NewsUnrealEdFilesModsFragBULiandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Original Unreal Tournament

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14th May 2000, 02:34 AM   #1
DrDetroit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 17th, 2000
Location: Detroit
Posts: 9
Post

56k modems are strange these days. A lot of the pci modems are software modems. To me this is dumb because when the processor does the mo and the dem I don't think you can call it a modem. With a game like UT do you really want your processor doing the work of the modem.
DrDetroit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2000, 09:41 AM   #2
[PuF]RaptoR
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question

Hi,

This is a question for all you 56k modem users out there. My 56k Diamond modem usually connects at 44,000bps. What do yours connect at? Is 44,000 bad or good??

------------------
[PuF] RaptoR - Fighting against the LAG to bring you this message!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2000, 10:53 AM   #3
Prophetus
Old Fart
 
Prophetus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 4th, 1999
Location: ...standing behind you...
Posts: 3,093
Post

44 is not very good, but it's not very bad. In the states the FCC has limited the speed to 49 bps...even though your comp may tell you that the modem is connect higher...it's not (except DSL, ISDN and cable of course). So, if your modem is communicating to the ports at 55 bps (for example), the information is becoming bottled and backed up because the phone lines, in the states, will only connect at 49bps (or lower). So, what happens is you will experience an unstable connection. Most games will become disconnected and you will experience severe packet loss. The accepted standard for all modems is to have your modem set between 45 to 48 bps. Higher the bps the greater instability...but lower bps creates higher pings. So, what you have to do is fix how fast the information travels from your ports to your computer...this can be around 56 bps...but, outgoing information should be set lower. Goto, control, modems, modems properties, connections, and port settings. The slider control will appear. Ensure the receive transmission rate is set higher than the transmit rate. You will sacrifice ping for stability. But, if your connection is stable, then you can sacrifice stability for lower pings.

However, all this is dependent on your ISP as well. There are tweaks available... www.lagless.com or www.planetunreal.com/capture under tweak modem guide. Play around with it until you find a suitable setting.


[Ci]Prophetus][PuF][

CAPTURE! Home of CTF map reviews, strategies and Forums.



[This message has been edited by Prophetus][PuF][ (edited 05-14-2000).]
Prophetus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2000, 01:28 PM   #4
[PuF]RaptoR
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up

I live in the UK, where modem speeds are limited to 52,000bps. I understand that my modem is not brillaint . I have the transmit and recive sliders both @ 16 (the highest) and my ISP is pretty stable.


[PuF] RaptoR - Fighting against the LAG to bring you this message!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2000, 06:13 PM   #5
jrm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 2nd, 2000
Posts: 45
Exclamation

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Tahoma, Arial, Helvetica">quote:</font><HR>This is a question for all you 56k modem users out there. My 56k Diamond modem usually connects at 44,000bps. What do yours connect at? Is 44,000 bad or good??<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I think 44kbps is good, but for me I can't get anything over 28.8(the lines are crap around here).


I can't think of anything...
My mind is blank...AHHHHH!!!!
jrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2000, 06:58 PM   #6
PuF|Hertston
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec. 23rd, 1999
Location: Plymouth, UK
Posts: 104
Post

Usually 48, again with a Diamond.
PuF|Hertston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2000, 08:56 PM   #7
kamikaze9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 29th, 2000
Posts: 1,704
Post

I'm usually at 48000 or 45333, but very rarely (like 1/1000) I get 49333 or 51333!
kamikaze9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2000, 09:47 PM   #8
Clayeth
Classic
 
Clayeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 10th, 2000
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 5,602
Post

I usually connect at 50666, and sometimes 53333. My pings are around 200-350, and I usually don't have packet loss (when I do it's usually only 1-3%). When I do get packet loss, it may be the times I connect at 53333, I'm not really sure. I may try setting a max connect speed of 48 or something like that and see if it plays better or worse.
Clayeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2000, 04:41 AM   #9
Tetris L
Smartass
 
Tetris L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 15th, 2000
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,136
Post

Living in Switzerland. I used to connect at 48000. Recently my phone line was changed to ISDN, which means double voltage. This improves the quality of the line, so I can now connect at up to 52000, if I use my old analog modem.

But why should I, now that I have digital ISDN (allowing up to 128k).


Got a question about UT? Visit UT ©leaned and check the FAQ!

Tetris L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2000, 04:53 AM   #10
[BuF]Wacky
Registered User
 
[BuF]Wacky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 24th, 2000
Location: Glasgow, UK
Posts: 1,077
Post

I use a Rockwell 56k modem in the UK and it claims I'm connected at 115200bps. I know this isn't so as I rarely clear a download speed of 3.5k and my ping is never any lower than 1000.
How do you all find out the speed you are connected at. Do you just hover over the icon in your taskbar?
[BuF]Wacky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2000, 05:33 AM   #11
[PuF]Neo_Skinz
Hentai Freak
 
[PuF]Neo_Skinz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 25th, 2000
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 778
Unhappy

I cant remember the make of my 56k modem but I use a few different ISPs, some give me 41,000bps and others give me 42,667bps. It sux *** ! I usually ping around 300 to 400 or more in UT.



Visit Neo Skinz to see my Winamp and ICQ skins.

"Philosophy is to science as pornography is to sex!"
[PuF]Neo_Skinz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer