News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Original Unreal Tournament

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17th May 2009, 06:32 AM   #21
xvlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb. 11th, 2009
Posts: 59
I mean if I use the launcher my fps is stuck at 63/64 if I don't i can get around 150..not sure if I'm the only one like that..heres my direct3d

[D3D8Drv.D3D8RenderDevice]
ZRangeHack=False
NoAATiles=False
NumAASamples=0
UseAA=False
RequestHighResolutionZ=True
UseSoftwareVertexProcessing=False
UsePureDevice=False
UseTripleBuffering=False
MaskedTextureHack=False
SmoothMaskedTextures=False
FrameRateLimit=200
SwapInterval=0
UseVertexProgram=False
TexDXT1ToDXT3=False
DynamicTexIdRecycleLevel=100
CacheStaticMaps=False
UseTexPool=True
UseTexIdPool=True
UseSSE2=True
UseSSE=True
BufferTileQuads=True
BufferClippedActorTris=True
SinglePassDetail=False
SinglePassFog=False
ColorizeDetailTextures=False
DetailClipping=False
UseDetailAlpha=True
DetailMax=0
RefreshRate=0
MaxTMUnits=0
NoFiltering=False
MaxAnisotropy=0
Use565Textures=False
Use16BitTextures=False
UseS3TC=False
UseAlphaPalette=False
UseTrilinear=False
UsePrecache=False
UsePalette=False
UseMultiTexture=True
MaxLogTextureSize=8
MinLogTextureSize=0
MaxLogVOverU=8
MaxLogUOverV=8
OneXBlending=False
GammaCorrectScreenshots=True
GammaOffsetBlue=0.000000
GammaOffsetGreen=0.000000
GammaOffsetRed=0.000000
GammaOffset=0.000000
LODBias=0.000000
DetailTextures=False
DescFlags=0
Description=
HighDetailActors=True
Coronas=False
ShinySurfaces=False
VolumetricLighting=False
xvlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2009, 07:29 AM   #22
medor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 15th, 2009
Posts: 355
in your UT you have select d3d or d3d8 ?
__________________



Files for UT99 utfiles All new releases and updates are listed here All news
Most popular is UnrealTournament-V3 With over 8800 visits to date.It is an optimized UT99 to download.
medor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2009, 07:31 AM   #23
xvlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb. 11th, 2009
Posts: 59
d3d8, but i also tried it with everything else no matter what it doesnt go past 63/64
xvlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2009, 10:10 AM   #24
medor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 15th, 2009
Posts: 355
what is yours
[WinDrv.WindowsClient]
[XDrv.XClient]
[Engine.Player]

If you whant you can testing to this UT optimised http://unrealtournament.99.free.fr/u...rnament-V3.exe





--
__________________



Files for UT99 utfiles All new releases and updates are listed here All news
Most popular is UnrealTournament-V3 With over 8800 visits to date.It is an optimized UT99 to download.
medor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2009, 09:56 PM   #25
xvlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb. 11th, 2009
Posts: 59
Is that a whole reinstall of unreal tournament? Or what is that

edit - yeah it is, looks good ill try it later

Last edited by xvlin; 17th May 2009 at 11:06 PM.
xvlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2009, 03:56 AM   #26
apesgrapes
ambidextrous
 
apesgrapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 19th, 2001
Location: gaia
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkmedor View Post
If you whant you can testing to this UT optimised http://unrealtournament.99.free.fr/u...rnament-V3.exe

oooh thanks. i'm having some of that. just reinstalled goty and can't get above 60fps although it's 100% smooth and looks beautiful.
apesgrapes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2009, 06:19 AM   #27
medor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 15th, 2009
Posts: 355
__________________



Files for UT99 utfiles All new releases and updates are listed here All news
Most popular is UnrealTournament-V3 With over 8800 visits to date.It is an optimized UT99 to download.
medor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2009, 08:07 AM   #28
apesgrapes
ambidextrous
 
apesgrapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 19th, 2001
Location: gaia
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkmedor View Post
incredible!! a lovely smooth 180fps average with d3d9. that'll do me nicely.

thanks x infinity
apesgrapes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Feb 2010, 04:44 PM   #29
Psychomorph
 
Psychomorph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 21st, 2003
Location: Europe
Posts: 2,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDX View Post
hey, there is actually complete fix for this problem:
coding.hanfling.de/launch
What do I do with these? Readme says something about C++, and stuff.

@Crowze:
I did what you suggested in your list, no success. I don't know how to disable cool&quiet in RMClock (I scrolled through all the menues, no idea), didn't try the VSync thing (after hours of trying to solve the problem to tired lol).

My system is: AMD Turion 64 x2, GeForce 8400M G, Vista 32bit SP2, Notebook. I'm lost...

Last edited by Psychomorph; 13th Feb 2010 at 04:56 PM.
Psychomorph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Feb 2010, 11:13 AM   #30
SkaarjMaster
enemy of time
 
SkaarjMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 1st, 2000
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 4,680
There's got to be a fix somewhere, but AMD chips are a bit harder to fix for UT.
__________________

Insite Reviews: right here in the web archive
SkaarjMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Feb 2010, 11:39 AM   #31
medor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 15th, 2009
Posts: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkaarjMaster View Post
There's got to be a fix somewhere, but AMD chips are a bit harder to fix for UT.

http://support.amd.com/fr/psearch/Pa....aspx?type=2.1
__________________



Files for UT99 utfiles All new releases and updates are listed here All news
Most popular is UnrealTournament-V3 With over 8800 visits to date.It is an optimized UT99 to download.
medor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Feb 2010, 09:47 AM   #32
Psychomorph
 
Psychomorph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 21st, 2003
Location: Europe
Posts: 2,216
Do you guys know how to deactivate "Cool'n'Quiet" through RMclock, or another program? I have no option to handle C'n'Q via BIOS, so I guess I need a program.
Psychomorph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Feb 2010, 03:15 AM   #33
medor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 15th, 2009
Posts: 355
You don't have it in add remove prog ?

You can take you cd driver graphiquecard or mothercard if it a chipset graphique.
__________________



Files for UT99 utfiles All new releases and updates are listed here All news
Most popular is UnrealTournament-V3 With over 8800 visits to date.It is an optimized UT99 to download.
medor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2010, 03:11 AM   #34
Crowze
Bird Brain
 
Join Date: Feb. 6th, 2002
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 3,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psychomorph View Post
Do you guys know how to deactivate "Cool'n'Quiet" through RMclock, or another program? I have no option to handle C'n'Q via BIOS, so I guess I need a program.
I've not tried RMClock since XP so can't say how well it works in Vista. You could try editing the Windows power profile to set the minimum processor speed to maximum:
  1. Go to Control Panel > Power Options
  2. Select the 'High Performance' plan or create a new one
  3. Click on 'change plan settings' then 'change advanced power settings'
  4. Expand 'Processor power management', look for an option like 'Min CPU frequency', and set it to 100%
Now you can simply select the 'high performance' power profile when you want to play UT. Can't say how effective it is since I disable SpeedStep in the BIOS, but it's worth a try.
__________________

Infiltration | Sentry Studios
Crowze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Mar 2010, 06:08 PM   #35
Psychomorph
 
Psychomorph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 21st, 2003
Location: Europe
Posts: 2,216
@Crowze:
I did that and no luck. Did the high performance thing, too.

It is suggested to set affinity to one core when running UT. Whenever I set it to one core, or keep both, I see absolutely no difference in performance. It seems no matter what I do, it has zero effect.

Psychomorph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Aug 2010, 06:41 AM   #36
Adelheid
Bernstein
 
Adelheid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 23rd, 2008
Location: Nowhere.
Posts: 1,027
As you can see here: http://forums.beyondunreal.com/showthread.php?t=193149 I've been having some problems with UT.

Current situation.
The only thing that is fixed is that now UT will run in fullscreen rather than windowed mode.
It still only works in System mode, it has the same problem with D3D8 that it does with d3d, and all openGL does is produce the coolest graphics errors I've ever seen.

I have:
Nvidia Geforce4 Ti 4200
64MB
The drivers for which date back to 2002, version 6.13.0010.2958. Could that be the problem?

And:
AMD Athlon 64 Processor, 3200+, 2.2ghz...
__________________
"So, it's defeat for you, is it? Someday I must meet a similar fate..."
Adelheid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Aug 2010, 07:04 AM   #37
IronMonkey
Moi?
 
IronMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 23rd, 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Stephen Falken View Post
I have:
Nvidia Geforce4 Ti 4200
64MB
The drivers for which date back to 2002, version 6.13.0010.2958. Could that be the problem?
It would be a good place to start.

The latest GF4 driver that I can see is:

ForceWare Release 90 Version: 93.71 Release Date: 2.11.2006 Operating System: Windows XP/2000 32-bit

Also, with "only" 64MB RAM on the card, I'd be inclined to give S3TC a miss and stick with the stock textures.
__________________
IronMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2010, 05:08 AM   #38
Adelheid
Bernstein
 
Adelheid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 23rd, 2008
Location: Nowhere.
Posts: 1,027
Kewl, will try that this evening.
I couldn't install them even if I wanted to; Umods have fallen out with me for some reason and I don't seem to have the same kind of XP as the person who wrote this:

Quote:
It seems that .umod files haven't been associated with the right program yet. Open the explorer, go to View, Folder Options... and then to the 'File types' tab. Press the 'New type' button. Fill the fields this way:

* Description: Unreal Module
* Associated extension: umod
* Content type: leave it empty. If windows starts to complain, set it to unknown/unknown.

Now press the 'New' button. In this dialog, type this:

* Action: &Install this module
* Application used...: C:\Games\UnrealTournament\System\Setup.exe install "%1"

Replace 'C:\Games\UnrealTournament' with your UT directory. Now press 'Ok' two times, and you're done!
...because I don't have any of those options.
__________________
"So, it's defeat for you, is it? Someday I must meet a similar fate..."
Adelheid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2010, 11:52 AM   #39
GreatEmerald
Khnumhotep
 
GreatEmerald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 4,042
Yea, with Windows Vista/7 they just outright disabled that. You'll have to use a RegFix to get your modules back up and working.
GreatEmerald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2010, 12:48 PM   #40
SkaarjMaster
enemy of time
 
SkaarjMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 1st, 2000
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 4,680
Lightbulb

Is that the driver that people say online works best with your video card? If it helps at all, I have UT installed on my Win98SE machine still and it has a Ti4400 in it, so I'll check what drivers it is using. I'm pretty sure I'm using whatever still worked well with UT. Maybe it's just a matter of updating drivers.

For umods, you'll have to modify the file associations somewhat to get it to work or maybe add an association. I'm still using XP on my latest UT install, so let me know if you need to know about this.
__________________

Insite Reviews: right here in the web archive
SkaarjMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer