NewsUnrealEdFilesModsFragBULiandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 3rd Sep 2005, 10:11 PM   #1
ilkman
The Outcast God
 
ilkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 1st, 2001
Location: Pacific Ocean somewhere
Posts: 3,562
XSI mod tool configuration for UnrealEd

Anyone know how to configure the grid size in XSI mod tool to match that of UnrealEds?
__________________
Never trust small children who say "trust me".
ilkman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Sep 2005, 11:56 PM   #2
Angel_Mapper
Noblesse Oblige
 
Angel_Mapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 17th, 2001
Location: Cape Suzette
Posts: 3,529
afaik it should be the same as all other modelling tools, a 1:1 ratio. Does XSI use some crazy units or something?
Angel_Mapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Sep 2005, 12:28 AM   #3
Elisandra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug. 23rd, 2005
Location: Wigan, UK
Posts: 3
In XSI its in the UI setup dialog. Didn't know about the mod tool tho
Elisandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Sep 2005, 03:04 AM   #4
ilkman
The Outcast God
 
ilkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 1st, 2001
Location: Pacific Ocean somewhere
Posts: 3,562
I'm curious about the relation ratio between the two. I remember you could configure maya to match unrealeds units exactly.

What im basically looking for is a way to match scaling on meshes between XSI and UnrealEd so that what appears to be normal in XSI turns out to be super small or super big in UnrealEd. Thats always been my biggest problem with anything ive done up to this point.
__________________
Never trust small children who say "trust me".
ilkman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Sep 2005, 03:18 AM   #5
Angel_Mapper
Noblesse Oblige
 
Angel_Mapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 17th, 2001
Location: Cape Suzette
Posts: 3,529
It's a 1:1 ratio in Maya without any configuring. 1 unit is 1 unit in any program.

I'm not sure I understand what you mean. Do you mean UEd's default 16 unit grid size and highlights every 8th line?

If all else fails you could run some simple experiments with cubes to figure it out.
Angel_Mapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Sep 2005, 02:26 PM   #6
ilkman
The Outcast God
 
ilkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 1st, 2001
Location: Pacific Ocean somewhere
Posts: 3,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel_Mapper
It's a 1:1 ratio in Maya without any configuring. 1 unit is 1 unit in any program.

I'm not sure I understand what you mean. Do you mean UEd's default 16 unit grid size and highlights every 8th line?

If all else fails you could run some simple experiments with cubes to figure it out.

I think I'll do some experimenting.

I could have sworn that I had to configure maya units to match unrealed units to get the scaling right...at least with the version that shipped with UT2003.
__________________
Never trust small children who say "trust me".
ilkman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Sep 2005, 08:05 PM   #7
ilkman
The Outcast God
 
ilkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 1st, 2001
Location: Pacific Ocean somewhere
Posts: 3,562
Its not a 1:1 ratio. I attached some screenshots to show what I mean.
Its more like a 1:16

Its time to scower the web methinks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg XSI1.jpg (189.8 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg unrealed1.jpg (77.0 KB, 11 views)
__________________
Never trust small children who say "trust me".
ilkman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Sep 2005, 09:08 PM   #8
Angel_Mapper
Noblesse Oblige
 
Angel_Mapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 17th, 2001
Location: Cape Suzette
Posts: 3,529
It looks like the grid size in XSI is set to one unit, which would make it a 1:1 ratio with UEd (multiply the grid setting in UEd by the number of lines to get the units, or just use Shift + middle mouse in one of UEd's 2d viewports).

Last edited by Angel_Mapper; 4th Sep 2005 at 09:10 PM.
Angel_Mapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Sep 2005, 12:27 AM   #9
ilkman
The Outcast God
 
ilkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 1st, 2001
Location: Pacific Ocean somewhere
Posts: 3,562
Thanks for the help.
I'll still need to tweak it a bit to get it right.
__________________
Never trust small children who say "trust me".
ilkman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer