News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Unreal Tournament

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21st May 2000, 05:01 PM   #1
Axel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 31st, 2000
Location: London
Posts: 88
Talking

Hi guys, My isp is Cable & Wireless and with my 56k external im pinging at about 120+ (on the servers i play on) now i get a great connex with C&W (54,667)but i want more so im switching to BT and going the ADSL route with them, its called BT open world They supply the Adsl modem and i pay em 40.00 month for 24/7 access. What i need to know, is: Is adsl that much faster/better than isdn, how much does isdn cost over here what do i need to install isdn, 2 lines or just 1 for single isdn (is there such a thing?)
This is a rather loooooong question and may require a long answer but im relying on you guys ;-)) to help me out. Any feedback sure would be appriceated (i wish i could spell that word)and you will get your reward in heaven
Thanks in advance guys
Axel

------------------
Man, ilove this game!!!!!
Axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2000, 05:30 PM   #2
Zaccix
Truth, by Banksy
 
Zaccix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 10th, 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,369
Post

Don't bother with ISDN. Compared to ADSL it's looking very long in the tooth now and you should only really get it if you can't get ADSL.

I'm going with the BT deal too (because they'll have the most pressure on them to provide a good service, being BT 'n all ) To me, 40 a month for 24/7 net access at 512k/128k is pretty damn good, considering the high phone charges using a 56k dialup.



=Z==A==C==C==I==X=
Zaccix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2000, 07:26 PM   #3
Cryton
Loafing Bast
 
Join Date: Nov. 11th, 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 97
Post

UK ADSL may not support games.

Certianly for the bandwidth you will be sharing, you will get a pitiful ADSL connection.

I cant be bothered to cut n paste it so here's a link
http://forums.gtgames.com/Forum1/HTML/027311.html

~{BTF}~cRYTON^aPC www.play.at/btf
Cryton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2000, 01:05 PM   #4
Zaccix
Truth, by Banksy
 
Zaccix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 10th, 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,369
Post

Here's a replay of what I just posted on the GT forums:

I just rang the BT ADSL helpline, and the lady on the other end told me that it will NOT be possible to host multiplayer games with BT Openworld. This is because a firewall will be installed. Trust BT to fuxx up a good thing.

If you want to call the helpline, the number is 0845 6094664.



=Z==A==C==C==I==X=
Zaccix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2000, 03:32 PM   #5
Axel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 31st, 2000
Location: London
Posts: 88
Thumbs down

Thanks for the info guys, on checking the link (see above) it seems to be bad news where gaming is concerned.If its the case that you cant play games on BT openworld i wont be paying them 40.00 a month just for a quick download or two, man, BT suck the big 1 where us gamers are concerned i was really looking forward to this, arrgggh BT you really do piss me off.
BTW if any 1 else has any more info im sure we would all love to hear it.
thanks for all the help guys
Axel


Man, ilove this game!!!!!
Axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2000, 03:33 PM   #6
Axel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 31st, 2000
Location: London
Posts: 88
Thumbs down

Thanks for the info guys, on checking the link (see above) it seems to be bad news where gaming is concerned.If its the case that you cant play games on BT openworld i wont be paying them 40.00 a month just for a quick download or two, man, BT suck the big 1 where us gamers are concerned i was really looking forward to this, arrgggh BT you really do piss me off.
BTW if any 1 else has any more info im sure we would all love to hear it.
thanks for all the help guys
Axel


Man, ilove this game!!!!!
Axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2000, 03:33 PM   #7
Axel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 31st, 2000
Location: London
Posts: 88
Thumbs down

Thanks for the info guys, on checking the link (see above) it seems to be bad news where gaming is concerned.If its the case that you cant play games on BT openworld i wont be paying them 40.00 a month just for a quick download or two, man, BT suck the big 1 where us gamers are concerned i was really looking forward to this, arrgggh BT you really do piss me off.
BTW if any 1 else has any more info im sure we would all love to hear it.
thanks for all the help guys
Axel


Man, ilove this game!!!!!
Axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2000, 03:33 PM   #8
Axel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 31st, 2000
Location: London
Posts: 88
Thumbs down

Thanks for the info guys, on checking the link (see above) it seems to be bad news where gaming is concerned.If its the case that you cant play games on BT openworld i wont be paying them 40.00 a month just for a quick download or two, man, BT suck the big 1 where us gamers are concerned i was really looking forward to this, arrgggh BT you really do piss me off.
BTW if any 1 else has any more info im sure we would all love to hear it.
thanks for all the help guys
Axel


Man, ilove this game!!!!!
Axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2000, 03:39 PM   #9
CrapMonger
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Click the "reply" button ONCE it worked to first time...


Mod Reviewer for Capture!
Member of CarpeImperium [Ci]
Email: mike8153@swbell.com

  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2000, 03:43 PM   #10
Cryton
Loafing Bast
 
Join Date: Nov. 11th, 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 97
Post

As usual I can't be bothered to cut n paste, so here's a nice link http://forums.gtgames.com/Forum1/HTML/027717.html
Basically BT have dropped NAT in favour of a normal IP system wahoo
Cryton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2000, 03:45 PM   #11
LordKhaine
I sing the body electric...
 
LordKhaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 6th, 1999
Location: UK
Posts: 5,636
Cool

LOL!, Havnt seen that in a while
LordKhaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2000, 03:57 PM   #12
Axel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 31st, 2000
Location: London
Posts: 88
Talking

Sorry about that ,but trust me it DIDNT work lol,honest i am really sorry:-((
ERm now i feel really stupid hmpf im going and never coming back, man im so ashamed , i;ve never done anything like this before ,sob ,dont hate me ,please dont hate me
Axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2000, 04:03 PM   #13
Axel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 31st, 2000
Location: London
Posts: 88
Talking

crypton thanks man,thats great news ,now i have to tell the wife we ARE getting BT openworld cos i just bin slagging them off to her about not being able to play games an stuff ,man thats great news ,great news almost makes up for clicking the bloody button so many times )


Man, ilove this game!!!!!
Axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2000, 04:05 PM   #14
Axel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 31st, 2000
Location: London
Posts: 88
Talking

i mean CRYTON ,sorry m8 (sincerly)


Man, ilove this game!!!!!
Axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer