News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Original Unreal Tournament

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28th Apr 2000, 10:54 PM   #1
Dg3Nr8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 28th, 2000
Posts: 94
Post

I have been using a V3 3000 since they came out. At 800X600 with everything on medium i get around 45-50 fps in UT. I got ahold of a GeForce 32 MB DDR today and threw it in. At the exact same settings i lost on an average of 8-10 fps. I know UT runs better in Glide but shouldnt a much faster card be at least the same in D3D? And why does the card have the precaching message whenever a level loads? It never did that with the voodoo.
Dg3Nr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Apr 2000, 11:57 PM   #2
Jearay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 30th, 1999
Posts: 13
Talking

Me too, I had a V3 and I bought a GeForce DDR yesterday.

As for the performance, I think the Geforce beats by a mile my V3 even if it's using D3D.

Here's a guide that explains all the Geforce options: http://www.tweak3d.net/tweak/geforce/

The precaching copies the textures to the agp arperture or something like that, the voodoo didn't have that option. Don't forget to set your AGP arperture size to half your ram(in the bios), maybe that is why you have lower performance.
Jearay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Apr 2000, 12:01 AM   #3
Dg3Nr8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 28th, 2000
Posts: 94
Post

my system RAM or video RAM?
Dg3Nr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Apr 2000, 02:44 AM   #4
Jearay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 30th, 1999
Posts: 13
Wink

System RAM
Jearay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Apr 2000, 04:20 AM   #5
RW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1999
Location: Sparks, Nevada USA
Posts: 234
Post

Precaching is not an option with the V3 because it doesn't need it to perform. Now is not the best time to be buying a geforce with the geforce2 due any day, first the GF2 is a better card and second the price of the geforce will drop I bet by 20% when the GF2 hits the stores IMHO.

I should add that for whatever reason nvidia cards just have a problem with UT in d3d rendering. Now some say this is epics fault but then I had a $150 Savage card and it got a whopping 55 FPS plus in UT CTF face with eight bots at 1024x768x32 using d3d and was a bit faster using the metal drivers WTF.

[This message has been edited by RW (edited 04-29-2000).]
RW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Apr 2000, 06:45 AM   #6
XxBonesxX
banned
 
XxBonesxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 19th, 1999
Location: A grave Yard!
Posts: 1,525
Question

With the Ge Force2 comming out, what will it do that the first one didn't?


I've got your number!!
Super(ST)Trooper copyright 1999
Women are like a dead end street! Once you go down that road,there's no way out!


XxBonesxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Apr 2000, 07:02 AM   #7
RW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1999
Location: Sparks, Nevada USA
Posts: 234
Post

For starters it will set you back about $400 USD.

I guess it will be around a 30% improvement in speed over the geforce and maybe it has some new features, I don't really know.
RW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Apr 2000, 07:09 AM   #8
XxBonesxX
banned
 
XxBonesxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 19th, 1999
Location: A grave Yard!
Posts: 1,525
Talking

Hey it beats shelling out $600.00 like I am about to do with the Voodoo5 6000


I've got your number!!
Super(ST)Trooper copyright 1999
Women are like a dead end street! Once you go down that road,there's no way out!


XxBonesxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Apr 2000, 07:19 AM   #9
LonlyWarrior|BuF
The Resurection
 
Join Date: Apr. 25th, 2000
Location: Uk..still
Posts: 201
Post

Why keep buying VooDoo, doesn't everyone know they suck yet? Ok they look nice, err in 800 by 600. Now me ol' v770, looks nice enough, but... in 1024x768 32bit, and still gives me a steady 45 fps. Now considering i have an embarassingly slow AMD chip, thats a rockin performance for graphics.

BURN VOODOO BURN, hehe, err did i say i hate VOODOO (shoulda been call HOODOO if you ask me lol)


To be unable to take one's own enemies, accidents, and
misdeeds seriously for long -- that is the sign of strong and rich
natures. Such a man simply shakes off with one shrug much vermin
that would have buried itself deep into others; here alone is it also
possible -- assuming it is possible at all on earth -- that there be
real "love of one's enemies."

LonlyWarrior|BuF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Apr 2000, 08:08 AM   #10
XxBonesxX
banned
 
XxBonesxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 19th, 1999
Location: A grave Yard!
Posts: 1,525
Cool

Feel the power of VooDoo


I've got your number!!
Super(ST)Trooper copyright 1999
Women are like a dead end street! Once you go down that road,there's no way out!


XxBonesxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Apr 2000, 10:23 AM   #11
TheRock
The Official BuF MASCOT
 
TheRock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 10th, 1999
Location: Smackdown Hotel
Posts: 233
Post

The Rock has only one recommendation to make.. Get the Voodoo 5500. IF your a hardcore UT player like the great one.. This is the card for you. And if you have millions and millions of dollars in your pocket..
Get the Voodoo 5 6000.

And see what its like to run UT at 1280x1024@32bit color at 80FPS.

That's right its that fast.
Also The Rock likes FSAA. Its something that makes and immediate effect. As in NOW,Not tomorrow.. not next week not 5 months from now!

Cause Its been proven.. T&L doesn't matter as much as NVIDIA said it mattered. Those who bought a Geforce 8 months ago.. still can't walk into a store and buy 20 games that have T&L support!

IF your going to be purchasing a High-End CPU.. then T&L is less and less of an issue.
Period.

The Rock has spoken.


IF YA SMELL LA! LA! LA!
WHAT THE PU MASCOT IS....
........... Cooking!
TheRock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Apr 2000, 11:53 PM   #12
Clayeth
Classic
 
Clayeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 10th, 2000
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 5,602
Post

If you have a V3 and got a GeForce you might need to change some bios settings. There are some things that make the V3 run faster, but slow down the GeForce. Check out http://www.tweak3d.net . Click on tweaks, and find GeForce.

Also don't forget that UT runs best in Glide, that's what it was made for. You should be able to get close to the same performance with a DDR GeForce though (I think). Any game that doesn't have superior Glide support over OpenGL and D3D (the vast majority) will be faster on the GeForce, and look better too.
Clayeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2000, 02:44 AM   #13
Crager
Ahh...just a player here
 
Crager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 30th, 2000
Location: NY
Posts: 846
Post

I tried all the dll's they had and the one that worked the best for my geforce was
Crager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2000, 02:44 AM   #14
Crager
Ahh...just a player here
 
Crager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 30th, 2000
Location: NY
Posts: 846
Post

I tried all the dll's they had and the one that worked the best for my geforce was the new revision 0.8 beta D3D interface DLL.
Crager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2000, 06:05 AM   #15
[F-U]Ruffrider
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Talking

I've decided to say the hell with it. I dont care what other people are saying. I'm getting my damn V5 5500 .


AKA [Ci]Ruffrider
"My House!"

  Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2000, 11:33 AM   #16
TheRock
The Official BuF MASCOT
 
TheRock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 10th, 1999
Location: Smackdown Hotel
Posts: 233
Post

TheRock says Amen brother!
For The Rock will be getting his own V5500 as well.


IF YA SMELL LA! LA! LA!
WHAT THE PU MASCOT IS....
........... Cooking!
TheRock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2000, 01:29 PM   #17
Phydeaux{RoA}
Phydolike
 
Phydeaux{RoA}'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 11th, 2000
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 538
Post

One thing; if you're *only* going to be playing UT, by all means, stay with the Voodoo line. But if you have a balanced collection of games, well, I'd look around a bit more. Personally, I'm lusting for the GeForce2 w/ 64mb RAM. I'm working on a 2nd mortgage loan to upgrade my vehicles and my system, so what the heck, why not, eh?

Right now, the GeForce seems to have the upper hand. And at a price of 400 bucks versus a proposed 600 for the V5 6000, it also appears to be a better deal. Voodoo has the upper hand with FSAA (that point, at least, is not in dispute), but I don't play games in 32 bit mode simply because of speed *now* and I can't believe that FSAA, as gorgeous as it will be, will lure me to use during gaming circumstances.

But don't take my word for it. Look at a site where they compare the cards side by side, such as this one: http://uk.won.net/core/news/reviews_...oo5/index.html

Regards from Wisconsin,


------------------
Phydeaux|PuF
Wisconsin, USA
------------------
Phydeaux{RoA} is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer