News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Original Unreal Tournament

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 1st Feb 2006, 11:33 PM   #1
Hermskii
www.Hermskii.com
 
Hermskii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 13th, 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 854
S3TC Texture fix that works!

It works! It fixes the skating bot issue where they move without animation after you install the S3TC High Resolution Textures from CD#2 or anywhere else.

EDIT!!! I have updated the link below to show the latest greatest information and instructions towards using the latest versions of these S3TC textures. What I'm saying here is that you do not need to read beyond THIS FIRST POST unless you try this and it fails in any way. If that happens, please reply to this thread and tell me what went wrong. I last updated this first post on 12-13-08. Don't just download this, read the part under the link too.

This is a 1.9 GB file compressed down to a 1.27 GB ZIP. It includes a readme, all of the textures you'll need, the 436 patch, UT Bonus Packs 1, 3 and 4, a modified OpenGldrv.dll, and the S3TC Texture fix executable. It should be everything you need!

http://hermskii.com/Files/S3TC-Texture-Fix-12-13-08.zip

I have it from one person so far that they experienced the motion in the game speed up and slow down randomly. I feel this is due to having multi processors and or having the power scheme for the PC set to anything else besides "Always on". I hear there is a patch for that multi-processor speeding up and slowing down issue but I don't have it so it is not included. That said, please report your findings here cause I want to track this issue, resolve it, and offer the patch in the next instruction set if needed. I'm trying to make this work for everybody and to date, it has except for about 3 people that I know of and none of them started with a clean install of UT that I know of. Follow the directions exactly. If you do have a problem after trying this, there is a fall back routine built in to this instruction set which will return you to your previous configuration as if you had never even tried this. That means you have no excuse not to try it. Have fun and make sure to tell us how well it works for you and make comments about any changes you would suggest. Thanks!



Please tell me how it works for you. Give me some feedback man!

Last edited by Hermskii; 26th Jan 2009 at 12:38 AM. Reason: Fixed some typos
Hermskii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2006, 01:34 AM   #2
zynthetic
robot!
 
zynthetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 12th, 2001
Posts: 2,945
I thought this was only an issue on linux servers that had installed s3tc, which was fixed in 451b.
I could be wrong about it being fixed but I'm pretty sure about the rest.
__________________
zynthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2006, 05:23 PM   #3
asylum
- tinkab3ll -
 
asylum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 19th, 2002
Location: Chesterfield, UK
Posts: 255
aye, but i assume this fixes the problem client side. whats different from your one to the acclaimed s3fix.exe thats lying around on the net?
__________________

Atari UT Community
asylum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Feb 2006, 05:48 PM   #4
Hermskii
www.Hermskii.com
 
Hermskii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 13th, 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 854
Try it!

The fix.exe is the same. About it being a client side fix, yes it fixes the client side. These textures are only designed to be client side meaning on your computer and not on the one you are connecting to in order to play. These will work whether you play a practice session by yourself OR if you connect to a server that uses the textures from UT CD#1. Again, let me stress that these are to be used on the player's computer and NEVER on a server. Why this works and others don't is in the process. Everyone has been doing it wrong by not doing it in order and not having the complete set of instructions. I've tried to get these textures to work many times in the past and had given up a few times over the years but I had never written down the routine or order in which I installed the textures. "This time I did" and once it finally worked, I then went back and from a clean UT install with the 436 patch and Bonus Packs 1, 3 and 4 installed FIRST, I followed my own instruction set and it worked perfectly. Thank you. Thank you very much!

Last edited by Hermskii; 3rd Oct 2008 at 10:02 PM.
Hermskii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Feb 2006, 12:52 AM   #5
Hermskii
www.Hermskii.com
 
Hermskii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 13th, 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 854
UM?

I feel terrible for you if that what happens to you when you use these textures. I won't argue with what you said as I don't know what it means but I have used these before on an old TNT2 M64 video card before without any issue and that card is a piece of junk. Don't take this wrong but I have to suspect you are doing something very wrong if or you are confirming what I have always known which is Nvidia MX cards suck. I happen to have one of those cards too in my server right now. Maybe I'll try it out with the big high res textures and report back. Later!

Last edited by Hermskii; 4th Mar 2006 at 12:51 AM.
Hermskii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Feb 2006, 07:05 AM   #6
nuttella
Scare
 
nuttella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 19th, 2004
Posts: 929
Quote:
Originally Posted by zynthetic
I thought this was only an issue on linux servers that had installed s3tc, which was fixed in 451b.
I could be wrong about it being fixed but I'm pretty sure about the rest.
It's still an issue on lots of servers, whatever the reason.

The s3fix works too, provided you follow the directions in the "Tweak UT graphics..." sticky.
nuttella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Feb 2006, 08:23 PM   #7
asylum
- tinkab3ll -
 
asylum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 19th, 2002
Location: Chesterfield, UK
Posts: 255
i did find that when i changed, i saw no performance loss... but the only visual differences i saw was the detailing in the brickwork and floor textures...

it was nicer though, and they've stayed on.

p4 1.9ghz and a nvidia gf4 4200ti
__________________

Atari UT Community
asylum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Feb 2006, 04:21 PM   #8
Al
Witted One
 
Al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 21st, 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 5,347
Thanks Hermskii! Following your instructions actually made it work
__________________
Al is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Feb 2006, 10:35 PM   #9
Hermskii
www.Hermskii.com
 
Hermskii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 13th, 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 854
Awesome!

Awesome Al. I too seemed to always have trouble getting it to work. I wanted a sure-fire process for everyone to be able to use and get it going on their very first try. Your post just made the entire effort totally worth my time! Thanks for taking the time and reporting back your good news. Anyone else?

Last edited by Hermskii; 3rd Oct 2008 at 09:35 PM.
Hermskii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Oct 2008, 09:50 PM   #10
Hermskii
www.Hermskii.com
 
Hermskii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 13th, 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 854
S3TC Rules

Yes, this thread is old but the information I'm about to give out is new. A texture specialist named DieHard reworked most if not all of the S3TC textures to improve them even more than the ones that came on UT CD #2 of the original retail version of UT! What does that mean to you? That means that now UT looks the best it ever has if you follow some simple directions to install these "Super High Resolution Textures" and add and modify a custom OpenGL Renderer while playing UT! The original set of directions listed in the original post of this thread are still good to use BUT I am about to rewrite the instructions to include the textures that DieHard spent so much time reworking. These are significantly better than the ones that came on the original UT disk "AND" I will have written the directions in such a way that even if you mess up while installing the new textures, you will still be able to revert to your original configuration as if you had never tried to use these textures in the first place. In other words...you have nothing to lose and nothing to gain except better visuals and graphics. I want to jump out again and say "thank you so very much" to DieHard for his awesome work! Expect a new set of instructions to be listed here on this post and to replace those on the original post very soon. Have a great weekend everyone. Note that my new set of instructions will include a current date in the file name meaning any date after 10-03-08.
Hermskii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Oct 2008, 10:06 PM   #11
Hermskii
www.Hermskii.com
 
Hermskii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 13th, 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 854
BTW

BTW, I wrote that original set of instructions almost 2 years ago. I can now say that even with a old GForce MX440 card, this should work with "NO" loss in performance. I can also say that like I said, you can always easily convert back to using your original renderer and settings as if you had never even tried this so long as you followed the new or old instructions properly. I'm working now on re-doing these instructions to ensure all of this works as I say it will. Good luck and happier gaming!
Hermskii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2008, 01:27 AM   #12
Hermskii
www.Hermskii.com
 
Hermskii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 13th, 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 854
S3TCTextureFix10-04-08.zip

Bummer, I just tested this and I have a bad link or 2. It is late so I'll repair this soon and let you know when it is ready. Sorry!

Please contact me Diehard. I have a special and easy request for you. Thanks!

Last edited by Hermskii; 4th Oct 2008 at 08:23 PM.
Hermskii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2008, 11:15 PM   #13
Hermskii
www.Hermskii.com
 
Hermskii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 13th, 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 854
Ready

OK! I think I have everything worked out now. I'm sure somebody will once again give this a shot based on that last time I released instructions like these, they worked very well for 99% of everyone who tried them.

Here is a link to the instruction set you'll need to use the latest version of UT S3TC textures which were recently reworked and released by Diehard:

EDIT: Note that I changed the link below to reflect the actual latest version but the sure fire way to get the latest version of this is to simply read the the 1st post of this thread. Unless you are replying with a problem or news it worked, there is no need for you to read beyond here.

http://hermskii.com/Files/S3TC-Texture-Fix-12-13-08.zip



Thank you very much Diehard for the work you have done here.

This time, I did not go through this instruction set line by line like before but I feel I'm good enough at this now that I may have gotten it right on the first try. At worst, download and read these instructions and decide for yourself if they seem worth the effort. Please post here if you run into any trouble. Thanks! CYA!

Note also that I am replacing the link for these instructions in the original post of this thread since this info supersedes previous instructions.

Last edited by Hermskii; 13th Dec 2008 at 01:08 PM.
Hermskii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Dec 2008, 05:46 PM   #14
ZOLE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec. 12th, 2008
Posts: 6
http://hermskii.com/Files/S3TCTextureFix.zip



This file is corrupt it seems.

this is the winrar message :
! C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\S3TCTextureFix.zip: Either multipart or corrupt ZIP archive



Z

Last edited by ZOLE; 12th Dec 2008 at 05:59 PM.
ZOLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Dec 2008, 06:31 PM   #15
Hermskii
www.Hermskii.com
 
Hermskii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 13th, 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 854
Thanks

Thanks. I'll get this fixed and repost when it is good to go. Sorry about that. It has been recently updated to include DIEHARD's new updated and upgraded textures. They are sweet! I actually had not yet intended for the new version to be released yet with the new instructions. It just happens to have the same name as the original.

Last edited by Hermskii; 12th Dec 2008 at 06:36 PM.
Hermskii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Dec 2008, 08:49 AM   #16
Hermskii
www.Hermskii.com
 
Hermskii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 13th, 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 854
OK

OK, here you go. This is a link to everything you could possibly need to get this done right. It has all of the files, the fix, the readme, bonus packs, and the 436 patch. This thing is 1.9GB in size after you uncompress it. It has been compressed to 665mb which is an awesome compression ration using the 7z compression tool which can be opened and extracted using WinZip. Note that WinRAR will not open this. It has to be opened and extracted with WinZip or 7z.

Hang on, the link I put in isn't working. Will edit this when I have it fixed. Actually, I'll just make another post and have it there.

Last edited by Hermskii; 13th Dec 2008 at 01:08 PM.
Hermskii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Dec 2008, 10:21 AM   #17
GreatEmerald
Khnumhotep
 
GreatEmerald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 4,042
Umm? Hermskii, are you sure that WinZip can open 7z? As far as I know, it can only open .zip files. And WinRAR really does open 7z files. Maybe you confused the two?
GreatEmerald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Dec 2008, 12:56 PM   #18
Hermskii
www.Hermskii.com
 
Hermskii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 13th, 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 854
Try again

OK let's try this again. This time I uploaded this 1.9GB set of files up to my webspace in the form of a 1.27GB ZIP file so that no matter what you use it will open. The compression is not nearly as good but I had to do what I had to do in order to get this out. Don't just download it. Read the part after the link too.

http://hermskii.com/Files/S3TC-Texture-Fix-12-13-08.zip

I have it from one person so far that they experienced the motion in the game speed up and slow down randomly. I feel this is due to having multi processors and or having the power scheme for the PC set to anything else besides "Always on". That said, please report your findings here cause I want to track this issue, resolve it, and offer the patch in the next instruction set. I'm trying to make this work for everybody and to date, it has except for about 3 people that I know of. Follow the directions. No short cuts. If you do, then there is a fall back routine which will return you to your previous configuration as if you had never even tried this. That means you have no excuse not to try it. Have fun and make sure to tell us how well it works for you and make comments about any changes you would suggest. Thanks!

About the 7z and zip. I didn't think I got it backwards. Maybe I did. Putting this up in a ZIP format makes all of those questions not matter now. Thanks for trying to clear it up though and if you find out for sure let us know. That is what this place is about. It's about helping people to do whatever it is that they are trying to do. That does include learning. Thanks!
Hermskii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Dec 2008, 10:26 AM   #19
ZOLE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec. 12th, 2008
Posts: 6
Hermskii,
I want to thank you sir for taking the time and effort to put this together, I followed your walkthrough intently and the result was beyond my imagination, UT looks the best I have ever seen it!!! I find my self stopping and just looking around at things I just never noticed before, from the floor cracks and texture to the ceiling stars that I have never seen.

Your walkthrough was precise, well thought out and logical. Your links worked (after the initial Snafu) and the time to put it together is certianly appreciated by one ZOLE.

Thank you for making a 100% instuctional.

Z
ZOLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Dec 2008, 10:42 AM   #20
Hermskii
www.Hermskii.com
 
Hermskii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 13th, 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 854
Zole

That is awesome Zole. Thank you so much for reporting back to everyone your findings. It is replies like yours that makes doing this stuff totally worth it for me. AWESOME! Thanks.

Hey Zole, some quick questions please.

Are you playing UT on a Desktop PC or a laptop?
How many processors?
Which operating system do you use?
Did the music stop playing instantly when you exit the game?
Did it before?
On DM-Face do your Frames Per Second drop badly when you look at the ground?
What kind of video card are you using?
Do you play on any servers with anticheat and if so can you still join them?
And lastly, how long did this process take you from start to finish?

Thanks again and please keep posting any findings good or bad.

Last edited by Hermskii; 14th Dec 2008 at 11:16 AM.
Hermskii is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer