News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Original Unreal Tournament

View Poll Results: The greatest mystery of all: OpenGL or D3D (Including the D3D8 one)?
OpenGl 110 64.71%
D3D (or D3D8) 43 25.29%
Software is the best! 3 1.76%
They all suck! 14 8.24%
Voters: 170. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19th Mar 2006, 04:10 PM   #161
madscientist327
Pure Genius
 
madscientist327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 24th, 2005
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posts: 259
I'm not sure. Are they from URP - the Unreal Retexturing Project or are those the textures from the second cd?
__________________



"Do, or do not. There is no try." - Jedi Master Yoda
madscientist327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Mar 2006, 04:46 PM   #162
Neon_Dragon
Proud Download Addict
 
Neon_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 26th, 2006
Posts: 13
I think there from the Unreal Retexturing Project, but they do replace some textures in the game not all of them, but the ones that are replaced are Uber nice.
I think I might have a dig around at the game shops see if I can find UT, or have a look online.
Thanks for the help.
Neon_Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Mar 2006, 08:17 PM   #163
FragUPlenty
Registered User
 
FragUPlenty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 18th, 2006
Location: Dixon, CA
Posts: 7
can someone write an optimization guide for people playing on their laptop. Like a laptop in the 800 - 1200 dollar range.
FragUPlenty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Mar 2006, 10:42 PM   #164
Dark Pulse
Dolla, Dolla. Holla, Holla.
 
Dark Pulse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 12th, 2004
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 6,186
It depends on the stuff inside the system, though in all honesty, you probably won't need to change very much, unless you're using mostly onboard audio/video.
__________________





Dark Pulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2006, 08:19 PM   #165
FragUPlenty
Registered User
 
FragUPlenty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 18th, 2006
Location: Dixon, CA
Posts: 7
its got an Intel Pentium M 1.5ghz, 1gb DDR RAM, intel integrated Extreme 2 video, intel integrated sound.
FragUPlenty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2006, 10:20 PM   #166
Dark Pulse
Dolla, Dolla. Holla, Holla.
 
Dark Pulse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 12th, 2004
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 6,186
Well, Onboard stuff mostly sucks, but you should still be able to run the game at max settings. Just don't try anything fancy like AA/AF.
__________________





Dark Pulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2006, 10:27 PM   #167
FragUPlenty
Registered User
 
FragUPlenty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 18th, 2006
Location: Dixon, CA
Posts: 7
yea I can my desktop is very fast I was just wondering because I use my mobile alot. Thanks Mad scientist.
FragUPlenty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Apr 2006, 01:48 PM   #168
Mike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec. 28th, 2005
Location: Shrewsbury, UK
Posts: 24
Quick question, for the S3Fix thing do I only need to remove the skins specified (as suggested) and none of the other ones (e.g. ones I've got of the various servers I've gone on?). Maybe you could just make it a tiny bit clearer in the post.

Anyway, thanks for all your help - my lag is now right down and it really has upped my playing 'skillz'.
__________________
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2006, 12:20 AM   #169
madscientist327
Pure Genius
 
madscientist327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 24th, 2005
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike
Quick question, for the S3Fix thing do I only need to remove the skins specified (as suggested) and none of the other ones (e.g. ones I've got of the various servers I've gone on?). Maybe you could just make it a tiny bit clearer in the post.
Only the skins mentioned. I fixed that section a little. I hope it is more clear now.
__________________



"Do, or do not. There is no try." - Jedi Master Yoda
madscientist327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2006, 12:33 AM   #170
Hermskii
www.Hermskii.com
 
Hermskii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 13th, 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 851
Hmmmmm?

I'm very curious here. You mention that the sites that have hosted the 2nd CD textures have all shut down but it sounds like you are speculating somewhat that they went down due to legal issues.

Based on the fact that no official updates have come to pass in years now for UT and the fact that nothing but good could come from people enjoying UT more than usual and spreading the word, I'm tempted to host the textures from the 2nd CD for the S3TC option of the game which as mentioned earlier should only be benificial to those who actually own a copy of the game.

My original CD 1 is cracked and no good but the 2nd CD is perfect still. What exact legal action has been taken against people sharing these particular textures? Don't speculate. Tell me what you know for sure.

Until then, here is the best set of instructions for using the S3TC textures from the 2nd CD. I made these myself and I still have a 100% record of happy direction followers with this set of instructions. Here is a link to the thread that has what you want not including the actual textures:

http://forums.beyondunreal.com/showthread.php?t=169643

All I can say at this point is to follow the directions perfectly and you will enjoy your S3TC Textures (2nd CD Textures, High Resolution Textures) on the first try!

There is also a how to manual on my forum at www.Hermskii.com. It will answer many of your tweaking questions there and has a downloadable manual. I have not updated this S3TC section that I give you here (link above) yet to my manual. Maybe I'll do that now...

Last edited by Hermskii; 14th Apr 2006 at 12:35 AM.
Hermskii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2006, 02:32 AM   #171
madscientist327
Pure Genius
 
madscientist327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 24th, 2005
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posts: 259
Actually, the download links disappeared because nobody downloaded for 30 days... That's the drawback of temporary file hosting...
__________________



"Do, or do not. There is no try." - Jedi Master Yoda
madscientist327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Apr 2006, 05:09 PM   #172
Supremeone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug. 23rd, 2005
Posts: 24
:\ I'd really like to have them.. Never tried s3tc textures in the 6 years I've been playing.
Supremeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Apr 2006, 11:33 PM   #173
Dark Pulse
Dolla, Dolla. Holla, Holla.
 
Dark Pulse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 12th, 2004
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 6,186
I still have the torrent and it's still on Clan Smiley's Tracker. There's just nobody else seeding it.

As I've restated, IF YOU ARE GOING TO DOWNLOAD THESE, PLEASE HELP ME SEED THEM. Otherwise, there's no point in doing it.

I'll leave my connection open, but keep in mind, I can't keep this computer on all the time - it goes down sometimes (Though I do leave it on 24/7.)

If it's down and you really want them, either get a hold of me on our IRC channels or some sort of IM service - I'm usually never too far away.
__________________





Dark Pulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2006, 07:09 AM   #174
Zur
surrealistic mad cow
 
Zur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 8th, 2002
Posts: 11,638
Hi, sorry to hear the torrent isn't doing well. I suggest uploading the torrent file to some big sites. Btw, I'm using some of the settings suggested in this thread for an upcoming movie .
__________________

Zur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2006, 08:47 PM   #175
Hermskii
www.Hermskii.com
 
Hermskii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 13th, 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 851
Here you go...

This is a manual that will talk you through setting up your installation to successfully run the S3TC Textures that come on the UT CD #2:

http://hermskii.com/Files/S3TC_Texture_Fix.zip

Finally, here is a link to the all 74 of the S3TC textures that come on UT CD #2:

http://hermskii.com/Files/UTCD2Textures.zip
Hermskii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2006, 07:52 AM   #176
Neon_Dragon
Proud Download Addict
 
Neon_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 26th, 2006
Posts: 13
Nice one Hermskii
__________________
I spend way too much time on the internet...
Neon_Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2006, 01:12 PM   #177
madscientist327
Pure Genius
 
madscientist327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 24th, 2005
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posts: 259
Hermskii, if you don't mind I will add that link to the guide.
__________________



"Do, or do not. There is no try." - Jedi Master Yoda
madscientist327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2006, 01:30 PM   #178
Hermskii
www.Hermskii.com
 
Hermskii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 13th, 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 851
Sure

No problem MadScientist327. It will be good (the link) until I hear something bad from some big-wig somewhere but I doubt that will happen being they give the textures away for free in bonus packs and every texture in the world is available somewhere on the internet already.
Hermskii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jan 2008, 12:16 AM   #179
iSenSe
Only InstaGib`
 
iSenSe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Location: DM-1on1SmallMountain [NL]
Posts: 408
the torrent file has no seeders anymore after 8 years, kinda understandable :P
__________________
<{xan}> Domain #2 - InstaGib - --
[iDM.iLMS.iCTF.iMH]
Unreal://82.192.78.9:7020

iSenSe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Feb 2008, 11:25 PM   #180
SkaarjMaster
enemy of time
 
SkaarjMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 1st, 2000
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 4,675
Question

I have a question on the MaxAnisotropy command. I have AF forced at 4X in my ATI control panel for OpenGL with S3TC textures in UT, but am now confused as to what to set this command to. I had it at 1 and now I'm thinking 4 would be better.

The UT2004 equivalent command is LevelOfAnisotropy and, apparently, I need to leave this at 1 to get 4X AF in UT2004 because the ATI control panel setting (for D3D this time) and this command are additive (or multiplicative if you like) and if 4X in ATI CP and 4 in UT2004.ini, then the level played in UT2004 is 16.

I'm just wondering if it's the same for UT or it's fine to set MaxAnisotropy to 4 in my case because the commands are not multiplicative for UT.
__________________

Insite Reviews: right here in the web archive

Last edited by SkaarjMaster; 6th Feb 2008 at 11:27 PM.
SkaarjMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
graphics, guides, tweaks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer