News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Off Topic > Hardware, Software & Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16th May 2006, 08:44 AM   #1
dotnetbeast
I don't have Ebola.
 
dotnetbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 14th, 2006
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 5,901
Radeon X800 GTO

Anyone got this card, and if so, anyone changed the cooling on it?
__________________
Hands down got the best flow / Sound I'm so special / Sound boy burial
This my Wayne Perry flow
Y'all know nothing about Wayne Perry though / District of Columbia / Guns on your Tumblrs
dotnetbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2006, 04:52 PM   #2
dwax
AHH TEH KILLA BEEZ
 
dwax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 6th, 2002
Location: SOUTH DAKOTA
Posts: 60
I have it,don't think i need to change the cooling.it only gets to 65C on heavy load.and that's with 16 pipes opened up,and clocked to 420 core 520 mem
__________________
"TEH KILLAH BEEZ' are amung us
be verry carefull!
dwax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2006, 09:00 PM   #3
dotnetbeast
I don't have Ebola.
 
dotnetbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 14th, 2006
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 5,901
See, mines from PowerColor, and its only the R420. So basically its only 12 pipes. I just wanted to know if it was better to get new cooling for it.
__________________
Hands down got the best flow / Sound I'm so special / Sound boy burial
This my Wayne Perry flow
Y'all know nothing about Wayne Perry though / District of Columbia / Guns on your Tumblrs
dotnetbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2006, 11:06 PM   #4
dwax
AHH TEH KILLA BEEZ
 
dwax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 6th, 2002
Location: SOUTH DAKOTA
Posts: 60
Yea I have the 430 core in mine,My other PC It came with the 16 pipes already no unlocking. How hot dose your card run?? i think it can go up to 80c with out worring.Can you control the fan speed? I have mine set at 35% untill it gets up to 60C and then it kicks up to 85% then at 80C it go's to 100% But I have never seen it go past 65C.
__________________
"TEH KILLAH BEEZ' are amung us
be verry carefull!
dwax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2006, 10:35 AM   #5
dotnetbeast
I don't have Ebola.
 
dotnetbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 14th, 2006
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 5,901
Highest its gotten to is 74C. What program would I ise to control the fan speed?
__________________
Hands down got the best flow / Sound I'm so special / Sound boy burial
This my Wayne Perry flow
Y'all know nothing about Wayne Perry though / District of Columbia / Guns on your Tumblrs
dotnetbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2006, 01:17 PM   #6
dwax
AHH TEH KILLA BEEZ
 
dwax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 6th, 2002
Location: SOUTH DAKOTA
Posts: 60
Go here and download ATITool. You will have to see witch version will help you. The beta version would help me on some different cards, but it would not with my X800GTO so I got the 0.24 version.If that wont help you can try ATI Tray Tools or Power Strip.

http://www.techpowerup.com/atitool/
__________________
"TEH KILLAH BEEZ' are amung us
be verry carefull!
dwax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2006, 01:29 PM   #7
dwax
AHH TEH KILLA BEEZ
 
dwax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 6th, 2002
Location: SOUTH DAKOTA
Posts: 60
Here's a screen shot of the fan settings i have. [IMG][/IMG]
__________________
"TEH KILLAH BEEZ' are amung us
be verry carefull!
dwax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2006, 12:18 AM   #8
dotnetbeast
I don't have Ebola.
 
dotnetbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 14th, 2006
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 5,901
OK Here are my fan settings.


Should I alter anything?
__________________
Hands down got the best flow / Sound I'm so special / Sound boy burial
This my Wayne Perry flow
Y'all know nothing about Wayne Perry though / District of Columbia / Guns on your Tumblrs
dotnetbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2006, 12:39 AM   #9
dwax
AHH TEH KILLA BEEZ
 
dwax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 6th, 2002
Location: SOUTH DAKOTA
Posts: 60
Looks good,except I would back the above 60 to about 55...and then for your 65 temp i would set it at 100% from there on up. esp if you say your running hot on you GPU. If it stays down,then you can lower it. Heat on the GPU is bad... it will warp the card and make it a paper weight.

I would also let it start up with windows.that way it will auto set the fan on start up.
__________________
"TEH KILLAH BEEZ' are amung us
be verry carefull!

Last edited by dwax; 23rd May 2006 at 12:45 AM.
dwax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2006, 02:20 AM   #10
Raynor.Z
Ad Nocendum Potentes Sumus
 
Raynor.Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 1st, 2006
Posts: 1,446
I should mention it's a very good card. Bought AGP version about week ago and it performs very well.
__________________

For those willing to build a mountain of bodies
and climb to the top.
In environments that stun.
Against A.I. that kills.
For those willing to stake their lives
in the pursuit of victory...
we salute you.
Raynor.Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer