News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Coding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24th Jan 2008, 03:09 AM   #1
jingato
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 24th, 2008
Posts: 13
Weapon not working correctly in game

Hi . I made a custom gun that sprays out poison gas. I made a test map in the editor and placed the gun inside it. When I play the map from within the editor everything looks great. It seems to be functioning perfect. But If I actually startup the game and play it, the weapon bareley shoots anything out. Most of the time it's just making the sound and nothing is coming out. How good it act differently if it's running the same code? Any ideas on what the problem could be?

Thank
jingato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2008, 11:17 AM   #2
eblade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 30th, 2006
Posts: 113
Without seeing code, no
eblade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2008, 04:09 PM   #3
jingato
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 24th, 2008
Posts: 13
heres a link to the file on my website that has the source code.

Source Code
jingato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2008, 05:02 PM   #4
Jrubzjeknf
Registered Coder
 
Jrubzjeknf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 12th, 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,275
Nothing in the log?
Jrubzjeknf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2008, 06:04 PM   #5
jingato
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 24th, 2008
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrubzjeknf View Post
Nothing in the log?
At the risk of sounding like a noob .....how do I view the log?
jingato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jan 2008, 08:26 AM   #6
Payback
Ive got a big stick
 
Payback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 21st, 2002
Posts: 94
press tab - type
Code:
showlog
also in your My Documents\My Games\Unreal Tournament 3\UTGame\logs directory will be a log file. I think it gets named launch.log.

That file is everything that was written to the log from when the game started up to when it ended.

NB. It gets reset when you start a new game.
Payback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jan 2008, 04:17 AM   #7
eblade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 30th, 2006
Posts: 113
also can do "showlog" on console, or give "-log" on the command line, to view it as it goes
eblade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jan 2008, 07:15 AM   #8
Payback
Ive got a big stick
 
Payback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 21st, 2002
Posts: 94
What do you need to type to bind the console in ut3?

It used to be automatically bound to ~ for me in 2k4 but doesnt seem to work anymore, so I end up having to press tab repeatedly
Payback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Feb 2008, 08:57 AM   #9
eblade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 30th, 2006
Posts: 113
Console is F10
eblade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer