Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Registration is free! Calendar Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Home

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Mods > Infiltration > Infiltration Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 7th Mar 2005, 02:33 PM   #1
geogob
Koohii o nomimasu ka?
 
geogob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 11th, 2000
Location: replication{ reliable if( Role==ROLE_Authority ) Tick;}
Posts: 4,148
Mutator: item quantities limitation in loadouts

Mutator Name: INF_LoadLim
Version 1.1 - 09.03.2005

This mutator allow server admins to limit the number of copies of a specific item a player can have at anytime. This is done in two ways:
- Check the player loadout for limited items and correct the quantities when limits exceeded.
- Check, at time of pickup, if the player has already too many copies of the item.

Why this mutator? Id answer why not?.
The reasons behind this mutator are the recent episodes of server crashing using claymore and other abuses of the same type. Limiting the numbers of claymores to a reasonable number is highly recommended.

Installation and configuration:
Running the mutator as a server-side mutator should do the trick.

The INF_LoadLim.ini configuration file contains one variable and one array.
The array setting the limitations has the following format:
LC[*]=(ClassName="somePackage.someClass",LimNum="integer",LimPickNum="integer")


ClassName should contain the name of the class of the item you want to limit.

When a value is put in LimNum, it will limit the number of copies of the class item that can be held in the initial loadout (at spawn). If left blank, considered as zero (0).

When an integer value is put, for an item, in LimPickNum, this value will be used as the maximum number of items that can be picked up and held in the inventory. This is regardless of the value set in LimNum. If LimPickNum is left blank, pickup will not be limited for the item unless the variable bForceLimitPickup is set to true, in which case the value set in LimNum will be used to limit the number of pickup. Note that if a value is set the in LimPickNum, even if bForceLimitPickup is set to true, the value from LimPickNum will be used to limit pickup (priority over LimNum).

Leaving LimNum blank Will still be considered as zero and remove the item from the initial loadout. If you want to limit pickup without limiting the numbers of item in the initial loadout (would be weird but who knows what some might want to do), set LimNum to -1.

For example, the .ini included with the packages reads:

LC[0]=(ClassName="INF_Equip.INFe_Claymore",LimNum="4",LimPickNum="4")
LC[1]=(ClassName="INF_Core.INFc_HK69SmokeShell",LimNum="8",LimPickNum="")
LC[2]=(ClassName="INF_Core.INFc_HK69Shell",LimNum="8",LimPickNum="")
LC[3]=(ClassName="INF_Core.INFc_M67Ammo",LimNum="4",LimPickNum="")
LC[4]=(ClassName="INF_Core.INFc_M67Pickup",LimNum="4",LimPickNum="")
LC[5]=(ClassName="INF_Core.INFc_AttachM16A2_ACOG",LimNum="",LimPickNum="")
LC[6]=(ClassName="SOPMOD_M4.INF_AttachM4A1_RX",LimNum="",LimPickNum="")
LC[7]=(ClassName="INF_Core.INFc_M16Clip",LimNum="-1",LimPickNum="15")
...

In this example:
- The max number of Claymores in a loadout is 4 and a player cannot pick up more that 4.
- The max number of 40mm smoke grenades in a loadout is 8 and pickup is not limited, unless bForceLimitPickup is true, where the pickup will be limited to 8.
- Same for the 40mm HE grenades as for the 40mm smoke grenades
- Same for the M67 but with a limit of 4
- The ACOG attachement for the M16 will be totally removed form a loadout (but only for the M16A2... no other ACOG, on other weapons, will be affected)
- The Reflex Sight on the M4A1 will be removed from a loadout
- The number of M16 Mag (should affect all weapons that use this type of mag - FAMAS and cie.) will not be limited in the intial loadout, but will be limited to 15 pickup, regardless of bForceLimitPickup.

Note that all children of a given limited class will also be limited accordingly. So, for example, limiting something like INF_Core.INFc_Ammo should impose the limit to ALL ammo types. [UNTESTED]

Attachements and Destructible ammo fully supported since version 1.1.

Known Issues
- The player is not informed when his loadout is modified at spawn time, but he is informed when not allowed to pickup an item.

This is my first attempt working with loadout mutators, so if you find any major issues, please report them. Ill fix them as soon as possible.

Acknowlegements
A very big Thank You to Beppo for his suggestions and thoughts. Turns out the pseudo code you sent me was pretty much what I had done


--------------------------------------------------
| INF_LoadLim_v1.1_09.03.2005.zip(version 1.1) (09.03.2005 13:07 EST) [CAN]
|
--------------------------------------------------
| INF_LoadLim_07.03.2005.zip(version 1.0) (07.03.2005 15:30 EST) [CAN]
| Readme: INF_LoadLim_Readme_07.03.2005.rtf
|
--------------------------------------------------
__________________


--
Intelligenti Pauca

--
Get RealTargets - INF_Loadlim - INF Mod Team addons

Last edited by geogob; 9th Mar 2005 at 12:10 PM.
geogob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Mar 2005, 03:13 PM   #2
{GD}Odie3
You Give Odie a Boner
 
{GD}Odie3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 19th, 2001
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 1,208
Running on GD EAS, Odie's DTAS and Public Training server.

Limited Clays and WS Smokes...
__________________

GD Server Master Administrator and Forum Administrator
Click Here To Visit Our Forums!

GD TS Server IP ts.ghostdogs.net
Click this link to connect as a guest on the Infiltration CTGD TS Server.

Get Inf GDMutiePack Here

Infiltration SS/MOD Beta Team
{GD}Odie3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Mar 2005, 03:18 PM   #3
UN17
Taijutsu Specialist
 
UN17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 7th, 2003
Posts: 675
Nice "fix" Geogob! Hope it's bugfree!
__________________
We can rebuild him. We have the technology.
Better... Stronger... Faster...
UN17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Mar 2005, 03:24 PM   #4
geogob
Koohii o nomimasu ka?
 
geogob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 11th, 2000
Location: replication{ reliable if( Role==ROLE_Authority ) Tick;}
Posts: 4,148
*me points to the 'Know issues' section*



Well it's nice... as well as being a fix, it's also a new feature at the same time.
I've tryed it out pretty extensively to make sure it works as advertised. The only time it might go wrong (and by go wrong I mean allow a player to pickup an item even if he should not be allowed to) is when Destructible ammo is enabled. I have yet to see a server with this configuration.
__________________


--
Intelligenti Pauca

--
Get RealTargets - INF_Loadlim - INF Mod Team addons
geogob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Mar 2005, 03:56 PM   #5
ant75
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
 
ant75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 11th, 2001
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,050
What settings are you using for the WS odie ? I also suggest limiting the at4 to 0 .
__________________
ant75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Mar 2005, 04:00 PM   #6
{GD}Odie3
You Give Odie a Boner
 
{GD}Odie3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 19th, 2001
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 1,208
Well AT4 = 0 already.

WS Limit = 8 [however IMO I am being nice with that setting].
__________________

GD Server Master Administrator and Forum Administrator
Click Here To Visit Our Forums!

GD TS Server IP ts.ghostdogs.net
Click this link to connect as a guest on the Infiltration CTGD TS Server.

Get Inf GDMutiePack Here

Infiltration SS/MOD Beta Team
{GD}Odie3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Mar 2005, 07:02 PM   #7
Mercie
Registered User
 
Mercie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 18th, 2005
Posts: 114
Hehe. It's too bad I told you how to actually crash the servers. Meh, not that I wnt to do it anymore. Good Job. Set the M4 limit to 0 please

Or not.

Last edited by Mercie; 12th Mar 2005 at 09:47 PM.
Mercie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Mar 2005, 07:48 PM   #8
Derelan
Tracer Bullet
 
Derelan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 29th, 2002
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,621
Hey now, a limit of eight? Thats just silly, I have a loadout with 20 smokes and I always know how to use each of them to my own tactical advantage.
__________________

Derelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Mar 2005, 10:15 PM   #9
(un)l33t_1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 21st, 2004
Location: Andover, Massachusetts, United States
Posts: 100
20 smokes? Wow. I have a hard time finding use for one, especially the 40mm WS (but I'm not very imaginative).
(un)l33t_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Mar 2005, 02:24 AM   #10
Lethal Dosage
Serial Rapis...uh, Thread Killer
 
Lethal Dosage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 8th, 2004
Location: In the back of your mind! Mwah ha ha ha!
Posts: 608
Smokes? Hell i carry a couple of 40mm smokes for when i ever might have to lay a smoke screen, and when i run out of ammo, i just stoot them at the bad guys, it does some damage, and puts up a smoke screen so the enemy thinks WTF when they see a smoke in the middle of nowhere (psych warfare)

As for the hand tossed smokes, their pretty useless ATM cus u can't throw them very far, if/when duke does a mutie so they appear in your loadout like frags and you can throw them a decent distance... then things will change.
__________________
Suffering from temporary sanity...

Lethal Dosage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Mar 2005, 03:29 AM   #11
Burger
Lookin' down the iron-sights...
 
Burger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 9th, 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derelan
Hey now, a limit of eight? Thats just silly, I have a loadout with 20 smokes and I always know how to use each of them to my own tactical advantage.
How? How would 20 smokes be any different than 4 or 5?
__________________
Yes, this map is my plaything, my area to test ballistics, guns, mutators, lasers, or just hop around like a ninja.
- UN17

"...it's basically an unneeded feature and serves to increase unrealisticality.

I made a word."

-Yurch
Burger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Mar 2005, 06:21 AM   #12
Derelan
Tracer Bullet
 
Derelan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 29th, 2002
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burger
How? How would 20 smokes be any different than 4 or 5?
Um, 20 > 4 or 5?

I've used all 20 strategically on maps like Skopje, Bordertown, RTK, Jerusalem, the big ones.
__________________

Derelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Mar 2005, 11:04 PM   #13
geogob
Koohii o nomimasu ka?
 
geogob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 11th, 2000
Location: replication{ reliable if( Role==ROLE_Authority ) Tick;}
Posts: 4,148
NOTE ON IDENTIFYING ERRORS AND WARNING

If you are getting a lot of Failed to load 'Class Package.Class': Failed to find object 'Class Package.Class', you probably have a wrong class name or made a typo.

LoadLim: Error - item <name> - no associated class found... is a warning telling you that LoadLim did not find a class name associated with a loadout item. At the moment, all attachement will generate this warning (attachements are not supported by LoadLim at this time). In the next release of the mutator, this will be fixed.
__________________


--
Intelligenti Pauca

--
Get RealTargets - INF_Loadlim - INF Mod Team addons
geogob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Mar 2005, 10:08 AM   #14
Harrm
I am watching porns.
 
Harrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 21st, 2001
Location: Porns
Posts: 801
I gotta back Darlin' on this one. While it does slow things down a bit, they're damn useful for creating smokescreens. You get 40 nades between 2 guys and you can make a sparse field a CQB paradise.

--Harrm
__________________


Ignore me and save me the hassle of ignoring you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitty.cat
I'm bi, thank you.
Harrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Mar 2005, 12:13 PM   #15
geogob
Koohii o nomimasu ka?
 
geogob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 11th, 2000
Location: replication{ reliable if( Role==ROLE_Authority ) Tick;}
Posts: 4,148
INF_LoadLim version 1.1 released
(see first post for link and new instruction on configuration).

New in this release:
- Attachements are now fully supported
- New pickup limit system that can be set for each items (see Above Instruction)
- Destructable ammo fully supported

Note that the configuration changed quite a bit to be able to limit the number of pickup for each individual items. Thanks to Derelan for the inspiration. *wink*
__________________


--
Intelligenti Pauca

--
Get RealTargets - INF_Loadlim - INF Mod Team addons
geogob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Mar 2005, 01:10 PM   #16
NTKB
Banned
 
NTKB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 25th, 2001
Location: New Jersey, U.S.A.
Posts: 2,858
Notice how all the people fighting to NOT limit claymores and smokes are all members or were members of DBD... the same group harrm just cried about finding all these abusive bugs in another thread.

Jesus christ guys....
__________________
I was dead for millions of years before I was born and it never inconvenienced me a bit. -Mark Twain

"Let your speech be better than silence, or be silent." -Dionysius of Halicarnassus
NTKB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Mar 2005, 08:40 AM   #17
geogob
Koohii o nomimasu ka?
 
geogob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 11th, 2000
Location: replication{ reliable if( Role==ROLE_Authority ) Tick;}
Posts: 4,148
Quick Note. Odie report possible problem with INF_LoadLim and NoSomething mutators (NoACOG, etc.) or with CheckLoadout. Although surprising, I checked it extensively and found no issues.
__________________


--
Intelligenti Pauca

--
Get RealTargets - INF_Loadlim - INF Mod Team addons
geogob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Mar 2005, 08:57 AM   #18
{GD}Odie3
You Give Odie a Boner
 
{GD}Odie3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 19th, 2001
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 1,208
darn it, you posted that stupid issue from me before I could tell you the real issue.

Remember our match with N1? I enabled the Acogs/Sniper stuff for that map. I forgot to un-comment them out so check load out would have those lines active again [;;; thingys]. It also corrected my texture import error too.

Very sorry...
__________________

GD Server Master Administrator and Forum Administrator
Click Here To Visit Our Forums!

GD TS Server IP ts.ghostdogs.net
Click this link to connect as a guest on the Infiltration CTGD TS Server.

Get Inf GDMutiePack Here

Infiltration SS/MOD Beta Team
{GD}Odie3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Mar 2005, 09:11 AM   #19
geogob
Koohii o nomimasu ka?
 
geogob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 11th, 2000
Location: replication{ reliable if( Role==ROLE_Authority ) Tick;}
Posts: 4,148
hehe

That's good... anyway, now I know for sure that there are no issues there
__________________


--
Intelligenti Pauca

--
Get RealTargets - INF_Loadlim - INF Mod Team addons
geogob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer