NewsUnrealEdFilesModsFragBULiandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > News & Articles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21st Jun 2008, 02:31 PM   #21
Mr. UglyPants
2007 never existed, it was all a dream.
 
Mr. UglyPants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 22nd, 2005
Location: Canada... eh
Posts: 1,985
Ah, so its a activation, thats cool. Guess i gotta wait for my 8800GTX. Anyone know when that would be?
__________________
"Yes, BattleFront 2 looks cool. However, the ability to capture a command post is insignificant next to the power to capture an entire planet."



Mr. UglyPants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jun 2008, 03:07 PM   #22
«:MX:»MadSniper
I didn't survive SuperCrash '08: The BuF
 
Join Date: Jan. 22nd, 2008
Location: I live where I live.
Posts: 21
I'm pretty sure it'll be a few months, but it should happen. No reason to start doubting Nvidia now amirite?

Sidenote: Hey, UglyPants, see you've been on Eve. You playing trial or have a full account? And what race are you?
«:MX:»MadSniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jun 2008, 03:28 PM   #23
Mr. UglyPants
2007 never existed, it was all a dream.
 
Mr. UglyPants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 22nd, 2005
Location: Canada... eh
Posts: 1,985
Alright.. that'll be pretty awesome when it happens...

Sidenote: ya, the trail... dunno if i'm gonna keep going afterwerds... its kind of boring. Like it seems the best if to just wait for those storydriven missions to pop up and just do agent missions til they give u an amazing high paying one (which i refused, since my frigate was 4 jumps away... still trying to get that mission), i'm that bastardic military race Calandri. Couldn't stand being a religious zealot nor ex slaves or a democratic ppl.
__________________
"Yes, BattleFront 2 looks cool. However, the ability to capture a command post is insignificant next to the power to capture an entire planet."



Mr. UglyPants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jun 2008, 03:38 PM   #24
«:MX:»MadSniper
I didn't survive SuperCrash '08: The BuF
 
Join Date: Jan. 22nd, 2008
Location: I live where I live.
Posts: 21
Yeah, I'm Caldari too, this is my second trial account (i made one a hell of a long time ago) and I'm making quite a load off mining, it's boring too if it's not your mindset. But I'm going to purchase an extension.
«:MX:»MadSniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jun 2008, 04:22 PM   #25
dragonfliet
I write stuffs
 
dragonfliet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 24th, 2006
Posts: 3,717
Using your GPU for physics is going to hurt your framerates, just so you know, unless you're talking about a CPU intensive game. This means that games like UT3 and Crysis, etc. would see a decline in FPS by moving physics rendering from the CPU to the GPU as the GPU is already maxed as it is.

~Jason
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister_Prophet View Post

WW1 I think it was more like "Hey allies! We'll lend you a hand" and Europe was like, "Pfff, whatever. Okay, like stand over there and do stuff", and America was all like, "Oh really!? You mean it! Oh Boy!", and after awhile the European allies were like, "Hey they're actually not bad. Fair play to the Yanks" and the French Allies were like, "Oh wee wee, they held their own", and the Americans were like, "Hey, what did you say France?" and France was all like, "Nothing. Go **** yourself."
dragonfliet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jun 2008, 04:33 PM   #26
Zur
surrealistic mad cow
 
Zur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 8th, 2002
Posts: 11,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. UglyPants View Post
Why did we need that Azura?
Let's get physical ?
__________________

Zur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jun 2008, 05:25 PM   #27
Dark Pulse
Dolla, Dolla. Holla, Holla.
 
Dark Pulse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 12th, 2004
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 6,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonfliet View Post
Using your GPU for physics is going to hurt your framerates, just so you know, unless you're talking about a CPU intensive game. This means that games like UT3 and Crysis, etc. would see a decline in FPS by moving physics rendering from the CPU to the GPU as the GPU is already maxed as it is.

~Jason
Let's wait for the benchmarks before we jump to conclusions, shall we?
__________________





Dark Pulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jun 2008, 06:32 PM   #28
evilmrfrank
Banned
 
evilmrfrank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 22nd, 2005
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 1,631
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonfliet View Post
Using your GPU for physics is going to hurt your framerates, just so you know, unless you're talking about a CPU intensive game. This means that games like UT3 and Crysis, etc. would see a decline in FPS by moving physics rendering from the CPU to the GPU as the GPU is already maxed as it is.

~Jason
Looking things up everyone is seeing some pretty big performance gains on games like crysis. From what I'm seeing everyones scores also jumped from 11k on 3d mark to over 40k for the cpu tests.
__________________
www.evilmrfrank.com

-----------------------
evilmrfrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jun 2008, 07:41 PM   #29
Jonathan
Registered User
 
Jonathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 19th, 2006
Posts: 542
Most people that have a highend 8-series or ATI equivalent will be bottlenecked by their CPU unless they have a faster Core 2 Duo or Core 2 Quad processor.

My e6400 Core 2 Duo@3.4ghz was bottlenecking my 8800gtx on UE3 games, the Q6600 solved that though.
Jonathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jun 2008, 10:07 PM   #30
«:MX:»MadSniper
I didn't survive SuperCrash '08: The BuF
 
Join Date: Jan. 22nd, 2008
Location: I live where I live.
Posts: 21
Core 2 Duo, my friend - 3.4 Ghz as well.

That's aside the point....
«:MX:»MadSniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jun 2008, 10:08 PM   #31
Quaglax
May the funk be with you...
 
Quaglax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 25th, 2006
Location: ATL
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. UglyPants View Post
Alright.. that'll be pretty awesome when it happens...

Sidenote: ya, the trail... dunno if i'm gonna keep going afterwerds... its kind of boring. Like it seems the best if to just wait for those storydriven missions to pop up and just do agent missions til they give u an amazing high paying one (which i refused, since my frigate was 4 jumps away... still trying to get that mission), i'm that bastardic military race Calandri. Couldn't stand being a religious zealot nor ex slaves or a democratic ppl.
So your playing good old EvE Online huh? Sweet! I have one character that I've been playing for about 2 years and I just made my second character a week ago. Im of Minmatar decent and a member of Atlas Alliance.

The game is hardly boring...its what you make of it. There is WAY more to it than just running missions or mining. Yes thats a money maker but so is ratting out in 0.0..also if you live in the drone regions of 0.0 they supply you with hella ore so no more buying ships...just have the alliance build them You can pirate and ransom people at gates and make money that way, etc. etc. Think OUTSIDE the box...eve is a very very hard and deep game. Im still learning things and I've been playing for 2 years!

Dont give up on it....
Quaglax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jun 2008, 10:57 PM   #32
«:MX:»MadSniper
I didn't survive SuperCrash '08: The BuF
 
Join Date: Jan. 22nd, 2008
Location: I live where I live.
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaglax View Post
So your playing good old EvE Online huh? Sweet! I have one character that I've been playing for about 2 years and I just made my second character a week ago. Im of Minmatar decent and a member of Atlas Alliance.

The game is hardly boring...its what you make of it. There is WAY more to it than just running missions or mining. Yes thats a money maker but so is ratting out in 0.0..also if you live in the drone regions of 0.0 they supply you with hella ore so no more buying ships...just have the alliance build them You can pirate and ransom people at gates and make money that way, etc. etc. Think OUTSIDE the box...eve is a very very hard and deep game. Im still learning things and I've been playing for 2 years!

Dont give up on it....
Thank you! Eve Rocks! (I'm a hardcore miner - when I renew my account, I'm learning Industrial for my Caldari Badger... right now I'm using a a Cormorant for multi-tasking)
«:MX:»MadSniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Jun 2008, 12:31 AM   #33
Quaglax
May the funk be with you...
 
Quaglax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 25th, 2006
Location: ATL
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by «:MX:»MadSniper View Post
Thank you! Eve Rocks! (I'm a hardcore miner - when I renew my account, I'm learning Industrial for my Caldari Badger... right now I'm using a a Cormorant for multi-tasking)
My new character is Caldari. I'm gonna gear him more towards an industrialist/money maker to fund my main's pvp actvities ^_^ The game takes off man...at first it might be boring or you might get that "what do I do next" feeling. Join a corp...then join an alliance...it gets CRAZY when you have 6 alliances fighting 4 week long wars over territory thats rich with resources. It takes miners like you to fund the wars...cause without ships, modules and ammo...you cant do much :P

As you probably know everything on the market is playing created and sold. So there are people getting hella rich of Battleships that cost 150 mil a pop...also the best way to fly capital ships (if you were wanting to do that one day) is to build them. They cost way too much to buy off the market.

I can go on and on about how rich and complex Eve is but I cant type that much. You got any questions about anything so far? Add me to your address book in-game and contact me. If Im on I can help you out

My main's name is: Mattikus
Alt's name: Sig Tigh (Im on him a lot lately so look out for him)
Quaglax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Jun 2008, 10:16 AM   #34
J3FF
teH SEXiest man alive!
 
J3FF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 23rd, 2008
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilmrfrank View Post
Looking things up everyone is seeing some pretty big performance gains on games like crysis. From what I'm seeing everyones scores also jumped from 11k on 3d mark to over 40k for the cpu tests.
Nope, that wont help on Crysis!
It only works for games that already or will support the PhysX-additions like Unreal Tournament 3. But it won't give you more FPS on the normal maps, it will only allow you to play the special PhysX maps (the mappack) with decent frame rates. Without the PhysX-Implementations in the driver or the PhysX-Cards it would run on ~5fps.
__________________
Bier a.k.a Chief-Justice a.k.a J3FF
~ addicted to UT since 1999 ~
Quote:
Games should be about having a good time, amusing yourself, and trash talking with your friends.
Kevin Bowen (GameSpy.com)
J3FF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jun 2008, 07:22 AM   #35
Plutonia_Experi
Registered User
 
Plutonia_Experi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 28th, 2008
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derdak2rot View Post
8800 GTS 320/640 /8800 GTX -- G80 ---> not yet compatible
8800 GT/GTS 512 , 9800 GTX -- G92 ---> compatible

works here on my system win xp/dx9c .

i got serious boost with that driver on my GTS 512 , no more stuttering on GOW , and physx supported

if you have a G92 chip , download the 177.39 drivers , unzip it in a folder and replace the NVdisp.inf with the one attached to this post .. then install the drivers.
install then Ageia physx system drivers , 8.04.25 and the latest 8.06.12 ( google is your friend )

physx enabled on geforce
After I've installed my GTS 8800 512 (g92) I've found in the program menu the "control panel" of the PhysX. Does that mean I'm already using it (I don't think so), or that installing the new drivers I will get the PhysX right now?
In any case, what games do actually use the PhysX... UT3 only in a dedicated mappack?
Plutonia_Experi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jun 2008, 12:45 PM   #36
Derdak2rot
DVD2r
 
Derdak2rot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 8th, 2005
Location: France
Posts: 321
you have probabley the physx drivers installed already , but download the last one version , this one features the activation of geforce physx ( added to the last nvidia drivers ) to be activated fully

there is plenty of games that support it , and its not only physx related map , it also discharge the processor of some work , like fluid ect .. so you can notice in some games ( some that dont use physx at all ) some better perfomance ( i noticed that perf on GOW , UT3 , GTA-SA and some other )

here the list of games that include physx support :

http://www.nzone.com/object/nzone_physxgames_home.html
Attached Images
File Type: jpg geforce physx enabled.jpg (25.8 KB, 38 views)

Last edited by Derdak2rot; 23rd Jun 2008 at 12:55 PM.
Derdak2rot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jun 2008, 12:46 PM   #37
evilmrfrank
Banned
 
evilmrfrank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 22nd, 2005
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 1,631
Quote:
Originally Posted by J3FF View Post
Nope, that wont help on Crysis!
It only works for games that already or will support the PhysX-additions like Unreal Tournament 3. But it won't give you more FPS on the normal maps, it will only allow you to play the special PhysX maps (the mappack) with decent frame rates. Without the PhysX-Implementations in the driver or the PhysX-Cards it would run on ~5fps.
I'm not guessing it will I'm saying people are reporting a lot better fps in a lot of games.
__________________
www.evilmrfrank.com

-----------------------
evilmrfrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jun 2008, 02:48 PM   #38
Grobut
Комиссар Гробут
 
Join Date: Oct. 27th, 2004
Location: Soviet Denmark
Posts: 1,824
If we are really really lucky, this one will also make ut2k4 work on the 8 series like they promised.. but we really have to be lucky.
__________________
Grobut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jun 2008, 05:35 PM   #39
GG-Xtreme
You are a pirate!
 
GG-Xtreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 12th, 2008
Posts: 332
I'm guessing the GTX 280 release was too disappointing to deserve a news thread? lol
GG-Xtreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jun 2008, 07:06 AM   #40
Plutonia_Experi
Registered User
 
Plutonia_Experi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 28th, 2008
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derdak2rot View Post
you have probabley the physx drivers installed already , but download the last one version , this one features the activation of geforce physx ( added to the last nvidia drivers ) to be activated fully

there is plenty of games that support it , and its not only physx related map , it also discharge the processor of some work , like fluid ect .. so you can notice in some games ( some that dont use physx at all ) some better perfomance ( i noticed that perf on GOW , UT3 , GTA-SA and some other )

here the list of games that include physx support :

http://www.nzone.com/object/nzone_physxgames_home.html

Thank you, but is the GTS 8800 512 supported already, right now, or I have to wait until the relevant driver?
From the article And NVIDIA says it will gradually roll out PhysX support to the full GeForce 8/9 line. so it looks like I'll have to wait.


Grobut, the problem with UT2004 of the 8800 has been fixed a couple of weeks ago.
Plutonia_Experi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nvidia, physx

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer