NewsUnrealEdFilesModsFragBULiandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Unreal Tournament 3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14th May 2005, 06:36 PM   #1
OutlawSkot33
Im me.
 
OutlawSkot33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 27th, 2004
Posts: 138
Unreal Editor

I seriously hope the god damn thing is stable and not so god damn bugy as Version 3....V1 and 2 were pefectly stable and excellent, but V3 is annoying, bugy and crashes for any reason it can find....I hope UT2k7's will be stable..dont you...
__________________
Levels4You UT Series Staff.
OutlawSkot33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2005, 07:02 PM   #2
Angel_Mapper
Goooooooats
 
Angel_Mapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 17th, 2001
Location: Cape Suzette
Posts: 3,529
I've rarely had any problems with 2k3/4's editor. What are your specs/OS?
Angel_Mapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2005, 07:40 PM   #3
OutlawSkot33
Im me.
 
OutlawSkot33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 27th, 2004
Posts: 138
Specs, a basic Dell desktop. except for 256mb Ram and Pentium 4 3.4Ghz. Angel, Im pretty sure your not gonna have problems, if im correct, your able to afford a computer that people like me who cant find a job cant afford... O well Im pissed with UED, two times within 90min UED crashed while vertex editing......
__________________
Levels4You UT Series Staff.
OutlawSkot33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2005, 07:41 PM   #4
moonflyer
Registered User
 
moonflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 2nd, 2003
Location: Shanghai,China
Posts: 402
1) i hope epic to fix the crash bug when i try to set visibility of the terrain polygons along the trim
2) and i hope they can implement the instant playtest function. just hit a button and you can playtest your map in the ued from your current camera position. this is really useful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! as for a professional editor
moonflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2005, 08:46 PM   #5
Angel_Mapper
Goooooooats
 
Angel_Mapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 17th, 2001
Location: Cape Suzette
Posts: 3,529
No, you're not correct. I'm looking for a job as well.

If you can, get more RAM. 256 isn't enough for mapping.

As for vertex editing, try not to combine vertices too much, the editor doesn't like that.
Angel_Mapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2005, 07:24 AM   #6
BmB23
Take a pick!
 
Join Date: Oct. 10th, 2004
Location: On the back of the moon along whith the Icecream-eating superpigs
Posts: 158
Funny... I heard v3 being the most stable yet.
BmB23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2005, 07:49 AM   #7
Radiosity
Minty Fresh!
 
Radiosity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 3rd, 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 2,217
Yup. Only time it ever crashes is when I do something stupid, and that's not often Stable and powerful system = stable editor, simple as that. Oh, and it helps to know what not to do as well
Radiosity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2005, 11:47 AM   #8
The_Head
JB Mapper
 
The_Head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 3rd, 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 3,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by OutlawSkot33
O well Im pissed with UED, two times within 90min UED crashed while vertex editing......
You think thats bad. I gave up completely on a map 75% complete because every time I tried to change a texture on the terrain UED would lock up.
Haven't really bothered mapping since then, (mainly because of time though)

The bug with the crashs when making terrain invisible drove me nuts too. I think my computer just hates terrain.......
__________________
Quote:
[21:14] <The_Head> i feel dirty
[21:14] <RevBillyG> O_o
[21:14] <The_Head> *shudders at the thought*
[21:14] <RevBillyG> its fine as long as you clean up afterwards
The_Head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2005, 02:33 PM   #9
OutlawSkot33
Im me.
 
OutlawSkot33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 27th, 2004
Posts: 138
My UED will crash for ANY reason. I added a brush and UED crashed on me.
__________________
Levels4You UT Series Staff.
OutlawSkot33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2005, 09:41 PM   #10
Dark Pulse
Dolla, Dolla. Holla, Holla.
 
Dark Pulse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 12th, 2004
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 6,186
The system does help, though I heard UEd4 (As it will presumably be) is being rewritten so Mac, Linux, and PC users can all make maps.

This kind of thing is pretty damn uncommon, if not a first.
__________________





Dark Pulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2005, 09:58 PM   #11
Dragon_Myr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 4th, 2004
Posts: 897
I can't wait to see what the new Ued will be like, but I have a feeling there will be so many new options it will take a while to figure it out....quite some time at that. Hopefully it's not complicated enough to make me go get new VTM's, but hey I have no problem supporting 3dBuzz again if it comes to that. I like my big red book and videos.

Anyway, I've never had Ued 3 crash on me unless something was missing from the map or I did something stupid. 768 or 1024 mb of ram is essential for mapping though.
Dragon_Myr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2005, 10:12 PM   #12
KirinRiotCrash
Token Mac Guy
 
KirinRiotCrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 16th, 2005
Location: J-Ville, NC
Posts: 140
I actually heard that the editor will finally be cross-platform and rewritten in xWindows/xWidgets ... I sure hope that's true. That's the only reason why I'm still needing a Windows PC for texture compiling and the sort.
__________________
KirinRiotCrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2005, 12:12 AM   #13
T2A`
I'm dead.
 
Join Date: Jan. 10th, 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 8,769
UEd3 is quite stable for me. Usually the only time it crashes is when I do something dumb like tell a texture to diffuse itself. I have had trouble with the terrain visibility tool, though. Seemed it kept crashing when trying to draw the tool circle on polygons outside the bounds of the terrain. However, it doesn't do that all the time, as it sometimes bounds itself like the other tools. Strange.

I, personally, do not care if the program is buggy for screwups so long as it's filled with content like the current version. Why waste time fixing bugs that only pop up because of user error? They have more important things to work on.
T2A` is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2005, 02:38 AM   #14
Xipher
I didn't break it, you did
 
Join Date: Feb. 15th, 2004
Location: Iowa
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by KirinRiotCrash
I actually heard that the editor will finally be cross-platform and rewritten in xWindows/xWidgets ... I sure hope that's true. That's the only reason why I'm still needing a Windows PC for texture compiling and the sort.

its wxWidgets, but yes, it is going to be crossplatform, as well as the fact its been completely recoded.
Xipher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2005, 02:42 AM   #15
KirinRiotCrash
Token Mac Guy
 
KirinRiotCrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 16th, 2005
Location: J-Ville, NC
Posts: 140
That was was it! Thanks Xipher ... I knew it had a w or an x in it ... I wasn't sure which one. Thanks.
__________________
KirinRiotCrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2005, 03:11 AM   #16
Xipher
I didn't break it, you did
 
Join Date: Feb. 15th, 2004
Location: Iowa
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by KirinRiotCrash
That was was it! Thanks Xipher ... I knew it had a w or an x in it ... I wasn't sure which one. Thanks.
Welcome. I have been messing around with it a little myself, great API IMHO.

Last edited by Xipher; 16th May 2005 at 03:20 AM.
Xipher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2005, 06:09 AM   #17
Cursed_Soul
Now known as Luos_83
 
Cursed_Soul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 13th, 2001
Location: dordrecht
Posts: 4,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by OutlawSkot33
Specs, a basic Dell desktop. except for 256mb Ram and Pentium 4 3.4Ghz. Angel, Im pretty sure your not gonna have problems, if im correct, your able to afford a computer that people like me who cant find a job cant afford... O well Im pissed with UED, two times within 90min UED crashed while vertex editing......
ITs a dell!! thats the problem
I only saw ued 3 crash when i was pushing its limits, or was trying to find ways to make it crash.

so.. what on earth are you doing to ued?
Cursed_Soul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2005, 09:11 AM   #18
krjal
Minotaur
 
krjal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 10th, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 83
Why oh why DELL?

Unless you got it for free...
__________________
+++"Sometimes, when I look into the abyss, the abyss looks back." - [tmo]+++
krjal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2005, 04:26 PM   #19
OutlawSkot33
Im me.
 
OutlawSkot33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 27th, 2004
Posts: 138
Because its all my mom could afford (even though she spent around $1,200 on it.)

What am I doing to UED? Nothing bad. It will crash for any reason. I can add a brush and it will crash on me (thats VERY VERY rare though)
__________________
Levels4You UT Series Staff.
OutlawSkot33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2005, 06:10 PM   #20
Bang Yr Head
( )
 
Bang Yr Head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 10th, 2002
Location: Long Island (sucks)
Posts: 970
Quote:
Originally Posted by Radiosity
Oh, and it helps to know what not to do as well
like trying to undo ANYTHING you have done with a projector
__________________
We tore down the world, and put up four walls. I breathe in the myth. I'm over the city, f%#king the future. I'm high and inside yr kiss. We can't see clear. But what we see is a alright. We make up what we can't hear. And then we sing all night
Bang Yr Head is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer