NewsUnrealEdFilesModsFragBULiandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Unreal Tournament 2003/2004

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18th Jun 2008, 04:39 PM   #1
«:MX:»MadSniper
I didn't survive SuperCrash '08: The BuF
 
Join Date: Jan. 22nd, 2008
Location: I live where I live.
Posts: 21
New Strange Error, Please look at this.

UT2004 Build UT2004_Build_[2005-11-23_16.22]

OS: Windows XP 5.1 (Build: 2600)
CPU: GenuineIntel Unknown processor @ 3401 MHz with 2047MB RAM
Video: NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS (6944)

General protection fault!

History: ULinkerLoad::Serialize <- TArray<< <- UStaticMesh::Serialize <- LoadObject <- (StaticMesh XGame_StaticMeshes.GameObjects.teleporter-proc 248127==248127/1345282 212594 183190) <- ULinkerLoad::Preload <- PreLoadObjects <- UObject::EndLoad <- UObject::StaticLoadObject <- (Engine.Level None.MyLevel DM-Deck17) <- LoadLevel <- UGameEngine::LoadMap <- LocalMapURL <- UGameEngine::Browse <- ClientTravel <- UGameEngine::Tick <- UpdateWorld <- MainLoop <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Realloc <- 10910191 0 FArray <- FArray::Realloc <- 0*2 <- FMallocWindows::Free


So here's the story.

I tried to enable WebAdmin for a listen server (bad idea XS), then when I connected that's what came up (or incredibly similar), BUT even after disabling, all that works now is for me to click on Assault as a game type in anything - Hosting and Instant Action. All other gametypes upon clicking start this error. Anyone heard of this before? I think I had this problem in the past and fixed it by generating a new UT2004.ini, but I don't want to do that again because I have many gametypes that I don't feel like fixing up again.

So, any ideas? Please respond.
«:MX:»MadSniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jun 2008, 05:20 PM   #2
Fayko
Registered User
 
Fayko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 24th, 2008
Location: Hyrule
Posts: 42
Ive had this problem and many like this before. I fixed it by reinstalling but im sure theres some1 here who could give a better way to fix
Fayko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jun 2008, 05:40 PM   #3
zynthetic
robot!
 
zynthetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 12th, 2001
Posts: 2,945
Generating a new ini is a better solution to the staple reinstall-Windows-App based solution. Try looking through the log to see if this narrows the problem down further.
__________________
zynthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jun 2008, 01:20 AM   #4
Wormbo
 
 
Wormbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 4th, 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,750
If INI reset doesn't help, I recommend restoring all packages mentioned in the crash message. Simply copy them from the UT2004 CD or DVD and use UCC Decompress (or elmuerte's TinyUZ2 tool) to unpack them.
__________________
Wormbo's UT/UT2004/UT3 mods | YouTube channel | PlanetJailbreak/JDN | Unreal Wiki | Liandri Archives
Everything you ever wanted to know about replication| UnrealScript security considerations
<elmuerte> you shouldn't do all-nighters, it's a waste of time and effort
<TNSe> nono
<TNSe> its always funny to find code a week later you dont even remember writing
<Pfhoenix> what's worse is when you have a Star Wars moment
<Pfhoenix> "Luke! I am your code!" "No! Impossible! It can't be!"
Wormbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jun 2008, 08:16 AM   #5
GreatEmerald
Khnumhotep
 
GreatEmerald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 4,042
Yea, see the log, error messages are handy only for debug. You can use Ctrl+C to copy the full error message without the need to rewrite BTW. And you can rename your INI and then see what's changed.
And Wormbo, what packages are mentioned there? I don't see a single one?
GreatEmerald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jun 2008, 08:35 AM   #6
Mr. Noodle
Bringer of Deadly Farts
 
Mr. Noodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 19th, 2008
Location: Ohio! In the USA!
Posts: 10
Hey, The same thing is happened and happening to me!

I updated my sound and video cards, but that didn't work. Chances are it will work for you
__________________


THIS!IS!MONKEY!
Mr. Noodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jun 2008, 08:48 AM   #7
Wormbo
 
 
Wormbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 4th, 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,750
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreatEmerald View Post
And Wormbo, what packages are mentioned there? I don't see a single one?
These:
Quote:
Originally Posted by «:MX:»MadSniper View Post
History: ULinkerLoad::Serialize <- TArray<< <- UStaticMesh::Serialize <- LoadObject <- (StaticMesh XGame_StaticMeshes.GameObjects.teleporter-proc 248127==248127/1345282 212594 183190) <- ULinkerLoad::Preload <- PreLoadObjects <- UObject::EndLoad <- UObject::StaticLoadObject <- (Engine.Level None.MyLevel DM-Deck17) <- LoadLevel <- UGameEngine::LoadMap <- LocalMapURL <- UGameEngine::Browse <- ClientTravel <- UGameEngine::Tick <- UpdateWorld <- MainLoop <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Realloc <- 10910191 0 FArray <- FArray::Realloc <- 0*2 <- FMallocWindows::Free
I'd start by restoring XGame_StaticMeshes(.usx, I guess) from the game disk.
__________________
Wormbo's UT/UT2004/UT3 mods | YouTube channel | PlanetJailbreak/JDN | Unreal Wiki | Liandri Archives
Everything you ever wanted to know about replication| UnrealScript security considerations
<elmuerte> you shouldn't do all-nighters, it's a waste of time and effort
<TNSe> nono
<TNSe> its always funny to find code a week later you dont even remember writing
<Pfhoenix> what's worse is when you have a Star Wars moment
<Pfhoenix> "Luke! I am your code!" "No! Impossible! It can't be!"

Last edited by Wormbo; 20th Jun 2008 at 08:49 AM. Reason: disabled smilies
Wormbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jun 2008, 09:34 PM   #8
«:MX:»MadSniper
I didn't survive SuperCrash '08: The BuF
 
Join Date: Jan. 22nd, 2008
Location: I live where I live.
Posts: 21
Thanks for your help Wormbo. I will attempt to restore the package when I find the time.

I do small-time mapping for my self and MercX, but I never save packages I change unless I know it's a tex package. Is it possible I may have screwed up by accidentally saving a package?

(Also, I get a similar error when I just click on a game mode when selecting what I want to play. Let me go generate that log.)
«:MX:»MadSniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jun 2008, 09:42 PM   #9
«:MX:»MadSniper
I didn't survive SuperCrash '08: The BuF
 
Join Date: Jan. 22nd, 2008
Location: I live where I live.
Posts: 21
UT2004 Build UT2004_Build_[2005-11-23_16.22]

OS: Windows XP 5.1 (Build: 2600)
CPU: GenuineIntel Unknown processor @ 3400 MHz with 2047MB RAM
Video: NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS (6944)

General protection fault!

History: Sort <- UObject::execDelegateFunction <- (UT2K4Tab_GameTypeMP Package.UT2K4Tab_GameTypeMP @ Function GUI2K4.UT2K4Tab_GameTypeBase.InternalOnChange : 00C7) <- UObject::execDelegateFunction <- (GUIListBox Package.GUIListBox @ Function XInterface.GUIListBox.InternalOnChange : 002A) <- UObject::execDelegateFunction <- (GUIList Package.GUIList @ Function XInterface.GUIListBase.IndexChanged : 0018) <- UObject::ProcessEvent <- (GUIListBox Package.GUIListBox, Function XInterface.GUIListBox.InternalOnClick) <- UObject::ProcessDelegate <- UGUIComponent::MouseReleased <- (GUIList Package.GUIList) <- UGUIController::MouseReleased <- UGUIController::NativeKeyEvent::LeftMouseClick <- UGUIController::NativeKeyEvent <- UInteractionMaster::MasterProcessKeyEvent <- UEngine::InputEvent <- UWindowsViewport::CauseInputEvent <- UWindowsViewport::UpdateInput <- UViewport::ReadInput <- APlayerController::Tick <- TickAllActors <- ULevel::Tick <- (NetMode=0) <- TickLevel <- UGameEngine::Tick <- Level Untitled <- UpdateWorld <- MainLoop <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Realloc <- 10910191 0 FArray <- FArray::Realloc <- 0*2 <- FMallocWindows::Free

(This looks like Xinterface?)
Start Game - Host Game - Deathmatch - (crash)
«:MX:»MadSniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jun 2008, 02:13 AM   #10
Wormbo
 
 
Wormbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 4th, 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,750
I think you should consider a complete reinstall. Stuff like that can't crash under normal circumstances.
__________________
Wormbo's UT/UT2004/UT3 mods | YouTube channel | PlanetJailbreak/JDN | Unreal Wiki | Liandri Archives
Everything you ever wanted to know about replication| UnrealScript security considerations
<elmuerte> you shouldn't do all-nighters, it's a waste of time and effort
<TNSe> nono
<TNSe> its always funny to find code a week later you dont even remember writing
<Pfhoenix> what's worse is when you have a Star Wars moment
<Pfhoenix> "Luke! I am your code!" "No! Impossible! It can't be!"
Wormbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jun 2008, 02:32 AM   #11
«:MX:»MadSniper
I didn't survive SuperCrash '08: The BuF
 
Join Date: Jan. 22nd, 2008
Location: I live where I live.
Posts: 21
Drat, this is what I feared. (Although I did not replace the INI. Doing so [im sure] would fix it.) Thanks anyway Wormbo, been great to have a positive conversation for once
«:MX:»MadSniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jun 2008, 03:15 AM   #12
GreatEmerald
Khnumhotep
 
GreatEmerald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 4,042
Like I've said, rename the UT2004.ini to UT2004.ini.txt and User.ini to User.ini.txt, generate a new one and see what changes.
GreatEmerald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jun 2008, 03:23 AM   #13
«:MX:»MadSniper
I didn't survive SuperCrash '08: The BuF
 
Join Date: Jan. 22nd, 2008
Location: I live where I live.
Posts: 21
Righto Emerald... gonna sleep tonight and I'll do that tomorrow since I might have some time to frag! XD

Thanks GE.
«:MX:»MadSniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer