News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > News & Articles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 4th Nov 2005, 06:28 AM   #1
hal
Dictator
 
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1998
Location: ------->
Posts: 21,382
UT2007 Hardware Requirements Revisited

Yesterday we reported an article (sourced to Extreme-Players) in PC Games Hardware that listed UT2007 Hardware specs as given by Epic Games, only to have the specs declared invalid by two Epic sources. Thilo Bayer, Editor-in-Chief PCG Hardware, sent in some clarification about the translation as well as his source for those specs:


First, there are some faults in the translation:

Beyond Unreal:
minimum: 2.8GHz, 512mb Ram,Geforce6
for high details: 3-4GHz, 1Gb Ram, Nvidia 6800GT/ultra or 7800GT/GTX SLI


PCGH:
required hardware for highest in-game detail including 4x FSAA and 8:1 AF: 3-4GHz, 1Gb Ram, Nvidia 6800GT/ultra or 7800GT/GTX SLI


Beyond Unreal:
64 Bit version available with better textures


PCGH:
Improvements with the 64 Bit version: Possibility to adress more textures, vertices and levels

Second, as I clarified in a seperate e-mail with Mark Rein, we have some misunderstanding in the term "minimum specs". We mean "minimum specs for high in game detail" which is not the same as bare "minimum specs" so that the game runs at all.

Third, as we didn't get current data from Midway/Epic for this special article (which included the best games for 2006, by the way), we are forced to leave UT 2007 out of the article or use old data from an interview we did with Mark Rein in September 2004. We decided to use this old data. In this interview, Mark said (original words from tape!):

"Based on the current status of our development, you need a Geforce6 for good performance. This card uses Shader Model 3 and is very powerful. The minimum for CPU power is 2.8 GHz, and you need 512 Mbyte of memory."

Based on this statement, we projected the hardware specs for highest detail including AA/AF. So this is a full PCGH recommendation. No Epic info.

PC Games Hardware knows very well that no minimum specs of UT 2007 exist at the moment.

Please accept my apologies for any misunderstandings and for any trouble you had with this issue. PC Games Hardware has no interest to damage the sales of UT 2007. We all hope that this title will rock!
__________________
hal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2005, 07:01 AM   #2
elmuerte
Master of Science
 
elmuerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 25th, 2000
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 1,936
So, for a playable game with reasonable settings you need a 2.8GHz CPU (Performance Rating), 512MB Ram and a Geforce6.

That's not even a high-end machine for these days, nice.

Still need quite an large system upgrade though.. don't have PCIe, only AGP

Last edited by elmuerte; 4th Nov 2005 at 07:03 AM.
elmuerte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2005, 07:08 AM   #3
The_Head
JB Mapper
 
The_Head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 3rd, 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 3,090
You can still get some good cards that will run the game on AGP.
Glad that I can run the game on what I have now without a problem, not gonna stop me from upgrading though
__________________
Quote:
[21:14] <The_Head> i feel dirty
[21:14] <RevBillyG> O_o
[21:14] <The_Head> *shudders at the thought*
[21:14] <RevBillyG> its fine as long as you clean up afterwards
The_Head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2005, 07:21 AM   #4
elmuerte
Master of Science
 
elmuerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 25th, 2000
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 1,936
GF6800 is pretty much the top of what I can get (currently have an FX 5700, so that upgrade it worth it, now just the money).

(ATi is not an option, unless they fork over proper linux drivers)
elmuerte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2005, 07:24 AM   #5
nELsOn
bSnakeCastShadow = True
 
nELsOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 18th, 2005
Location: on a plane
Posts: 1,301
i remember having read about that older article.
as far as i remember rein said back then that they were still optimizing the engine so in the end the specs could even be lower.
but the specs for highest in-game detail as stated by pc games sound VERY nice - especially if you keep in mind that they include FSAA and AF

@ hal: those two epic sources (don't care who) - if they declared them invalid, did they mention anything about the CURRENT specs being lower or higher???

Last edited by nELsOn; 4th Nov 2005 at 07:25 AM.
nELsOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2005, 07:40 AM   #6
Kitty
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
reply

This is kinda weird. First you got that specs post on atariF, that gets the "can not me more official" and gets deleted. Then you got the "when we get new ut2007 info" post on atariF that gets deleted. And now this stuff.

A little info would be appreciated, last stuff dates from 3months ago.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2005, 07:42 AM   #7
Lauren
Powered By ZΛLMΛN
 
Lauren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 25th, 2005
Location: DM_Rankin
Posts: 184
Quote:
Please accept my apologies for any misunderstandings and for any trouble you had with this issue. PC Games Hardware has no interest to damage the sales of UT 2007. We all hope that this title will rock!
Duuwd this titel rocks now at this time and we dont have played or seen so much and it rocks! this game rocks over 120% when its out.
__________________
This Whole System Is Cooled By ZΛLMΛN, Water And Air Cooled
Lauren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2005, 08:00 AM   #8
lol911
Registered User
 
Join Date: May. 17th, 2005
Posts: 107
By all means upgrade to PCI-E. They hardly make any motherboards or graphic cards with AGP nowadays. Besides that, it's better to have a PCI-E board and card, because then you can upgrade bits and pieces over the years. If you're stuck with AGP, you will be forced to switch the entire machine, so better switch to PCI-E sooner than later.
lol911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2005, 08:00 AM   #9
hal
Dictator
 
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1998
Location: ------->
Posts: 21,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polycron
Did Thilo Bayer mail that to BU directly? Otherwise where is the source?
Yes, he mailed us directly.
__________________
hal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2005, 08:00 AM   #10
hal
Dictator
 
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1998
Location: ------->
Posts: 21,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitty
This is kinda weird. First you got that specs post on atariF, that gets the "can not me more official" and gets deleted. Then you got the "when we get new ut2007 info" post on atariF that gets deleted. And now this stuff.

A little info would be appreciated, last stuff dates from 3months ago.
What??
__________________
hal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2005, 08:37 AM   #11
DeathBooger
Malcolm's Sugar Daddy
 
DeathBooger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 16th, 2004
Posts: 1,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by hal
What??
I think it's a friend of Lauren's, I think they have their own secret language code.
DeathBooger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2005, 10:00 AM   #12
Mr_Dark
[2]United
 
Mr_Dark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 30th, 2003
Location: HERE --> . <--
Posts: 24
A well.. I will upgrade my videocard no mather what :P
I wanna play with everything at HIGHEST :P
Mr_Dark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2005, 10:08 AM   #13
Majik
blargh
 
Majik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 24th, 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,040
Phew, that's better. Oh wait, I still have to upgrade almost my entire computer anyway. I think I may go all out this time around and spend a bit extra so I know I'll be able to enjoy this game at it's fullest (or close to it).
Majik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2005, 11:02 AM   #14
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
No comment at all for users with ATI cards ?
Can we even play this ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2005, 11:10 AM   #15
Dark Pulse
Dolla, Dolla. Holla, Holla.
 
Dark Pulse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 12th, 2004
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 6,186
Hmm, if that's the case, in theory even my current rig could run it medium-high. Not bad, indeed.

I'll still definitely want to improve those bits, regardless.
__________________





Dark Pulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2005, 11:22 AM   #16
pum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct. 15th, 2005
Posts: 22
Well, that clarification was barely necessary. I'm still getting that sweet physics proc.
pum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2005, 12:16 PM   #17
DeathBooger
Malcolm's Sugar Daddy
 
DeathBooger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 16th, 2004
Posts: 1,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by pum
Well, that clarification was barely necessary. I'm still getting that sweet physics proc.
I doubt that will be of much use for online play due to bandwidth limitations.
DeathBooger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2005, 12:17 PM   #18
JohnDoe641
Killer Fools Pro
 
JohnDoe641's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 8th, 2000
Location: N.J.
Posts: 5,159
omg booo hisss hal..

booooooooooooooo

;(
__________________

Ci.ctf pdX.tdm
JohnDoe641 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2005, 12:41 PM   #19
fuegerstef
Registered User
 
fuegerstef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 7th, 2003
Location: KillingRoom
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeerGut
I doubt that will be of much use for online play due to bandwidth limitations.
As probably a lot of physics are calculatred clientside (as they are in UT2004) it is usefull to take stress from your CPU.
fuegerstef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2005, 01:12 PM   #20
Sector
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by El_Muerte_[TDS]
GF6800 is pretty much the top of what I can get (currently have an FX 5700, so that upgrade it worth it, now just the money).

(ATi is not an option, unless they fork over proper linux drivers)
I know the feeling, I've always been an ATI fan but I really wanna switch to linux now, it's a horrible dilemma, I just know nvidia is gonna treat my linux better, but I want ATI... aaarg!

On-topic: Those specs don't seem too bad at all for all the graphical beaty UT2007 is gonna bring is, I'll buy a new rig a month after the game is out, just like I did with UT2003, and I could run that at it's highest while the rig didn't cose all that much (600$ iirc).
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer