News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Unreal Tournament 3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11th May 2006, 02:40 PM   #1
DeathBooger
Malcolm's Sugar Daddy
 
DeathBooger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 16th, 2004
Posts: 1,923
Vista scare...

...anyone else paranoid? The early 2007 release, the buddy, buddy situation with MS?
__________________
,,lol
DeathBooger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 02:48 PM   #2
toniglandyl
internal data fragmentation : 62203480%
 
toniglandyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2006
Posts: 2,877
i believe in EPIC!
__________________
toniglandyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 02:48 PM   #3
Entr0p1cLqd
Registered User
 
Join Date: May. 25th, 2004
Posts: 196
Not this time around.

Midway are the publishers for UT2007 and I can't see them wanting to cut out a massive market.

The whole M$ buddy thing is all about GoW - it's looking like it's going to be a killer-game for the X-Box360. When the PC version eventually gets released I suspect it will be Vista only though.

Anyone who moves from XP to Vista just to play a game is a fool imho.
Entr0p1cLqd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 02:55 PM   #4
Rk.
Sleezy bastard.
 
Rk.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 18th, 2005
Location: Candyland.
Posts: 285
Then I'm a fool.
__________________
Rk. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 03:02 PM   #5
Slainchild
Gold Member
 
Slainchild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 3rd, 2004
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 3,516
I'm going to uprade anyway, I see no reason not to buy Vista along with it...
__________________
Level Designer at Digital Extremes | Flickr
Slainchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 03:11 PM   #6
In-The-Jungle
Registered User
 
In-The-Jungle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 4th, 2006
Posts: 62
I'll be upgrading to Vista either way. So, I don't really care if it's Vista only.

Although I seriously doubt they'd do that.
In-The-Jungle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 04:10 PM   #7
JaFO
bugs are features too ...
 
JaFO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 5th, 2000
Posts: 5,483
I see plenty of reasons to avoid Vista.
The integration of the things that will lead to 'trusted computing' are the #1 reason.

Never mind that the GUI itself is so inefficient that they needed a SLI-based system just to get it up to speed. If that same machine can render a few million polygons with tons of shaders and textures then you know there's something very wrong.
JaFO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 04:40 PM   #8
DeathBooger
Malcolm's Sugar Daddy
 
DeathBooger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 16th, 2004
Posts: 1,923
Not to mention you need 2GB of memory just to run an old game like Far Cry because Vista uses so many resources.
__________________
,,lol
DeathBooger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 05:57 PM   #9
Jofo
Registered User
 
Jofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 11th, 2006
Posts: 22
We dont know anything about vista though, i'm wanting to upgrade for the basic version, cause who the heck needs aeroglass anyway? Another thing is that new sound driver thing they are implementing, I dont know the details but its about being able to customize per app or something. More than likely they overhauled the looks as usual with a hint of zazz and a few new features.

The M$'s vista only thing does annoy me, they really think they can make a profit my releasing Halo2 for vista only, pfft. Making GOW for vista only would require extra work and money because the unreal engine is already designed to work on linux? mac? ps3? xbox? so really it might not happen. Besides every linux fan will be PO'd and eventually people will pirate it because of M$ being a jerk and being happy with an older OS. But more than likely they will make every dx10 game vista only cause they want $$$ but not happy people.

those are my 7 cents
Jofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 09:02 PM   #10
Jackal
Crapass
 
Jackal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 13th, 2003
Location: Somewhere Over The Rainbow...
Posts: 8,043
Theres the fact that Vista will have a built in DRM and a nice "uninstallable" program that will search your PC for illegal copies of software/music. Until someone comes out with a patch or something, Vista can piss off. I'll stick with XP. And 2k7 will not be Vista only. I can tell you that right now. They won't loose 90% of the market just because.
Jackal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 09:23 PM   #11
dragonfliet
I write stuffs
 
dragonfliet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 24th, 2006
Posts: 3,717
I don't believe that it will be vista exclusive.

But man, you guys have come up with some wierd ideas. Vista will actually have a SMALLER footprint when playing games than XP, it's only a system hog when you are looking at the Aero GUI-which is extremely processor and GPU intensive ('cause it's purdy). These things are mutually exclusive, so it's not going to be a problem unless you play your games windowed (in which case, I have nothing to say to you)

The only thing I'm annoyed with is the support of HDCP which won't be a problem with Games but will be a pain in the ass when I'm going to want a blu-ray drive in my computer and be forced to upgrade my non-HDMI monitor. Stupid freaking movie industry.
dragonfliet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 09:34 PM   #12
DeathBooger
Malcolm's Sugar Daddy
 
DeathBooger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 16th, 2004
Posts: 1,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonfliet
I don't believe that it will be vista exclusive.

But man, you guys have come up with some wierd ideas. Vista will actually have a SMALLER footprint when playing games than XP, it's only a system hog when you are looking at the Aero GUI-which is extremely processor and GPU intensive ('cause it's purdy). These things are mutually exclusive, so it's not going to be a problem unless you play your games windowed (in which case, I have nothing to say to you)

The only thing I'm annoyed with is the support of HDCP which won't be a problem with Games but will be a pain in the ass when I'm going to want a blu-ray drive in my computer and be forced to upgrade my non-HDMI monitor. Stupid freaking movie industry.
That's how they claimed it would work, it hasn't worked out that way so far through beta releases, it's a huge system hog even in gaming.
__________________
,,lol
DeathBooger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 09:39 PM   #13
dragonfliet
I write stuffs
 
dragonfliet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 24th, 2006
Posts: 3,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeerGut
That's how they claimed it would work, it hasn't worked out that way so far through beta releases, it's a huge system hog even in gaming.
Beta releases are for the purpose or working those problems out. Things like that are most definately large reasons for the delay, so I have no doubt that while it will have plenty of annoying bugs at launch, that won't be one of them.

I shall be getting it for the new kernel and forward compatability, not to mention DX10. We'll see how the rest of it works out from there.

~Jason
dragonfliet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 10:35 PM   #14
Kantham
Fool.
 
Kantham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 17th, 2004
Posts: 18,041
Instead of starting a new thread i'll post this here since it fits the topic quite well...

1) First of, yes i do have a 64BIT processor and i currently have the Windows XP 32 BIT version, to get straight to the point, will it be possible to run UT2007 in 64 BIT mode with what i run on ATM? Or upgrating to Vista will be the only way?

2) Will the current mobo's bios read Vista when it comes out or there will be another "lolol motherboard" to buy at this point aswell?
__________________
Kantham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2006, 11:49 PM   #15
Neophoenix
Bast's Pet
 
Neophoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 4th, 2005
Posts: 493
Things I know that worries me:

1) Microsoft is the largest known legalized hacker company. They always invade your privacy without your permission.

2) Windows OS are usually unstable, and unsecure when they first come out.

3) With all the next generation games being 64 bit what other than Vista and Linux, which no one supports, will be able to run at 64 bit?

4) Games like Halo2 are already going to be Vista exclusive so why would UT be any different?
__________________
Hi, I am Allen Greenspan. This signature is one of many that has no home or well nourished body, but you can help. With your donation of only 10 cents a day, you can give this signature a good home where it will be fed healthy nutritious words. Every month you will receive a private message from your signature describing to you all that it has seen that month. So what are you waiting for? Call now and help a signature in need. Call 1-800-SigInNeed, and help a signature in need.

Last edited by Neophoenix; 11th May 2006 at 11:52 PM.
Neophoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2006, 01:00 AM   #16
Wormbo
 
Wormbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 4th, 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,781
UT2007 will not be a Vista-exclusive because Epic want to sell games, not operating systems.

...and who said UT2007 will require a 64bit CPU?
__________________
Wormbo's UT/UT2004/UT3 mods | YouTube channel | PlanetJailbreak/JDN | Unreal Wiki | Liandri Archives
Everything you ever wanted to know about replication| UnrealScript security considerations
<elmuerte> you shouldn't do all-nighters, it's a waste of time and effort
<TNSe> nono
<TNSe> its always funny to find code a week later you dont even remember writing
<Pfhoenix> what's worse is when you have a Star Wars moment
<Pfhoenix> "Luke! I am your code!" "No! Impossible! It can't be!"
Wormbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2006, 01:23 AM   #17
Kantham
Fool.
 
Kantham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 17th, 2004
Posts: 18,041
It's Not about requiring it. I want to use it.

I own a 64 BIT processor and i never runed on 64 BIT yet. It's the AMD athlon 3700 @ 2.2 GHZ. I do imagine that 64 BIT is extremely powerful.
__________________
Kantham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2006, 05:04 AM   #18
TheSomian
Freak
 
Join Date: Dec. 22nd, 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 87
u can play it on linux... afaik there will be a linux port, too....

but the 64-bit mode: somewhere i read, that direct X10 will suport 64-bit-colours, too.... do you know any SCREEN, displaying 64-bit-colours?
TheSomian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2006, 06:26 AM   #19
Crowze
Bird Brain
 
Join Date: Feb. 6th, 2002
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 3,554
Kantham, you will need a 64-bit OS to use 64-bit apps. Doesn't mean you have to use Vista though.

As for me, I'll probably get Vista when my next upgrade comes around. Since that will be my 64-bit upgrade, I might as well get a new OS, and I'm sure my current system will see me until at least Vista SP1. But Epic/Midway would be foolish not to support as many platforms as possible.
__________________

Infiltration | Sentry Studios

Last edited by Crowze; 12th May 2006 at 06:32 AM.
Crowze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2006, 09:20 AM   #20
Kantham
Fool.
 
Kantham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 17th, 2004
Posts: 18,041
Ok and let's say that i buy Vista, at this time i will be able to run UT2007 in 64 BIT no problem, but will i still be able to run all my current Aplications such as UT2004, UED 3.0 and all the rest? Like a kind of 32 BIT simulator that works great?
__________________
Kantham is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer