NewsUnrealEdFilesModsFragBULiandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14th Feb 2008, 05:59 PM   #1
Bill_Brooks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb. 11th, 2008
Posts: 70
Can you merge bsp brushs also a widget question

Just wondering if there is a way to merge bsp brushes into one brush in this case all the brushes are the same size in the z axis don't know if that matters with this engine or not. Here is a pic

I know I could add a brush then cut it to this shape hoping for a short cut.

Also how do you move the widget to a different starting point.
I have this terrain in a starter map the widget is along ways away from the corner of the terrain in the z axis its a real pain locking the widget moving it to the corner of the terrain mesh then unlocking it just to move the terrain a little. Then if for some reason I have to move the terrain again after selecting something else when I reselect the terrain the widget is again way up on the z axis. There must be some way to reset the starting point of the widget to a actor. I feel like such a noob thats alright this is part of the fun for me.
Bill_Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2008, 06:27 PM   #2
sWs»Cheapshot
Registered User
 
sWs»Cheapshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Posts: 236
Right Click the box and use the weld function to join. Stage6 has the 3DBuzz video tutorials on geometry editing... they go into detail on how to edit geometry pretty well.

As far as the widget goes... I usually just right click where I want to move from... Choose > Pivot > move from here.

Wouldn't matter where the widget is at that point
sWs»Cheapshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2008, 07:01 PM   #3
Bill_Brooks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb. 11th, 2008
Posts: 70
Thanks for the reply I can't seem to find a weld function.
Do you have a link to the tutorial that you are talking about?
Bill_Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2008, 07:31 PM   #4
Bazzwano
Hi, I'm Bryan
 
Bazzwano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 604
i would have made that brush by clipping to avoind the lines down the brush which will create a multiple material surfaces on that bush which can make lighting messy

incase you carnt find this, click the brush then use the geomatry tool and bring up the options pannal on the geomatry tool, click the mode that makes the brush white with red bots, then press clip in the options
__________________

Whatever beat that drives the impulse, whatever tune that

carries through, What's in a soul that rattles empty, in this
reality too few Dark Tranquillity
member since April 07 + 600 posts
CTF-Safeguard3, CTF-Dreary3, CTF-Stratus (V1.2), CTF-Pipeline(WIP)
My Rig: CPU:C2D-E8500, GPU:GF-250GTS, RAM:4GB 6800C4, HDD: 2x 150gb WD Raptor, CASE: Mini Gigibyte MX

Last edited by Bazzwano; 14th Feb 2008 at 07:33 PM.
Bazzwano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2008, 07:42 PM   #5
Bill_Brooks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb. 11th, 2008
Posts: 70
Thanks Bazzwano but I already knew this just didn't build it that way and was hoping there was a way to merge instead of rebuilding the brush and cutting it.
Bill_Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2008, 07:52 PM   #6
Bazzwano
Hi, I'm Bryan
 
Bazzwano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill_Brooks View Post
Thanks Bazzwano but I already knew this just didn't build it that way and was hoping there was a way to merge instead of rebuilding the brush and cutting it.
ahhhh yes.. sory i didnt read a thing
__________________

Whatever beat that drives the impulse, whatever tune that

carries through, What's in a soul that rattles empty, in this
reality too few Dark Tranquillity
member since April 07 + 600 posts
CTF-Safeguard3, CTF-Dreary3, CTF-Stratus (V1.2), CTF-Pipeline(WIP)
My Rig: CPU:C2D-E8500, GPU:GF-250GTS, RAM:4GB 6800C4, HDD: 2x 150gb WD Raptor, CASE: Mini Gigibyte MX
Bazzwano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2008, 11:31 PM   #7
sWs»Cheapshot
Registered User
 
sWs»Cheapshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill_Brooks View Post
Thanks for the reply I can't seem to find a weld function.
Do you have a link to the tutorial that you are talking about?
Yeah sure... just takes a few to find them

Here is the main page:http://www.stage6.com/Unreal-Engine-...orials/videos/

Goto page 2 and look at the first group of tuts on the page... its in there.

Frankly, you should download all of them... they are packed with good stuff to learn ya.

Right clicking the cube brings up the CSG editor, and you have to be in vert mode to weld I believe, or is it edge?... one of those
sWs»Cheapshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Feb 2008, 12:36 AM   #8
Bill_Brooks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb. 11th, 2008
Posts: 70
Those tutorials I already have those. Thanks thou.
Bill_Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Feb 2008, 04:22 PM   #9
Cryosis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 19th, 2008
Posts: 134
I'd like to just point out that complicating brushes (I think extrude is safe though) can cause some difficult to trace bsp errors on your map, keeping brushes as simple as possible and using static brushes as much as possible seems to be the way to go.
Cryosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2008, 11:03 PM   #10
Bill_Brooks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb. 11th, 2008
Posts: 70
It's a hard habit to break not using piles of bsp brushs in a map.
As that is the way I have building maps for years. Mostly in the Quake series.
This engine is strange as in what it calls a brush you can make a very complicated brush in a concave shape and it still works, in the past I could not do that. This makes me think the engine is treating the shape of the brush more like a static mesh.

I just finished making some Gothic style arch tunnels out of brushes in a practice making brush work map. Started with a 16 sided cylinder then a vertex edited it into a straight tunnel with a arched ceiling. Ok thats simple right but it is convex and yet I was still able to save it as a brush and it works in the game.
Next I took this straight tunnel and made copies of it rotated one 90 degrees and then made a joining tunnel on a 45 degree angle I can then make one big brush that the covers all these tunnel brushes and then do a brush intersect and now have a single brush that is made out of all those brush in a very complex shape, this just seems like it should be prefab not a brush.

I do miss not being able to shape simple meshes into fancy curves like I could do in Quake 3 and 4 unless there is a way that I don't know about yet (that would be cool)
Bill_Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer