to bake 3 meshes into the one texture map.

Quote:
Originally Posted by G.Lecter View Post
This may sound a bit stupid from a non-architectural point of view, but arches never have an even number of pieces...

Anyway, stuff looks fantastic... Cant wait!
my reference would say otherwise but it is questionable.

http://img43.imageshack.us/img43/4994/famagusta.jpg

Thanks thought
__________________

Whatever beat that drives the impulse, whatever tune that

carries through, What's in a soul that rattles empty, in this
reality too few Dark Tranquillity
member since April 07 + 600 posts
CTF-Safeguard3, CTF-Dreary3, CTF-Stratus (V1.2), CTF-Pipeline(WIP)
My Rig: CPU:C2D-E8500, GPU:GF-250GTS, RAM:4GB 6800C4, HDD: 2x 150gb WD Raptor, CASE: Mini Gigibyte MX
Bazzwano is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer