News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > UnrealEngine2 Runtime > Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 31st Jan 2006, 08:22 PM   #1
Lshink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 22nd, 2006
Posts: 6
Launching external processes

Hey all:

I'm working on my research graduate work here at school and I've been looking over various engine pro/cons to get an idea of what we should use to implement our idea.

I've looked a lot through the UnrealScript to see how far the limits of the engine can be stretched without the actual source code. There something very simple we would like to accomplish with the Unreal engine (if its possible) and since most of here seem to have a lot of experience with it, I figured I'd ask to see if anyone knows.

Anyways, is there any possible way to execute external code through Unreal script to possible launch another process or thread of execution in parallel with Unreal?

For example, can I make it so if I shoot something, it'll launch an internet browser?

Appreciate any help on this.
Lshink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Feb 2006, 01:04 AM   #2
neai
^^
 
Join Date: Jan. 6th, 2006
Posts: 42
Directly, no, I don't think so. Unrealscript can communicate with other applications via TCP or UDP though. You could write some simple native app that listens for commands and does whatever you want.

Last edited by neai; 1st Feb 2006 at 01:05 AM.
neai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Feb 2006, 01:59 AM   #3
Wormbo
 
Wormbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 4th, 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,687
Well, there is the "start" console command, but I don't know whether it only works for URLs. (I'd guess so)
__________________
Wormbo's UT/UT2004/UT3 mods | YouTube channel | PlanetJailbreak/JDN | Unreal Wiki | Liandri Archives
Everything you ever wanted to know about replication| UnrealScript security considerations
<elmuerte> you shouldn't do all-nighters, it's a waste of time and effort
<TNSe> nono
<TNSe> its always funny to find code a week later you dont even remember writing
<Pfhoenix> what's worse is when you have a Star Wars moment
<Pfhoenix> "Luke! I am your code!" "No! Impossible! It can't be!"
Wormbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Feb 2006, 06:13 PM   #4
Lshink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 22nd, 2006
Posts: 6
Alright, I'll look into these two things. Thanks a lot guys
Lshink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Feb 2006, 01:37 PM   #5
david.gerding
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb. 16th, 2006
Posts: 11
I think you'd need the C++ headers - which are $5000.

Dave Gerding
david.gerding is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer