News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10th Mar 2009, 10:15 AM   #1
xRaen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 10th, 2009
Posts: 2
Crashing when I try to "Play from Here"

After the Titan pack and the patch associated with that, I've had some major problems with the Editor. And by "problems" I mean problem, but it's a big enough pain in the ass that I'm counting it as multiple.

Basically, when I right click somewhere and try to "Play from Here", the Editor crashes (specifically, a message comes up saying it isn't responding). I'm not 100% sure if this also happens if I put a player start in the map and then try to play using the player start, but I'm guessing it does. I'll test when I get home this afternoon.

So does anybody have any idea what is causing this? I have all my drivers updated, and I've tried every fix I can think of, barring reinstalling (which I'd like to avoid, if possible).
xRaen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Mar 2009, 10:36 AM   #2
Jetfire
Registered User
 
Jetfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 25th, 2005
Posts: 354
Assuming you've tried deleting the editor's .ini's and your map has a proper gametype prefix, try going into the autosaves folder and deleting the uedpie saves.
__________________

US
Jetfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Mar 2009, 12:29 PM   #3
_N_
addicted to mapping
 
_N_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 23rd, 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 233
Something else to try is hitting the save button right before you try to play it (even if you just saved or even if it's a stock map where you "bumped" something (don't worry, the editor won't overwrite stock maps, it'll just save a separate copy somewhere).

So yeah, always hit 'save' before trying to playtest (even if you just started up and haven't even made changes!)
_N_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Mar 2009, 04:19 PM   #4
xRaen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 10th, 2009
Posts: 2
Interestingly enough, the saving thing worked! It turns out that, after I patched the game, I needed to open up my maps and re-save them in the patched editor. Who would have thought it would be that simple. Thanks for the help!
xRaen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Mar 2009, 05:06 AM   #5
Bazzwano
Hi, I'm Bryan
 
Bazzwano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 604
you will also need to update the cooker if you have not already, epic forgot to include this in the patch.. I have a thread here that includes the fix.
http://forums.beyondunreal.com/showthread.php?t=184133
Also be sure you do a full build before you go into game mode. Sometimes when you open the file then go to game mode before a build it crashes.
__________________

Whatever beat that drives the impulse, whatever tune that

carries through, What's in a soul that rattles empty, in this
reality too few Dark Tranquillity
member since April 07 + 600 posts
CTF-Safeguard3, CTF-Dreary3, CTF-Stratus (V1.2), CTF-Pipeline(WIP)
My Rig: CPU:C2D-E8500, GPU:GF-250GTS, RAM:4GB 6800C4, HDD: 2x 150gb WD Raptor, CASE: Mini Gigibyte MX
Bazzwano is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer