News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Original Unreal Tournament

View Poll Results: The greatest mystery of all: OpenGL or D3D (Including the D3D8 one)?
OpenGl 110 64.71%
D3D (or D3D8) 43 25.29%
Software is the best! 3 1.76%
They all suck! 14 8.24%
Voters: 170. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10th Aug 2009, 01:07 PM   #381
SkaarjMaster
enemy of time
 
SkaarjMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 1st, 2000
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 4,678
Oh well, I following the instructions for moving those files out (pg 1 of this thread), installing fix, then moving them back, and I also installed all new texture files (UTRP) after, so I don't know what it did but it's too late for me.

I guess whatever it changed, it won't matter unless I decide to run a server and that will never happen. I just thought I'd ask, because I can't remember exactly what the fix does or even if I ever knew. I'm usually pretty careful about installing stuff and I check all the files to see if any new ones or changed stuff as well as checking the UT.ini and User.ini files, so I don't think it changed anything important that wasn't changed again later on with something else (if that makes any sense at all).
__________________

Insite Reviews: right here in the web archive

Last edited by SkaarjMaster; 10th Aug 2009 at 01:09 PM.
SkaarjMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2009, 03:04 AM   #382
Sirax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug. 9th, 2009
Posts: 7
Ok but I play on several public UT servers and some have that problem and some have not... but I don't know all the admins of those servers so I need to fix it another way.

These are my PC specs:

OS: Windows 7 32 bit
Asus P5E motherboard
Intel Core 2 Duo CPU 3.0Ghz
2048MB RAM
DirectX 11
NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512
Display mode 1680x1050 (32bit) 60Hz
Nvidia version: 190.38

How can I get the best UT settings to play? Also can somebody help me to change maybe my unrealtournament.ini
Really would like to play UT in its best graphics but i need some help with that..

Kind Regards,
Sirax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2009, 06:45 AM   #383
medor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 15th, 2009
Posts: 355
For the easy beast try this all patched V3 http://unrealtournament.99.free.fr/f...ic.php?f=4&t=7

Windows 7 you can't play on a utdc anticheat server.
__________________



Files for UT99 utfiles All new releases and updates are listed here All news
Most popular is UnrealTournament-V3 With over 8800 visits to date.It is an optimized UT99 to download.
medor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2009, 08:03 AM   #384
Raynor.Z
Ad Nocendum Potentes Sumus
 
Raynor.Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 1st, 2006
Posts: 1,445
As far as I can tell UTDC has compatibility problems with x64 version of Windows 7. I don't know about x86 (32-bit) version though.
Raynor.Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Aug 2009, 03:24 AM   #385
Sirax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug. 9th, 2009
Posts: 7
Ok my graphics settings are now pretty good but still got 1 issue.

Just installed fresh installation of UT and applied opengl 3.5 and now it's pretty good but my crosshair is very blurry and also when I zoom with sniper the green crosshair is very bold. Does anyone has a fix for that?
Sirax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Aug 2009, 04:19 AM   #386
Raynor.Z
Ad Nocendum Potentes Sumus
 
Raynor.Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 1st, 2006
Posts: 1,445
Unfortunately that's the way UT draws crosshairs with higher resolutions (it does not scale well) so best was is to use dot.
Raynor.Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Aug 2009, 06:33 AM   #387
Zur
surrealistic mad cow
 
Zur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 8th, 2002
Posts: 11,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirax View Post
Does anyone has a fix for that?
There was a sort of fix in the works but I haven't had time to continue with the mutator. I might be able to resume work on it in September though.
__________________


Last edited by Zur; 14th Aug 2009 at 06:34 AM.
Zur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2009, 11:00 PM   #388
Sirax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug. 9th, 2009
Posts: 7
Ok, I hope the fix will be finished asap and that he works.

Hope to here from you soon about the fix
Sirax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Aug 2009, 08:54 AM   #389
SkaarjMaster
enemy of time
 
SkaarjMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 1st, 2000
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 4,678
Lightbulb

It's better to use a dot anyway and make it pink so it can be seen on most maps.
__________________

Insite Reviews: right here in the web archive
SkaarjMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jan 2010, 04:31 AM   #390
CSLA*Jackal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 5th, 2009
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 5
Hey guys.

After a few months I've come back to check out if there's anything new about UT crosshair blur/size fix.

Any update to this issue ? (which would be client-side).


I can't believe there's no fix with the great boom of widescreen panels.


Thanks,
Jackal
CSLA*Jackal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Mar 2010, 12:41 AM   #391
SilentKoala
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun. 4th, 2009
Posts: 170
The link in the OP to the OpenGL driver seems to be broken, but there's a working one here: http://www.cwdohnal.com/utglr/

It's also a newer version of the driver.
SilentKoala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Jul 2010, 07:04 AM   #392
Adelheid
Bernstein
 
Adelheid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 23rd, 2008
Location: Nowhere.
Posts: 1,027
Does anyone else always have problems with UT after installing Unreal Anthology?

Can I immediately run 2004 in max settings? Hell yeah!

Can I immediately run UT in 640x480 with system graphics without the vision and sound stuttering like I'm trying to run it on a ramless 386? Nooooooo....

Grr... Mumble... Grr...
__________________
"So, it's defeat for you, is it? Someday I must meet a similar fate..."
Adelheid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2010, 05:03 AM   #393
Mang Nux
Registered User
 
Mang Nux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 14th, 2010
Posts: 116
In the OP, he's listed all the cfg settings for OpenGL and what he thinks they should be set to, but is there a list somewhere with descriptions of exactly what each setting does?
Mang Nux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2010, 10:30 AM   #394
GreatEmerald
Khnumhotep
 
GreatEmerald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 4,042
Yes.
http://cwdohnal.com/utglr/settings.html
GreatEmerald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2010, 06:17 PM   #395
Mang Nux
Registered User
 
Mang Nux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 14th, 2010
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreatEmerald View Post
Thank you, that's exactly what I wanted.
Mang Nux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jun 2011, 02:07 PM   #396
UnrealGold57
Registered User
 
UnrealGold57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 29th, 2011
Posts: 48
I like Direct3D, but OpenGL is way better imo.
__________________
Die, bitch.
UnrealGold57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Mar 2013, 10:38 PM   #397
Carbon
Registered User
 
Carbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 23rd, 2013
Posts: 357
For UT99, OGL is better. Used to play in Glide, but...well, you know. High-res textures (extreme end) are also a must, IMO.
Carbon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2013, 03:47 AM   #398
medor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 15th, 2009
Posts: 355
In UT99 with Glide i can use only 16 bit
http://unrealtournament.99.free.fr/u...Renders/Glide/

Glide not work with High-res textures.



Please give your settings
__________________



Files for UT99 utfiles All new releases and updates are listed here All news
Most popular is UnrealTournament-V3 With over 8800 visits to date.It is an optimized UT99 to download.

Last edited by medor; 31st Mar 2013 at 04:17 AM.
medor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2013, 03:38 PM   #399
leilei
Pre-Alphas, Alphas, Betas, RCs suck!
 
leilei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Posts: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by medor View Post
In UT99 with Glide i can use only 16 bit
Glide not work with High-res textures.
No ****. When UT came out it was 256x256 max and 16-bit only for a Voodoo card. Had you had been the so-called oldschool player you claim to be you would already have known that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by medor View Post
Please give your settings
No amount of settings will allow GlideDrv to break arbitrary Glide 2 API limits. To get hi-res textures on a 3dfx card, one would need to use a Voodoo4 or Voodoo5, and the same utglr driver to decompress the DXT1 textures filling up that poor video memory.
__________________


Last edited by leilei; 31st Mar 2013 at 03:42 PM.
leilei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Apr 2013, 05:18 PM   #400
Carbon
Registered User
 
Carbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 23rd, 2013
Posts: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by medor View Post
In UT99 with Glide i can use only 16 bit
http://unrealtournament.99.free.fr/u...Renders/Glide/

Glide not work with High-res textures.

Please give your settings
Indeed. I said "used to".

Back in the day it was the real deal, but Glide has long gone the way of the dinosaurs (I thought RDRAM would fly too).

Makes sense I suppose; OGL works very well (I think the visuals are comparable, even in 16 bit) and again, with the high-res textures the game looks better than ever.

Last edited by Carbon; 1st Apr 2013 at 05:24 PM.
Carbon is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
graphics, guides, tweaks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer