News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Original Unreal Tournament

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30th Apr 2005, 09:01 PM   #1
MAdgryphon
The MAddest Gryphon in Gryphondom
 
MAdgryphon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 26th, 2004
Posts: 58
Prob's starting Unreal Tournament

Okay, I'm not entirely sure what is going on with this. When I try to start Unreal Tournament normally, it will load up and then go into full-screen, and the the screen will just stay black. No "Loading...", nothing. No sound either. The only way I can play right now is to start it in safe mode, with sound disabled, 3D sound disabled, 3D video hardware disabled, and joystick support disabled. I'm running windows xp and Radeon 9200. If you guys need to know anything else info-wise, ask.
MAdgryphon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2005, 09:39 PM   #2
FieldMedic
Less good UT Player ever
 
FieldMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 30th, 2001
Posts: 1,134
Try this to get your game started.

Download this file
Extract the file named OpenGLDrv.dll from the zip archive and place it in
..\UnrealTournament\System\
Overwrite the file of the same name that is already there.

Now you have installed the latest version of the enhanced OpenGL render for UT, go click on START on the bottom right of your desktop
Then go on Programs
After that click on Unreal Tournament
There click on Unreal Tournament (Safe mode)

Select "Change your 3D video device"
Click on the option "Select All devices" (it is not the default selection)
Select OpenGL Support and click Next etc... until Unreal Tournament start.

That should work.

Notice : you must be patched up to date (patch 436).
FieldMedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2005, 12:27 AM   #3
MAdgryphon
The MAddest Gryphon in Gryphondom
 
MAdgryphon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 26th, 2004
Posts: 58
didn't work for some reason... maybe it's not a graphics problem
__________________
Yoda of Borg am I! Assimilated shall you be! Futile resistance is, hmm?


Sometimes there's a fine line between criminally abusive behavior and fun.


Vladimir says:
my roommate and other friends are playing D&D
Vladimir says:
a little deep in the dork forest for me
MAdgryphon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2005, 06:57 PM   #4
FieldMedic
Less good UT Player ever
 
FieldMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 30th, 2001
Posts: 1,134
If you want more help, attach to your next post your UnrealTournament.ini (it's a text file) to your post and we will give a look to see if there is something faulty there.
And attach the unrealtournament.log (it's a text file) too, this should be very usefull to locate the problem.

Of course, if you are using illegal version of UT or if you are not patched in 436 there is no solution.
FieldMedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2005, 07:58 PM   #5
MAdgryphon
The MAddest Gryphon in Gryphondom
 
MAdgryphon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 26th, 2004
Posts: 58
Okay, here they are. They're both in the zip file:
Attached Files
File Type: zip unreal tournament information.zip (3.7 KB, 8 views)
__________________
Yoda of Borg am I! Assimilated shall you be! Futile resistance is, hmm?


Sometimes there's a fine line between criminally abusive behavior and fun.


Vladimir says:
my roommate and other friends are playing D&D
Vladimir says:
a little deep in the dork forest for me

Last edited by MAdgryphon; 1st May 2005 at 08:01 PM.
MAdgryphon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2005, 10:24 PM   #6
FieldMedic
Less good UT Player ever
 
FieldMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 30th, 2001
Posts: 1,134
Strange that your UnrealTournament.log is empty.

To start change that line
Quote:
LocalMap=CityIntro.unr
into
Quote:
LocalMap=UT-Logo-Map.unr
this will speed up the UT startup

Then change that line
Quote:
WindowedViewportX=512
WindowedViewportY=384
WindowedColorBits=16
by
Quote:
WindowedViewportX=640
WindowedViewportY=480
WindowedColorBits=16
in the case UT want to load in windowed mode and that 512/384 is unsupported by your monitor/radeon
Then change this
Quote:
FullscreenViewportX=640
FullscreenViewportY=480
FullscreenColorBits=16
into this
Quote:
FullscreenViewportX=800
FullscreenViewportY=600
FullscreenColorBits=16
in the case your Radeon do not like 640*480 in fullscreen when using OpenGL

Then find this
Quote:
[OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice]
Translucency=True
VolumetricLighting=False
ShinySurfaces=True
Coronas=True
HighDetailActors=True
DetailTextures=True
Replace those few lines by the following
Quote:
[OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice]
Translucency=True
VolumetricLighting=False
ShinySurfaces=True
Coronas=False
HighDetailActors=True
DetailTextures=True
TruFormMinVertices=0
TruFormTessellation=3
UseTruForm=False
AAFilterHint=0
NumAASamples=0
UseAA=False
RequestHighResolutionZ=True
MaskedTextureHack=True
FrameRateLimit=0
SwapInterval=1
UseVertexProgram=False
UseCVA=False
UseMultiDrawArrays=False
TexDXT1ToDXT3=True
DynamicTexIdRecycleLevel=100
UseTexPool=True
UseTexIdPool=True
UseSSE=2
BufferClippedActorTris=False
SinglePassDetail=False
ColorizeDetailTextures=False
DetailClipping=False
UseDetailAlpha=False
RefreshRate=0
MaxTMUnits=0
NoFiltering=False
MaxAnisotropy=1
UseTNT=False
Use4444Textures=False
UseS3TC=False
UseAlphaPalette=False
AutoGenerateMipmaps=False
UseTrilinear=False
UsePrecache=False
AlwaysMipmap=False
ShareLists=False
UsePalette=True
UseMultiTexture=True
UseBGRATextures=True
UseZTrick=False
MaxLogTextureSize=8
MinLogTextureSize=0
MaxLogVOverU=8
MaxLogUOverV=8
OneXBlending=False
GammaCorrectScreenshots=False
GammaOffsetBlue=0.000000
GammaOffsetGreen=0.000000
GammaOffsetRed=0.000000
GammaOffset=0.000000
LODBias=0.000000
DescFlags=0
Description=
CacheStaticMaps=False
Use16BitTextures=True
Notice the line
Quote:
RefreshRate=0
Change it to your refresh rate, as some people reported problems with 0 (normally it is supposed to detect your refresh rate automatically)
So if your monitor refresh rate is 85hz , just replace it by
RefreshRate=85

This should get you started (but be sure to be in version 436 or the enhanced OpenGL should have lot of difficulties to work)

In the case it always does not work, restart Safe mode and change to Direct3D (with all the previous modifications)

A question to finish , have you ever succeeded to play UT in Direct3D or OpenGL before ?
If yes, it could be a ATI driver that you have installed recently that is not UT friendly.
I assume of course your system has no virus/spyware etc... as i assume you have checked your system first before asking for help here.

Last edited by FieldMedic; 1st May 2005 at 10:26 PM.
FieldMedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2005, 11:14 PM   #7
MAdgryphon
The MAddest Gryphon in Gryphondom
 
MAdgryphon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 26th, 2004
Posts: 58
Well, I can tell you why my log was empty. I decided to get rid of everything I had or unreal, and to just reinstall. Since, I can't get UT to run, I haven't been able to play any games. I have been able to play UT using Direct3D before.
__________________
Yoda of Borg am I! Assimilated shall you be! Futile resistance is, hmm?


Sometimes there's a fine line between criminally abusive behavior and fun.


Vladimir says:
my roommate and other friends are playing D&D
Vladimir says:
a little deep in the dork forest for me
MAdgryphon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2005, 07:38 AM   #8
FieldMedic
Less good UT Player ever
 
FieldMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 30th, 2001
Posts: 1,134
In that case, it is useless to post an empty unrealtournament.log, there is nothing you can find in it to locate the source of your problem.

And you don't said if something changed after the modifications i suggested.

When you have uninstalled UT , have you got rid of the UnrealTournament folder too ?
Because this folder is not deleted during the uninstall process.
And if there is a faulty file, it will be there even if you reinstall the game.

At this point, you can try to uninstall UT, delete the UnrealTournament folder , then reinstall and patch to 436 just after that.
And see if UT works like this before trying more things.
FieldMedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer