News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > News & Articles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20th Mar 2008, 05:18 PM   #1
_Lynx
Strategic Military Services
 
_Lynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 5th, 2003
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 1,925
New UT3 PS3 Mod Tools Now Available To Modmakers.

Jeff Morris just announced that new UT3 PS3 Mod Tools patch is available to modmakers.
Quote:
These tools enables the cooking of PC mods for use on the PS3. It is not a patch for UT3 and does not include any of the previous patch fixes nor any new fixes. This version supports the recently released v1.10 PS3 patch. It requires that patch 1.2 be installed.
__________________
_Lynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2008, 05:25 PM   #2
TheSpoonDog
CBP3! Yarrr!
 
TheSpoonDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 1st, 2001
Location: NZ
Posts: 2,590
link?
TheSpoonDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2008, 05:31 PM   #3
UBerserker
old EPIC GAMES
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Posts: 4,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSpoonDog View Post
link?
http://download.beyondunreal.com/fil...odtools2.1.exe
__________________
UnrealSP.org Staff Member
UBerserker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2008, 05:42 PM   #4
TheSpoonDog
CBP3! Yarrr!
 
TheSpoonDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 1st, 2001
Location: NZ
Posts: 2,590
thx
TheSpoonDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2008, 08:13 PM   #5
Anuban
Your reward is that you are still alive
 
Join Date: Apr. 4th, 2005
Posts: 1,094
Cool ... I was just talking/asking about this. Now we can cook the models for the PS3 correctly.

Edit: Is anyone else having problems with this. It said that it was installing the patch when I ran it and then I checked where the tool is and the date on the file is from January. So my UnrealFrontend tool has not been updated so what's the deal here? Has anyone gotten it to work?

Edit: How can you tell what version you have installed? I can't cook any models until this is resolved so please someone give me some assistance. Thanks.
__________________
"That's nothing, we have even had WarTourist (Jeff Morris, the man responsible for killing UT, ie, producer of UT3) coming here, and noting the people who had bad things to say about Epic/UT3, checking their profiles, then going back to the official Epic forums, checking for matches in user names and profiles, then banning those people, lol, what a man!!, what a Company!!!, what a Game!!!!"

- Cliify_A

Last edited by Anuban; 20th Mar 2008 at 09:23 PM.
Anuban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2008, 10:14 PM   #6
Alhanalem
Teammember on UT3JB Bangaa Bishop
 
Alhanalem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 21st, 2002
Location: Ivalice
Posts: 2,222
Why is the ps3 version at 1.10 already? they've had 10 patches in the time it took the PC to have two? Or is that a typo and it's supposed to be 1.1 ?
__________________


^click here to visit my dragons^ Canya put some bonus points in me drinkin' skill?
http://savage2.s2games.com
^ This is a really unique game, get it.
avatar (c)square enix

Last edited by Alhanalem; 20th Mar 2008 at 10:17 PM.
Alhanalem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2008, 10:31 PM   #7
Anuban
Your reward is that you are still alive
 
Join Date: Apr. 4th, 2005
Posts: 1,094
How does this darn thing install? How will I know if I am using the correct version? I need some answers please Epic. Don't ignore your customers please ... its not like there is a tech/customer support number I can call (which would be timely to say the least ... how many business software companies lack some kind of phone support ... now this is an aspect of gaming in general that needs to change but this is a topic for another thread).
__________________
"That's nothing, we have even had WarTourist (Jeff Morris, the man responsible for killing UT, ie, producer of UT3) coming here, and noting the people who had bad things to say about Epic/UT3, checking their profiles, then going back to the official Epic forums, checking for matches in user names and profiles, then banning those people, lol, what a man!!, what a Company!!!, what a Game!!!!"

- Cliify_A
Anuban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2008, 10:57 PM   #8
Alhanalem
Teammember on UT3JB Bangaa Bishop
 
Alhanalem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 21st, 2002
Location: Ivalice
Posts: 2,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anuban View Post
How does this darn thing install? How will I know if I am using the correct version? I need some answers please Epic. Don't ignore your customers please ... its not like there is a tech/customer support number I can call (which would be timely to say the least ... how many business software companies lack some kind of phone support ... now this is an aspect of gaming in general that needs to change but this is a topic for another thread).
Uh, I'm pretty sure there's only one other version of the tools, so if you already have them and haven't downloaded this, then you dont have them?
If you're talking about PS3 UT3, I'd assume that if you've patched your game it will show the version number on the main menu.
__________________


^click here to visit my dragons^ Canya put some bonus points in me drinkin' skill?
http://savage2.s2games.com
^ This is a really unique game, get it.
avatar (c)square enix
Alhanalem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2008, 12:24 AM   #9
Anuban
Your reward is that you are still alive
 
Join Date: Apr. 4th, 2005
Posts: 1,094
I'm not talking about the patch ... I'm talking about THIS tool that the thread is referring to. The one used for cooking mods with the PS3. There is an older version pre UT3 PS3 patch ... and now this new version for supporting the new things introduced in the patch (like the full character models being cooked for the PS3 ... head and all). How does this new cooking tool install correctly and how do I tell what the version of the tool is? The install program doesn't give me any indication that the program has been updated. Someone who knows the answers to these questions please give me some assistance. Thanks.
__________________
"That's nothing, we have even had WarTourist (Jeff Morris, the man responsible for killing UT, ie, producer of UT3) coming here, and noting the people who had bad things to say about Epic/UT3, checking their profiles, then going back to the official Epic forums, checking for matches in user names and profiles, then banning those people, lol, what a man!!, what a Company!!!, what a Game!!!!"

- Cliify_A
Anuban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2008, 12:53 AM   #10
Festering Anus
Cheeto Hans
 
Festering Anus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 16th, 2005
Location: Punch 100 babies to unlock the secret level
Posts: 2,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirTahngarth View Post
Why is the ps3 version at 1.10 already? they've had 10 patches in the time it took the PC to have two? Or is that a typo and it's supposed to be 1.1 ?
1.10 = 1.1
__________________
Festering Anus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2008, 01:46 AM   #11
fuegerstef
Registered User
 
fuegerstef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 7th, 2003
Location: KillingRoom
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fearless View Post
1.10 = 1.1
Amazing this board is, isn't it?
fuegerstef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2008, 02:12 AM   #12
Alhanalem
Teammember on UT3JB Bangaa Bishop
 
Alhanalem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 21st, 2002
Location: Ivalice
Posts: 2,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anuban View Post
I'm not talking about the patch ... I'm talking about THIS tool that the thread is referring to. The one used for cooking mods with the PS3. There is an older version pre UT3 PS3 patch ... and now this new version for supporting the new things introduced in the patch (like the full character models being cooked for the PS3 ... head and all). How does this new cooking tool install correctly and how do I tell what the version of the tool is? The install program doesn't give me any indication that the program has been updated. Someone who knows the answers to these questions please give me some assistance. Thanks.
You're really making this sound more complicated than it is. Only two versions of these tools exist. The initial release, and this new version released today. You don't need to be told they're different, they just are. If it makes you feel any better, uninstall the old version first. It installs correctly by... installing it? If you're having a problem installing it remove the old one first like I said. I dont think it truly needs to give any indications, if you clicked the right download link you should have the right file.
__________________


^click here to visit my dragons^ Canya put some bonus points in me drinkin' skill?
http://savage2.s2games.com
^ This is a really unique game, get it.
avatar (c)square enix

Last edited by Alhanalem; 21st Mar 2008 at 02:13 AM.
Alhanalem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2008, 04:25 AM   #13
elmuerte
Master of Science
 
elmuerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 25th, 2000
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 1,936
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fearless View Post
1.10 = 1.1
10 is binary for 2
1.10 = 1.2
elmuerte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2008, 07:00 AM   #14
Lruce Bee
Transcending to another level
 
Lruce Bee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 3rd, 2001
Location: Malta
Posts: 1,642
Haven't got UT3 but doesn't this stuf come with some sort of readme file?
If it doesn't then that's just sloppy.
Lruce Bee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2008, 07:41 AM   #15
SuperDre
Registered User
 
SuperDre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 6th, 2002
Location: Helmond.nl
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anuban View Post
How does this darn thing install? How will I know if I am using the correct version? I need some answers please Epic. Don't ignore your customers please ... its not like there is a tech/customer support number I can call (which would be timely to say the least ... how many business software companies lack some kind of phone support ... now this is an aspect of gaming in general that needs to change but this is a topic for another thread).
Well, actually if you are really (not even so seriously) into modding UT(3) you would have known there is a special mailinglist, has been for about every UT game.. google is your friend, or just a quick look at the UDN site http://udn.epicgames.com/Main/WebHome.html
or you could try the official unrealtournament forums..
SuperDre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2008, 01:53 PM   #16
Anuban
Your reward is that you are still alive
 
Join Date: Apr. 4th, 2005
Posts: 1,094
^^^ there shouldn't need to be a "special mailing list" ... but anyway I know how to get it working so the issue is now moot.
__________________
"That's nothing, we have even had WarTourist (Jeff Morris, the man responsible for killing UT, ie, producer of UT3) coming here, and noting the people who had bad things to say about Epic/UT3, checking their profiles, then going back to the official Epic forums, checking for matches in user names and profiles, then banning those people, lol, what a man!!, what a Company!!!, what a Game!!!!"

- Cliify_A
Anuban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2008, 08:56 PM   #17
Kharnellius
.
 
Kharnellius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 20th, 2002
Location: Chica Go
Posts: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmuerte View Post
10 is binary for 2
1.10 = 1.2
Fool. This is the third iteration of the playstation. Clearly, they are using trinary.

1.10 = 1.3 (in decimal)
__________________
- Missing the fine days of DA
- "I'm just curious...why am Iiii so good?
" - Wraith
Kharnellius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Mar 2008, 03:48 AM   #18
NeoNight
Lurker
 
NeoNight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 3rd, 2003
Posts: 403
So can people cook more complex mods now or mods with sound?
NeoNight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Mar 2008, 01:58 PM   #19
hal
Dictator
 
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1998
Location: ------->
Posts: 21,382
Sound is for n00bs.
__________________
hal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Mar 2008, 02:42 PM   #20
Mr. UglyPants
2007 never existed, it was all a dream.
 
Mr. UglyPants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 22nd, 2005
Location: Canada... eh
Posts: 1,985
Guess thats a big no.
__________________
"Yes, BattleFront 2 looks cool. However, the ability to capture a command post is insignificant next to the power to capture an entire planet."



Mr. UglyPants is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer