News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Miscellaneous > SkinCity > Requests

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21st Jan 2005, 09:02 AM   #1
Devil_D
Modeler & music maniac
 
Devil_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 28th, 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 98
Robot request (Could you help Hide?)

Hello all modelers and skinners, i got a request but im not ready to show it yet.
Thats because its currently in a story im writing, that is over 100 pages (!)...

I could model the robot im now requesting, but i cant get it in-game.
Just as you know, i have many pics of my robot but i will not show them yet.
The reason is that there isnt a copyright of it yet, so everyone could say its
thier own work... Maybe you know what im talking about... Art thiefs.

My robot is quite simple to model, but it needs some improvments...
So, if there are any modeler that is skilled to model robots please respond.

EDIT:
Removed the pics.
__________________

Last edited by Devil_D; 17th Aug 2005 at 04:00 AM.
Devil_D is offline  
Old 27th Jan 2005, 11:57 AM   #2
Devil_D
Modeler & music maniac
 
Devil_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 28th, 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 98
Changed plans

Ok, noone will make the model...
Then i have to do the impossible, but ill do my best!
I will model this, even if it will take years to get this in-game!

However, if anyone still is interested in helping me with exporting
this model (and skinning) and how to animate this... Please contact me.

Edit:
Removed maya model pics.
__________________

Last edited by Devil_D; 17th Aug 2005 at 04:01 AM.
Devil_D is offline  
Old 29th Jan 2005, 04:08 AM   #3
-Tj-
Registered User
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 30th, 2004
Posts: 268
I would love to help, but I have no idea on how to get a custom model into UT. I have 2 models already complete that need to be animated and textured before they can get into the game, but I simply don't know how to do that.

If you want to learn animation there are tons of websites and pages out there that have tutorials on how to do this. Google is your best friend when it comes to stuff like that . I took an entire semester of Maya classes to learn how to animate in Maya, but I'm sure if you have the determination and a little time you could learn how to animate in it in far less time.
-Tj- is offline  
Old 29th Jan 2005, 04:44 AM   #4
Devil_D
Modeler & music maniac
 
Devil_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 28th, 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 98
Work on model cancelled...

It would be good if i could finish this but...
Now i cancel to model this because i dont have all time on earth to make this.
Too much schoolwork= to little time to use.

And i guess that there is many turorials but please understand what im saying:
i dont have time to read them, i had a little time to get this model done...
But if anyone would like to form a team with me, any modeler, this will be completed.

EDIT:
Well, thanks for the reply -Tj-. In the future when you have the skills and
enough time, do you think you could help me by then?

Also, if i had any skinning skills i have some ideas for my robot...
Aww... I wish i had the same drawing skills like Eklipse or yours -Tj-...
My drawings looks like its drawn by someone that is maybe 7 years old, but i dont have enough time to improve my drawings skills
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Robots_versions.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	120.7 KB
ID:	87306  
__________________

Last edited by Devil_D; 2nd Feb 2005 at 12:00 AM.
Devil_D is offline  
Old 14th Feb 2005, 12:46 AM   #5
Devil_D
Modeler & music maniac
 
Devil_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 28th, 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 98
I would really like to have this model in-game, really.
But as i said i dont have all the skills and the time that is needed.

So... I give this request to a person that has already drowned in requests...

Hide, could you please make this model? Please?
If you do, please make it look like more as in my drawings.

Also, i could write the profile if you do the model.
__________________

Last edited by Devil_D; 14th Feb 2005 at 10:05 AM.
Devil_D is offline  
Old 16th Feb 2005, 08:35 PM   #6
Hide
or Dr.Jekill
 
Hide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 23rd, 2004
Location: IZANAGI Co. Tokyo
Posts: 265
I do not recommend using Maya PLE to make a player model to 3D CG beginners.

Surely Maya PLE was made as primer of Maya.
So, Maya PLE is for beguinners.

But, Making a ut2k4 model with Maya PLE is another story.
To perform it, sufficient experience of 3D CG is required.

If you have MilkShape, I recommend making a model using existing bones and animations without making these.

If you make a shape(polygons) fitting the bone of an existing model by MilkShape, I will ridge it and will make ".ukx" for you.

It will be wonderful to see the own model moving around in the game.
Hide is offline  
Old 16th Feb 2005, 11:47 PM   #7
Devil_D
Modeler & music maniac
 
Devil_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 28th, 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 98
Work on model restarted

Ok. Hide, i will then make my robot in milkshape3D...
And im more skilled in milkshape3D than i am in Maya PLE... Phew.

And when i set the bones and assigned them all ill send it.

And as you said, it will be fun to see the own model run around the battlefield

EDIT:
Here comes a pic that really shows the entire MS3D model, i think i make a new one as soon as possible.
As you people can see, its even more blocky here in MS3D but i got more skills now so i can fix it right away.

(Almost) IMPORTANT EDIT:
My old model have a skeleton and its already done with the assign so its ready to use!
But i will work on a new model instead.

UPDATE:
YAY! I completed the work with the model, skeleton fixed and ready to be sent!
Waiting for your start signal Hide.
Its finally ready! Even without a skin i think this model looks kinda good XD
Hide, when i will send it to you it will come with one frame animation...
And i cant somehow remove it so it will be up to you to finish it up.
I can make animations in milkshape3D but often they dont turn out very good... But i can make static animations like in my pic.
So i cant make any animations for you that looks good so its up to you

I would like to have some feedback.

EDIT:
Changed pic to a pic were i added some colors (even if its just white, black and blue).
Actually, i just added some materials. And i guess this wont work as a skin.

V2 NOTICE:
Maybe you people can see that my model have very blocky hands.
Its not because im not that experienced to do the hands very well. I think about the polys.
Thats why i used "Timesplitters" hands. That means that the hands are just blocks, simple but i think it will work.

Edit:
Removed old model pics
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	v2_promo_withGun_color.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	132.9 KB
ID:	87790  
__________________

Last edited by Devil_D; 17th Aug 2005 at 04:02 AM.
Devil_D is offline  
Old 18th Feb 2005, 11:12 AM   #8
Nines
With Rage Alive
 
Nines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 12th, 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,159
WHOA!! Awesome, Devil!!
__________________
Nines is offline  
Old 18th Feb 2005, 09:44 PM   #9
Hide
or Dr.Jekill
 
Hide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 23rd, 2004
Location: IZANAGI Co. Tokyo
Posts: 265
Ok.
Please attach your ".ms3d" file in this thread.
I will try to make ".ukx" file from it.

More knowledge and experience are required for making the animations which seems to move without sense of incongruity, than for making the shape of the 3D models.
It needs to make many animations for practice.
Hide is offline  
Old 19th Feb 2005, 01:14 AM   #10
Devil_D
Modeler & music maniac
 
Devil_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 28th, 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 98
Model on its way Hide...

Well, i could learn how to do good animations because i have one model a friend animated for me.
I can use that one to practice on, or else practice on this one because this is the second humanoid model i make.

EDIT:
Hide got the model, attachment removed.
__________________

Last edited by Devil_D; 19th Feb 2005 at 02:35 AM.
Devil_D is offline  
Old 19th Feb 2005, 02:33 AM   #11
Hide
or Dr.Jekill
 
Hide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 23rd, 2004
Location: IZANAGI Co. Tokyo
Posts: 265
I got it.
Hide is offline  
Old 19th Feb 2005, 02:36 AM   #12
Devil_D
Modeler & music maniac
 
Devil_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 28th, 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 98
Ok, oh and if you have time... Could you maybe learn me how to make a UKX and get in-game and rig a skeleton?
Then i can mass-produce models.

EDIT:
Hide, i shouldnt have done that "static" animation.
I hope that it havent caused any trouble to you when you make the UKX right now.

UPDATE:
I found out something with my model, i learned what i did when one of my friends looked at my model.
Compare my robot model with the drawing, looks kinda comparable to each other.
Its not that, its that look how huge the arms are. I mean how "fat" they are.
I attach a pic so you can see what i mean.
Sooo, maybe i will make a v3 if the present model doesnt look too good in-game because of the arms.
But im waiting for some comments about the arms, i would like to see if anyone else think as my friend here at home.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	v2_side.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	40.8 KB
ID:	87851  
__________________

Last edited by Devil_D; 22nd Feb 2005 at 11:24 AM.
Devil_D is offline  
Old 23rd Feb 2005, 04:17 AM   #13
Hide
or Dr.Jekill
 
Hide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 23rd, 2004
Location: IZANAGI Co. Tokyo
Posts: 265
I made it.
However it is not completed.

You didn't make very important data.
This model don't have valid "UVmap"s.
Skins can not be made without "UVmap"s.

In the attached ".ms3d" file is ready to export a ".psk" file which is able to create a ".ukx" file from it.

If you finish making the "UVmap"s(for body "skin00" and for face "skin01") in the attached ".ms3d", I will tell you how to make a ".ukx" file.

And, proportion was changed a little in order to fit the default robot's bone.

EDIT:Attached model was removed.

Last edited by Hide; 29th Nov 2005 at 05:35 AM.
Hide is offline  
Old 23rd Feb 2005, 08:10 AM   #14
Devil_D
Modeler & music maniac
 
Devil_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 28th, 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 98
Got the file...
OMG is my comment today...
I dont know what else to say but thanks Hide!

Well, im sure that it wasnt enough data when i made the skeleton and model.
Thats because im not a pro yet, but i think i will come to that later.

And you changed the size of the torso but i can still see that its my own old robot... in game =O
And even without a skin i think it looks good in-game.
I will construct a PSK as soon as possible, if i understand how i do one.
Because i checked how to export a PSK on my older model i sent to you and it were kinda advanced for me.

Oh and the UVmaps... Geez, i dont really know how to make a UVmap.
But i have a program called "Lithunwrap", could it work with that program?

Small edit:
Made a background, i couldnt help it. And now when people know the name of my robot they maybe starts to think:
is WS-1T a shorterned name?
I would say, yes. I say what the true name is later. I made a new background, it looks like this one but its the last model. Check post 25.

IMPORTANT UPDATE:
Hmm... I cant create a PSK, Milkshape3D says that there are not enough bones.
It should be 47 and its 39 right now. What should i do?

IMPORTANT UPDATE 2:
I tested to play this model online on a Anti-TCC server and the server did not allow me to use the model.
What should i do about that? Is it the textures?
__________________

Last edited by Devil_D; 3rd May 2005 at 02:04 PM.
Devil_D is offline  
Old 23rd Feb 2005, 07:47 PM   #15
Hide
or Dr.Jekill
 
Hide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 23rd, 2004
Location: IZANAGI Co. Tokyo
Posts: 265
Quote:
Hmm... I cant create a PSK, Milkshape3D says that there are not enough bones.
It should be 47 and its 39 right now. What should i do?
It's strange.
I can make a ".psk" file from it.
I have made that ".ms3d" file by MilkShape 1.7.4.
What version of MilkShape are you using?

Quote:
I tested to play this model online on a Anti-TCC server and the server did not allow me to use the model.
What should i do about that? Is it the textures?
Isn't a model which is not registered in the server changed to "Othello"?
Or, there may be something bad about using the texture which is displayed when there is no portrait as a portrait?
Hide is offline  
Old 23rd Feb 2005, 11:49 PM   #16
Devil_D
Modeler & music maniac
 
Devil_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 28th, 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 98
I have version 1.7.2 of milkshape (updated to 1.7.4 now), i thought it was the latest version...
Well, then i have to download the new version.

The thing i think about the textures is that Anti-TCC doesnt like untextured objects.
I mean, if someone is using a totally white model (which this one isnt right now) that is
not textured Anti-TCC think its a cheat (?).

And what i can see the model doesnt change model when into "Othello" or "Jakob" when i join a server.

IMPORTANT EDIT ABOUT UVMAP:
Hmm... I made an UVmap for my model with the program "Lithunwrap"...
Sending low quality pic... For me, this UVmap doesnt explain much
Hide, will this UVmap really help? Or should i start to search for an another program?

IMPORTANT EDIT ABOUT UVMAP 2:
I think i found some interesting tutorial but i dont really understand everything there.
Hide, could you explain from this tutorial how i make a UVmap of the arms?
I can only make a UVmap from the front and the rear.
Sending low quality pic of the "new" UVmap...
Sending link to the tutorial i dont really understand that much...
http://www.kaylon.freeuk.com/lithunwrap.htm

[EDIT]
Removed the UVmap pics, since they didnt explain much.
__________________

Last edited by Devil_D; 27th Apr 2005 at 12:11 PM.
Devil_D is offline  
Old 23rd Mar 2005, 09:57 AM   #17
Devil_D
Modeler & music maniac
 
Devil_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 28th, 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 98
...Hide...

Well, im still stuck with making this UVmap.
I cant do anything out of it, sadly enough

So, Hide. I cant finish a UVmap. And thats not all.
I will be leaving sweden for two weeks today so i will be back here on the 8th april.
And still i dont understand how to make a UVmap, even with the help from that tutorial.
And dont think im not trying, because ive tried to make UVmaps for my other models as well but i cant get it right.

So Hide, could you please make the UVmap?

Also, i noticed some errors with the model... I will come to that later.
__________________
Devil_D is offline  
Old 29th Mar 2005, 08:44 PM   #18
Hide
or Dr.Jekill
 
Hide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 23rd, 2004
Location: IZANAGI Co. Tokyo
Posts: 265
OK.
Surely, It will be very difficult to correct the UVmaps by Milkshape from the current state.

I will make the UVmaps by using LightWave.

Using the UVmap edit function of MilkShape is a hard job.
If you use MilkShape, you had better make UVmaps little by little during making shapes before it is too late.
Hide is offline  
Old 10th Apr 2005, 01:10 PM   #19
Devil_D
Modeler & music maniac
 
Devil_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 28th, 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 98
Ok, i have been away for some time. But now im back, and can tell what errors it is in this model.

Its when the model is moving ingame the chest plate suddenly moves into the body!
I sent two pics that show what is wrong...

What i can see i think its my doing, because i think the groups doesnt work that great together... So it becomes some kind of conflict.
That means i maybe have to make a totally new model, if im right (but it doesnt look too hard for me to remodel).
But, if you could find out what happened and can fix it it would be awsome.

And, if you are going to make the skin too... I have a request for you.
Could you make one version when my robot looks "real" and one more cartonish with celshading?
I mean, one normal version and celshaded version. If you could do both, then you could give the celshaded version more bright color.

Anyway, i hope this doesnt slow down you to do other models you are currently working on.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ws-1tbackproblem.JPG
Views:	38
Size:	80.5 KB
ID:	88808   Click image for larger version

Name:	Shot00085.JPG
Views:	43
Size:	92.3 KB
ID:	88809  
__________________
Devil_D is offline  
Old 24th Apr 2005, 06:04 AM   #20
Devil_D
Modeler & music maniac
 
Devil_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 28th, 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 98
Hide, you could stop to work on my model for some time now (now IF you are working on it) because im starting to update my model.
Now its, version 2.1... I modeled some new areas, armor plates and new head design.
I will soon make a 2.2 which will probably fix the stomach problem, and hopefully, the back problem too.
But i hope this new version doesnt create tousands of new conflicts.
One note: that side armor for the lower torso uses own bones, and then if you try to rig the skeleton... Try to assign that side armor to a proper position.
I mean, the robot skeleton from UT doesnt have these bones... So should i or you remove them?

Anyway, as i said before, keep up the good work with your models!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WS-1T_v21.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	69.1 KB
ID:	89039  
__________________
Devil_D is offline  
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer