NewsUnrealEdFilesModsFragBULiandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Coding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 4th Mar 2009, 04:12 PM   #1
Gleedo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 23rd, 2008
Posts: 64
Question Create gametype sample..

Hi all, long time no see

Just getting back into UT2004/UT3 after a break playing CoD4

Anyways, ive been trawling the internet looking for any samples on how to start creating a new team based gametype. Anyone know of any good examples on this kind of thing.

I just need a pointer to help me on my way
Gleedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Mar 2009, 04:19 PM   #2
Angel_Mapper
Noblesse Oblige
 
Angel_Mapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 17th, 2001
Location: Cape Suzette
Posts: 3,529
There are a lot of great examples here: http://udn.epicgames.com/Files/UT3/M...Source_1.3.rar
Angel_Mapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Mar 2009, 05:03 PM   #3
DannyMeister
UT3 Jailbreak Coder
 
DannyMeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 11th, 2002
Location: Bolivar, Missouri
Posts: 1,205
Also, the UT3Dom team has released their source code for anyone to look at.
DannyMeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Mar 2009, 01:51 AM   #4
Gleedo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 23rd, 2008
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel_Mapper View Post
There are a lot of great examples here: http://udn.epicgames.com/Files/UT3/M...Source_1.3.rar
Thanks AM. Was looking for more of a guided walk-through of the basic steps, but i should be able to work most of it out from the default gametypes in the source i guess/hope
Gleedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Mar 2009, 01:51 AM   #5
Gleedo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 23rd, 2008
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by DannyMeister View Post
Also, the UT3Dom team has released their source code for anyone to look at.
Hi Danny, I did think about the Dom gametype last night. Will take a look and see what I can find out from their code - Thanks
Gleedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Mar 2009, 01:55 AM   #6
Angel_Mapper
Noblesse Oblige
 
Angel_Mapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 17th, 2001
Location: Cape Suzette
Posts: 3,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gleedo View Post
Thanks AM. Was looking for more of a guided walk-through of the basic steps, but i should be able to work most of it out from the default gametypes in the source i guess/hope
Well, you can literally make any type of game you want with the engine, so writing a tutorial for custom gametypes would either be too specific or too vague. Best to just think about what type of game you want to make, then think about the individual pieces that you'd need to make it work, then go from there.
Angel_Mapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Mar 2009, 06:43 AM   #7
Gleedo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 23rd, 2008
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel_Mapper View Post
Well, you can literally make any type of game you want with the engine, so writing a tutorial for custom gametypes would either be too specific or too vague. Best to just think about what type of game you want to make, then think about the individual pieces that you'd need to make it work, then go from there.
Of course, you are absolutely correct in that

I have a whole load of stuff written down and im happy that I can achieve quite a bit of it without much fuss, but having never created a gametype before leaves me with lots of unanswered questions...

I think I can use CTF bases in this gametype as a starting point, but Instead of having a blue team base and red team base, these bases will just be A and B. One team attacking either of those bases, the other team trying to defend them. I dont want my attacking team to carry a flag though, but an Orb instead (though a flag would still be ok).

Ive only done a bit of mutator coding previous to thinking about this project, so this may be way to ambitious....

I think I would benefit from having someone to work with (even if they have limited experience too), but we'll see

Congratulations on your mod (in the contest) btw
Gleedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Mar 2009, 04:45 PM   #8
Gleedo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 23rd, 2008
Posts: 64
OK, I cant use existing CTF maps, so will have to create custom maps for this gametype.

Now, I will still be using CTF bases. Because this game will switch sides at half time, both teams will have a go at attacking 2 "neutral" bases designated A and B. My question is, how does my gametype know which of the bases in the map are "neutral"?

Obviously i will create a test map and place 4 bases. 1 Red, 1 blue, and 2 neutral but I dont understand how to make my gametype know that...
Gleedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Mar 2009, 03:02 AM   #9
Gleedo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 23rd, 2008
Posts: 64
I have a compile error that I dont understand why its happening (despite the error description) or how to fix it....

I have created a basic class called UTSDBombSite which extends UTGameObjective the same as UTCTFBase does.

I then have a class called UTSDBombSite_Content which extends UTSDBombSite.

In UTSDBombSite_Content's defaultproperties, i have this:
Code:
defaultproperties
{
   Begin Object Class=AudioComponent Name=TakenSoundComponent ObjName=TakenSoundComponent Archetype=AudioComponent'Engine.Default__AudioComponent'
      SoundCue=SoundCue'A_Gameplay.CTF.Cue.A_Gameplay_CTF_FlagAlarm_Cue'
      Name="TakenSoundComponent"
      ObjectArchetype=AudioComponent'Engine.Default__AudioComponent'
   End Object
   TakenSound=TakenSoundComponent
   BaseExitTime=8.000000
   Begin Object StaticMeshComponent Name=StaticMeshComponent0 ObjName=StaticMeshComponent0 Archetype=StaticMeshComponent'Engine.Default__StaticMeshComponent'
      StaticMesh=StaticMesh'PICKUPS.Base_Flag.Mesh.S_Pickups_Base_Flag'
      CullDistance=7000.000000
      CachedCullDistance=7000.000000
      bUseAsOccluder=False
      CastShadow=False
      bForceDirectLightMap=True
      bCastDynamicShadow=False
      LightingChannels=(BSP=True,Static=True,Dynamic=True)
      CollideActors=False
      Translation=(X=0.000000,Y=0.000000,Z=-64.000000)
      Name="StaticMeshComponent0"
      ObjectArchetype=StaticMeshComponent'Engine.Default__StaticMeshComponent'
   End Object
   FlagBaseMesh=StaticMeshComponent0
   CTFAnnouncerMessagesClass=Class'UTGameContent.UTCTFMessage'
   bHasSensor=True
   IconCoords=(U=377.000000,V=438.000000,UL=45.000000,VL=44.000000)
   Begin Object CylinderComponent Name=CollisionCylinder ObjName=CollisionCylinder Archetype=CylinderComponent'UTGame.Default__UTCTFBase:CollisionCylinder'
      CollisionHeight=60.000000
      CollisionRadius=60.000000
      ObjectArchetype=CylinderComponent'UTGame.Default__UTCTFBase:CollisionCylinder'
   End Object
   CylinderComponent=CollisionCylinder
   GoodSprite=None
   BadSprite=None
   Begin Object Class=ArrowComponent Name=Arrow ObjName=Arrow Archetype=ArrowComponent'UTGame.Default__UTCTFBase:Arrow'
      ObjectArchetype=ArrowComponent'UTGame.Default__UTCTFBase:Arrow'
   End Object
   Components(0)=Arrow
   Components(1)=CollisionCylinder
   Begin Object Class=PathRenderingComponent Name=PathRenderer ObjName=PathRenderer Archetype=PathRenderingComponent'UTGame.Default__UTCTFBase:PathRenderer'
      ObjectArchetype=PathRenderingComponent'UTGame.Default__UTCTFBase:PathRenderer'
   End Object
   Components(2)=PathRenderer
   Begin Object Class=DynamicLightEnvironmentComponent Name=FlagBaseLightEnvironment ObjName=FlagBaseLightEnvironment Archetype=DynamicLightEnvironmentComponent'Engine.Default__DynamicLightEnvironmentComponent'
      bCastShadows=False
      bDynamic=False
      Name="FlagBaseLightEnvironment"
      ObjectArchetype=DynamicLightEnvironmentComponent'Engine.Default__DynamicLightEnvironmentComponent'
   End Object
   Components(3)=FlagBaseLightEnvironment
   Components(4)=StaticMeshComponent0
   RemoteRole=ROLE_SimulatedProxy
   bStatic=False
   bAlwaysRelevant=True
   CollisionComponent=CollisionCylinder
   Name="Default__UTSDBombSite_Content"
   ObjectArchetype=UTSDBombSite'UTGame.Default__UTSDBombSite'
}
When i compile, i get the following error:
Code:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Unreal Tournament 3\Development\Src\UTSearchAndDestroy\Classes\UTSDBombSite_Content.uc(13) : Error, BEGIN OBJECT: No base template named
StaticMeshComponent0 found in parent class UTSDBombSite:    Begin Object StaticMeshComponent Name=StaticMeshComponent0 ObjName=StaticMeshComponent0 Archetype=St
aticMeshComponent'Engine.Default__StaticMeshComponent'
So I looked at UTCTFBase as that was my template for UTSDBombSite, and that file has no reference to 'StaticMeshComponent0' either. Can someone explain whats going wrong....
Gleedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Mar 2009, 03:40 AM   #10
Angel_Mapper
Noblesse Oblige
 
Angel_Mapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 17th, 2001
Location: Cape Suzette
Posts: 3,529
Try it like this:
Code:
Begin Object Class=StaticMeshComponent Name=StaticMeshComponent0
You don't need the Archetype stuff, and you're missing the Class= in your line.
Angel_Mapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Mar 2009, 07:04 AM   #11
Gleedo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 23rd, 2008
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel_Mapper View Post
Try it like this:
Code:
Begin Object Class=StaticMeshComponent Name=StaticMeshComponent0
You don't need the Archetype stuff, and you're missing the Class= in your line.
Hi AM, the Class= is missing because when i had it there, the compiler said something about 'did you want to override...if so remove class=' etc.
Gleedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Mar 2009, 02:42 AM   #12
Gleedo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 23rd, 2008
Posts: 64
This may be a stupid question, but is it possible/ok to code against v1.3 scripts even when you have a 2.0 patched system?

Im having so many compile issues working against exported 2.0 scripts you see....its really pissing me off
Gleedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Mar 2009, 06:12 PM   #13
DannyMeister
UT3 Jailbreak Coder
 
DannyMeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 11th, 2002
Location: Bolivar, Missouri
Posts: 1,205
Most things work exactly as before. It would be a really good idea to re-export scripts now so you make sure you are seeing the latest code, though.

One other thing to remember when having tons of compile errors from stuff in your default properties is that the exported scripts really tend to mess them up. For a better example of how to do Objects in defaultproperties correctly, go download Epic's code from the UDN if you haven't already. The latest there is 1.3, but that is still better than trying to copy from anything you have exported.
DannyMeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Mar 2009, 08:21 AM   #14
Gleedo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 23rd, 2008
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by DannyMeister View Post
Go download Epic's code from the UDN if you haven't already. The latest there is 1.3, but that is still better than trying to copy from anything you have exported.
Hi Danny, the latest I could find on UDN was 1.2:
http://udn.epicgames.com/Three/UT3Mo...l#UnrealScript
Gleedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Mar 2009, 07:42 PM   #15
DannyMeister
UT3 Jailbreak Coder
 
DannyMeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 11th, 2002
Location: Bolivar, Missouri
Posts: 1,205
The link to 1.3 is at the top of the very first UT3 mods page. Further down, there is a link to "1.4" listed, but it doesn't work. Or you can follow angel mapper's link.
DannyMeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2009, 11:33 AM   #16
nawrot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 23rd, 2008
Posts: 81
I found some short sample:

Project_Explore
nawrot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Mar 2009, 02:48 AM   #17
Gleedo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 23rd, 2008
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by nawrot View Post
I found some short sample:

Project_Explore
Thanks for the link nawrot - its very, very helpful.

I have the ability to hack and tweak other mods, but not to write one from scratch, so that link is incredibly useful to me.

Im going to go right back to basics and use their dev guide to help me along my way
__________________
UT3 Search & Destroy Modding
  • Interested in working on a new MOD?
  • Do you have a map that would suite S&D or would like to design for S&D?
  • Join us at www.ut3searchanddestroy.com
All help more than welcome
Gleedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer